We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Helensvale
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't do it”
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Arrived in the middle of the night. Instructions inadequate, access card not provided (lucky our villa was accessible from adjacent motel carpark. Wall heater/ac inoperative - problem with 6C overnight temp. Small blow heater dangerously faulty (green sparks), infant cot did not fit in villa (did I mention it was small) and also broken. Staff were understanding of our issues the following morning but pathetically un-empowered to help. Requested to pay for their (better?) bungalow accom. but on inspection found no remote for split aircon. After an unsuccessful search by staff, the solution offered was to "borrow the neighbour's remote" each time we need to turn it in/off or change temp. Management's offer for compensation in the form of complimentary breakfast (after a night comparable with sleeping in a car) showed their complete lack of understanding for the services in which they proport to provide. Lucky for us we found a vacancy at the nearby Treasure island Holiday Park which sits at the other end of the spectrum. If you ONLY care about proximity to theme parks, then this may be the place for you but given you still need to drive there, another option requiring an extra 10mins on the M1 will make enjoying your holiday a lot more likely.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Buzz1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    121
    34
    13
    16
See reviews for
274
80
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warialda
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

I booked my family in here for 2 nights with the sole purpose of taking our children to the theme parks. If this is alll you intend to do while staying here then it is probably ok. We stayed in an old cabin (read old). There were newer bungalow there but they were all booked. The park itself seems to be in the middle of a revamp which is long overdue by the look of it. Pool is very basic and didn't seem that clean (I couldn't see the bottom standing on the side so I wouldn't let my kids go in). Sites and access roads were very basic and the place lookied rather dreary, but as they say the place has "location, location". I wouldn't stay here for a family holiday when you are so spoilt for choice on the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cue487023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Highlights:
- Proximity to theme parks
- Nice bungalow
- Nice atmosphere
- Very friendly staff.


We stayed for 7 nights in August 2009 in a 2 bedroom bungalow.

Accommodations were very nice and much cheaper than getting a 2 bedroom apartment near the beach.

We were mainly there for the theme parks, for which this holiday park was perfect. 5 minutes drive to Dreamworld, 3 minutes to Movieworld. You could even see the tip of the Movieworld Batwing Spaceshot from the park (see photo).

There were a few things wrong with the bungalow (eg can opener broken, wall-mounted fan not working etc), but the friendly staff were very quick to replace both the can opener and fan within days, and provide a pedestal fan in the meantime.

Noise from the freeway might be a problem for light sleepers (like us). We needed to sleep with the windows closed which was fine in Winter, however the noise almost disappeared with the windows closed. The curtains were also not as blackout as I would like, so I'd recommend getting sleep masks as well, especially for the second bedroom which had wooden slat venetian blinds that let in alot of light in the morning.

Despite the freeway, the holiday park itself was quiet, and very relaxing during the day, with the creek and plenty of trees nearby.

I'm not sure what bus services were available, but it seemed like you really needed a car to get around from here.

Plenty of fast food dining options down the road, plus a pub, mini-mart, petrol station. Westfield Helensvale is a short drive away (~5 mins or so).

We drove into Surfers Paradise a couple of times. It took about 20 mins or so i think. But make sure to use the Smith St Motorway, and avoid the Gold Coast Hwy where ever possible.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikipe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Lovely service and great place to stay when visiting the theme parks, like MovieWorld which is not far away at all. There is no restaurant but breakfast is provided downstairs in the common-room. Not for those who want a fancy place to stay, are looking to visit nightclubs or want to go shopping.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasmineIvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countrycharm71
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2009

If you like the hustle and bustle of Surfers Paradise and the beaches then this is not the place for you. But if you like the convenience of being close the theme parks and a Westfield shopping centre then look no further. We found it to be a great spot for a holiday with kids and were very pleased with our stay. There was a pool, giant chess board and a giant jumping pillow that was enjoyed by us all. We stayed in the bungalow which was very clean and large with a huge balconey overlooking the bushland. We also experienced fantastic customer service and found all the staff to be very helpful, we couldn't fault anyone. We would happily recommend the Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel to anyone looking for a family friendly holiday stay on the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countrycharm71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helensvale
15.4 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
16.0 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
8.5 km away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 km away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,258 reviews
20.5 km away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
6.8 km away
Ramada Hotel Hope Harbour
Ramada Hotel Hope Harbour
#2 of 3 in Hope Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel

Property: Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel
Address: 66-86 Siganto Dr, Helensvale, Gold Coast, Queensland 4212, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Helensvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Helensvale
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,877 - ₹ 10,769
Hotel Class:4 star — Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BIG4 Gold Coast Holiday Park is the nearest caravan park to the Gold Coast Theme Parks with family and pet friendly accommodation located across the road from Movie World, Wet'n'Wild, Outback Spectacular & only 2 minutes' drive from Dream World & White Water World. It's the perfect place to base yourself when exploring the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel Helensvale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing