We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Worst hotel i have ever stayed in.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moyvalley Hotel & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moyvalley Hotel & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moyvalley
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worst hotel i have ever stayed in.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

When we got to the hotel we thought it looked lovely. When we went to check in the woman was nice and she told us that we were up graded to a deluxe cottage. We were trilled and when we went over to the cottage we thought it was lovely on first impression. As we looked around you could see that the cottage was not used in a long time. There were cob webs and the kitchen was not clean. It was also very cold. There was also a very musty smell in the cottage which made my partner sick. The next day we looked around the bedrooms and there were dead flies around. We were moved to the hotel and given a room there which was ok. But still very cold. I would never stay in this hotel again really was a horrible stay.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank lizzy_Murphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    63
    34
    17
    16
See reviews for
86
132
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

My wife and I stayed two night recently and received a great Golf and stay deal for the two nights.Though the hotel was very quiet on the first night,the staff, and in particular Teresa the Manager,could not have done more.The room fitout was of a very high standard with beautiful stiff cotton bedlinen and lovely bathroom fittings. Breakfasts on both days were excellent. We had an after golf lunch in the clubhouse and that also was very good and what value. 10 euro for the burger, fries and a pint
speaking of Golf we had a game on both the New forest course which was good and also played on the Darren Clarke Championship course which was really excellent. The fairways and greens were in great condition and the course layout was very interesting.The practice facilites were top rate.However it was the clubhouse itself that really impressed.Clearly substantial expense was put into the clubhouse with the standard of fittings in the changing rooms and bar of the highest level.
Overall we had a wonderful two days and I cannor recommend it more.Sure there were a few areas that could be better like the variety of food available when the hotel is quiet , but for the value that our stay represented, I will allow them these few areas for improvement. Will I be bqck again?. You bet I will.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shadow69cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

We booked for one night and liked it so much we stay for another night. We wanted a break from the city which allowed us to take our little dog. It took some searching, i only came across this place by accident. I can't say how pleased i am that i found it, as i will be going back. We had a selfcatering cottage on the grounds of this estate right next to the hotel. The cottage was perfect. Stylish and very clean, loved the kitchen, 2 double rooms with comfie beds. Our 4year old son and our dog loved it too! There is only one of the cottages that is pet friendly as it has tiles on the ground floor.
There isn't much in terms what we expect from hotels. no spa, or swimming pool ect. There is a Golf course here, which we didn't use.We loved not having to do much, We took a walk on the long treelined avenue twice a day, played ball in the courtyard and generally chilled out. We did go for a trip to the kildare village and picked up some bargains but got lost a little on the drive. Our Breakfast was included which was very nice. The Bar food was fine, well priced. The second night i had seabass in the waterways resturant and it was very good! There was a wedding there on the friday and what an amazing setting for the photos!. Only downside is we found the cottage a little cold. But we didn't bother to request the heating on! The staff were lovely, very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisa_crehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
offaly
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

Ive never had such a horrible stay in a hotel in all my life, staff at the desk were totally ignorent, the hotel manager tried to put us outside in a cottage which was filthy and very run down, a dog wudnt eat the dinner, the chicken was pink! yuk!! the manager only spoke to me and my partner because he was showing a woman who was looking to having her wedding there around. there was nothing to do so boring and whn we went downstairs to relax and look around they kept on asking us were we waiting on somebody( in other words get out) no wonder we were the only 2 staying there, maybe its different for weddings or if your posh and rich or you like to act posh!! No wonder the hotel was closed for 5 months! had to go to the blueberry restaurant for dinner which was lovely and friendly, and oh ye even if you ask for a smoking room they tell you yes but when you get there they say u cant smoke anywhere but outside which is a long walk in the middle of the night! its people like us that could keep that place open in the recession, but i hope it closes! wot a dump!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank xxlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
246 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

I stayed at the hotel after playing golf on the Championship course and I was very pleased with the hotel, from the room to the bar and dinner was all excellent.

The only criticism I would give is that the golf course lacks definition and the rough is too long. You have no idea where your ball entered the rough as there are little or no trees / bushes or markers of any description. The highest handicap in my 4 ball was 9.
I spoke to other people that day and the difficulty of the course was the only factor that would put them off coming again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poxyeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moyvalley
5.8 km away
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
23.5 km away
The K Club
The K Club
#1 of 2 in Straffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
25.9 km away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.9 km away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
29.0 km away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
21.8 km away
Westgrove Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moyvalley Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moyvalley Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Moyvalley Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: Balyna Estate | enroute on R148 about 7km outside Enfield, Moyvalley, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Moyvalley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moyvalley
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,419 - ₹ 24,534
Hotel Class:4 star — Moyvalley Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Moyvalley Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing