We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Improvements can be made”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enfield
cork
1 review
“Nice Hotel - Improvements can be made”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Having recently stayed here with another couple, we enjoyed our stay. Cannot comment on the evening meals as we were told on check-in that we could not reserve a table until 9.30pm, this was disappointing, although we were told we could get bar food, this is what we would have preferred. Residents of the hotel should be prioritised maybe by making contact with them before arrival to ask would they like to reserve a table. Breakfast was not the best, the sausages (maybe spicy) we were not sure if they were off. Also, had to wait about 15 mins before seated, and then had to wait another 10 mins for fried eggs. Felt embarrassed to go back to buffet for orange juice as we felt we were jumping the massive queue. It might help if staff had a minute to ask seated guests were they alright for everything. I appreciate everyone seems to come down for breakfast closer to 11am but this is the norm on a Sunday morning. Rooms were clean and bright but very very warm. As I am a person who loves the heat I actually couldnt sleep even with the radiators off. We did enjoy our stay and I feel by making constructive comments, improvements can be made. Also, the girl who was singing on the Saturday night, whilst she is a good singer it did not suit the personality of the hotel, I actually felt bad for her. The bar staff are lovely.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank corktracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
odhran l, General Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear CorkTracy,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience at Johnstown House Hotel. While we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay overall we regret that there were aspects of the hotel that did not live up to your expectations.
While I do not know on what date you stayed, please be assured that residents are given first preference on dining room reservations. It is a common occurrence for the restaurant to be booked out on a Saturday night and we are seldom able to accommodate non residents. With all our accommodation offerings there is the opportunity to book a dinner bed and breakfast rate. For guests that are on a dinner bed and breakfast package, we call them to ensure that they have booked a suitable time for dinner.

With regard to the other issues your have mentioned regarding breakfast, rest assured that we will discuss them internally and make the necessary changes.
In the meantime, thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Johnstown House Hotel and Spa.



Yours sincerely,



Odhran Lawlor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    351
    183
    131
    89
See reviews for
260
466
25
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Attended a wedding at this hotel. Had stayed here previously for another wedding and even though the food at that wedding was good I thought it was even better this time. The Moijto sorbet especially went down a treat. Service was excellent from check in - we arrived at a very busy time as all the wedding crowd arrived together along with non wedding guests but check in was very efficient and smooth. The receptionist remembered that it was our wedding anniversary which was much appreciated. The room was lovely and spacious and there was a seperate bath to shower. As I said the food at the meal was fantastic - I know from attending many weddings that it can be difficult to get the food right for such a large group especially as the speeches were before the meal which can make it difficult on the kitchen, however everybody at our table cleared their plates. I had the Salmon and my husband had the Beef - both were delicious. The service again was great - there was a lovely lady serving us - Bernie who ensured that our glasses of wine were topped up! Throughout the day Andrew the Conference manager was very helpful and dealt with a very busy event with a very calm and professional manner. There was nice little touches like the after dinner mints coming out with the dry ice which Bernie poured hot water over to create a smoke effect
The weather was beautiful that weekend and we spent a lot of time outside - the area near the water feature is perfect for sitting around and meeting everyone. Didn't have breakfast as with the hour changing and going to bed quite late we didn't make it up!
Only issue was the room was quite warm - our own fault though as we hadn't realised the heat was on and we should have turned it off - only realised the next morning!

Room Tip: Check the air con settings in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vandeleur79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
odhran l, General Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Vandeleur79,

Thank you for taking the time to contact Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Johnstown House Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the wedding and your overall stay.

I am personally delighted to see that you have taken the time to compliment some of our staff. Bernie has been a loyal member of the tem at Johnstown House Hotel for a number of years and I am delighted for her. Bernie was delighted to see your feedback and it meant a lot to her.

Once again thank you for your time and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Johnstown House Hotel.

Kind regards,

Odhran Lawlor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I stayed the weekend with 3 friends. We got a great deal on a 2 bed duplex. Very spacious and comfortable. It was great to enjoy each others company and also relax in the surroundings.

Double bedroom and twin room were perfect for us and kitchen was great for making our own breakfast and snacks.

Had dinner in the bar on 2nd night. Found the menu to be a little pricey but food was tasty.

Really enjoyed use of pool and jacuzzi. Just all very laid back and comfortable.

Would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
odhran l, General Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Lcolli,

Thank you for taking the time to contact Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Johnstown House Hotel. The self catering apartments are an excellent alternative to the hotel and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We will review our bar food prices and see if we can make our offering more affordable.
Once again thank you for your time and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Johnstown House Hotel.

Kind regards,

Odhran Lawlor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Cannot fault this hotel!
The staff are very helpful, rooms are clean, beds are so comfortable, the spa is beautiful and the staff here are really welcoming.
The food is gorgeous, overall a brilliant hotel.
Been here twice already and will return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 63Michelle63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
odhran l, General Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear 63Michelle63,

Thank you for taking the time to contact Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Johnstown House Hotel & Spa. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your weekend..

Equally, thank you for your kind comments regarding the food and the Spa which I have passed on to the team at the hotel. Once again thank you for taking the time to review Johnstown House Hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Odhran Lawlor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Please fix your jacuzzi. We have stayed 5 times in your hotel, the jacuzzi is really letting you guys down. The last 3 times we have visited we have been told they are waiting for a pump and that it will be arriving early next week. We attended a wedding on Saturday, the food was fantastic as was the service on our table - Bernie your waitress is a credit to the hotel. We arrived early just to use the outside jacuzzi but it was still not working, now bear in mind thiis is a problem that the hotel has had for the last 14 months. Will you be fixing this soon, even the guy in the leisure centre reccognised me and was embarrased having to tell me the same excuse this time round. Please, please fix it. I will not return untill it is and will ask next time i am making our reservation, we also always book directly with the hotel. Thank you.. just want to say that otherwise it is a perfect hotel! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smg123Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
odhran l, General Manager at The Johnstown Estate Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Smg123Belfast,

Thank you for taking the time to contact Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Johnstown House Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the wedding and I have passed on your comments to Bernie.

We are delighted to say that the outdoor Jacuzzi has now been fixed. We have been waiting for a pump for the last number of weeks and this issue was totally outside our control. I have been at the hotel since November last year and I am unaware of the Jacuzzi been out of order during this time. However I have been informed by the leisure centre manager that during icy conditions the Jacuzzi may be out of use due to health and safety reasons.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to contact Trip Advisor with your comments and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Odhran Lawlor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enfield
5.9 km away
Moyvalley Hotel & Golf Resort
16.7 km away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
23.9 km away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hamlet Court Hotel
Hamlet Court Hotel
#1 of 2 in Enfield
401 reviews
31.1 km away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,427 reviews
16.8 km away
Trim Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Johnstown Estate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Johnstown Estate Hotel

Property: The Johnstown Estate Hotel
Address: Enfield-Johnstown Bridge Road, Enfield, Ireland (Formerly Johnstown House Hotel & Spa)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Enfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enfield
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,038 - ₹ 13,952
Hotel Class:4 star — The Johnstown Estate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Johnstown Estate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Johnstown Hotel Enfield
Marriott County Meath
Marriott Enfield
County Meath Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing