We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
112
40
9
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
40
9
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub on arrival nice shower open fire real ale room was spacious couple of nights a great nights sleep tea and coffee family room bath landlady wiltshire shampoo proximity countryside
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

from start to finish of our visit we felt welcome and anything asked of the team there was attended to. the rooms are dated but clean and good value for money. ample parking outside and the new tenants are making the place feel like a place you want to go back to. I can see this pub/hotel making future stays even better the location in the middle of a small village in the country was just perfect for us,

Room Tip: rooms away from the road are better but the amount of outside noise was minimal .
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bomber831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

What a treasure nice old fashioned pub open fire lovely welcome from landlord and landlady. Came for a couple of pints and a game of pool stayed for a bite to eat. Large portions delightful presentation freshly prepared landlady couldn't do enough for us the picky eater was catered for delicious food felt like home from home. Will make this a regular occasion will bring the dog and the kids too. Go but my place is next to the open fire so move over.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank queeniesas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Having looked at the web site and it being close to where we were visiting we decided to book. Arriving at the pub it was clearly old and in serious need of renovation.The bar had just a couple of old wooden tables with wooden benches and a pool table, the eating side was a little better but all very basic, no frills here. The hosts were lovely and we cant fault them for hospitality but the rooms need help in particular the bathrooms which need ripping out and starting again, broken tiles, broken shower heads etc. The food was great but pricy. We were amazed on how many drinks were not available in the bar, it was a pub after all.There are new owners so hopefully the rooms and bathrooms will be sorted out and unless they were sorted we would not return.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank carolyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Booked a couple of nights so that we could visit the longleat and other local attractions
The room was comfortable and the food was very nice the locals in the bar of an evening were very friendly and had lots of local
Knowledge and tips
Andy and Magee have only recently taken over the Somerset arms and though there are a few things are not perfect I am sure that with hard work and the great customer service and friendly welcoming they offer to their guest that they will make a success keep up the good work.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rosiean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

Beautiful food was a large party and all the food came out together and hot. We was made to feel very welcome and the land lord very quickly moved tables together to accommodate are party. A very warm and friendly pub. My two daughters 8 and 6 had a good choice of menu and a very decent size portion.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank ZoeD270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews