We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run operation with a quality boat”

Sea Bees Diving - Chalong
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 119.97*
and up
Sharks Point Scuba Diving Tour from Phuket
More Info
US$ 119.97*
and up
Scuba Diving Day Trip to Racha Yai from Phuket
More Info
US$ 145.22*
and up
Full-Day Scuba Diving Day Trip to Racha Noi
Ranked #2 of 52 Tours in Chalong
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to the world of Sea Bees Diving. With more than 23 years of experience, our dive centres in Phuket, Khao Lak, and Pak Meng welcome divers and snorkelers, beginner or experienced, to make the most of the world-renowned dive sites of Southern Thailand on either daytrips or liveaboards. Join us on our state-of-the-art fleet for fun, relaxation, small dive groups and personalised service. Adventure in good hands!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Lockers / storage
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Recently completed 3 dives at Racha and Racha Noi from the See Bees Boat "Excalibur 2". I was with another dive company but See Bees impresed with friendly, skilled staff, good quality equipment, an excellent boat and good quality food! Dived the next day with a different company and their boat, gear, staff and food where nowhere near the quality of See Bees.

Thank jonoandmarji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holger S, Owner at Sea Bees Diving - Chalong, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Thanks guys - we appreciate the feedback and know that owning our own boats allows us to keep up our standards. Pleased it made a difference and hope that, next time, there won't be a "different company"! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 519 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2011

I had spent some time on a few scuba boards reviewing which dive company to go with for a full one day diving trip to Phi Phi and there are a number of choices and considerations but after a short while, I went with Sea Bees who are also an SSI diving affiliated company (as I am also an SSI diver).

I booked a one day sunday trip out to Phi Phi Island on the Excalibur double decker boat at a reasonable price of 5000++ bath which included 3 day dives and 1 night dive.

Pick up from the hotel was on time, and the drive to Chalong Bay is about 40 minutes as we also had to pick up 3-4 other divers from other hotels. It was a comfortable ride.

We arrived at the Sea Bees office, got our rental gear sorted, and then proceeded back on the mini van for a very short ride to the jetty and the boat. The gear was loaded on our behalf and there was a nice mix of kids who were also going diving and 5-6 adults also doing the dives with me and a lady who was doing her open water course.

Conduct of the dive leaders was ALWAYS professional and courteous. We had Mike as our dive leader, with Stefan, Juan and Frank (the team leader) also co-ordinating and assisting with the dives. There was a chap called Blackie who was a local Thai dive leader and was also responsible in part for the kids who would be diving that day.

The trip out to Phi Phi took about 2 hours++ and it was a slow journey but it gave everyone an opportunity to mix and to chit chat and for divers to do what divers do: talk about diving.

We had a nice simple breakfast (toast, jam, butter) and there were ample choices of soft drinks, beers and milkshakes available to purchase.

Weather conditions were good on top but a little bit poor underwater as it had rained the night before and it got a little bit worse towards the later afternoon as the winds picked up.

The day dives went well and we were an experinced group who dived with Mike and had little problems coping with the currents and saw my first Leopard Shark. We managed to catch a couple of turtles but otherwise, it wasn't the best of dives.

But, diving being diving, that's the way it is sometimes so it's an accepted part of the experince. The visit to Phi Phi island was fantastic. We anchored off the island and had the opportunity to snorkle and to relax before our next dives.

The trip back was sadly not as comfortable as the trip out as the winds had picked up and the sea conditions a bit rough....it took 3 hours to get back due to the conditions and the night dive was cancelled for safety reasons.

All in all, a good day's diving, a good experince with the sea bee's team.

Would def. dive with them again on my next trip. They also arranged for transport back to the hotel at the end of the dive.

2  Thank Diving-Addiction00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holger S, Owner at Sea Bees Diving - Chalong, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Very much appreciate your detailed review. We know that diving conditions are not always perfect, especially during the monsoon season, but it's still better than a day in the office! Our Super Sunday trips are very popular because we are the only ones who do this, so we hope to see you again and promise you the night dive you missed out on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

the staff are friendly, the dive leaders fun and safe.. the Excalibur II has plenty of room for gearing up to dive, for eating and for resting in between dives. The breakfast and lunch they serve are cooked on board and while limited in variety, are delicious! The dive sites are all 1 1/2 hour or more boat ride away but riding on the Excalibur makes it a pleasure cruise. We saw dive leaders/instructors who all spoke English but many who also spoke German, Thai, Russian and probably more.

2  Thank kareninms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holger S, Owner at Sea Bees Diving - Chalong, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Thanks Karen - we built Excalibur II especially for divers so it's good to know that you liked it. Our onboard chef cooks dishes to make the most of Thai cuisine but without ruining your diving, so we hope next time you'll try "Stingray" and have a great daytrip to the Similans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Our diving trip is good by Sea Bees serviced !!! Thank you for your all staff to take care of us May be a few month we will come back soon to join trip diving again

2  Thank Focus888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holger S, Owner at Sea Bees Diving - Chalong, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Thank you - the dive crew enjoyed looking after you and they had fun too so we hope you'll be back to do more in diving in a few months.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

Went to Phuket in the start of Jan.2011 to do some diving. Sea Bees came recommended to us, and it did not take long for usto understand why. The staff was pleasant and helpful, the diveboats had good standard, the food on the boats was very nice (you get breakfast and lunch, and even dinner on super sunday). The dive guides we had did an amazing job and showed us everythong from small nudies and ghost pipefish to big leopard and reef sharks. We had a fantastic time diving with Sea Bees. Highly recommended!

2  Thank FuzzyEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holger S, Owner at Sea Bees Diving - Chalong, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Thanks for your great feedback. It's good to know that the hard work on service, safety as well as having our own fleet can make a difference to your dive trip. Hope to see you again soon because - perhaps in time for whale shark season...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Bees Diving - Chalong also viewed

 

Been to Sea Bees Diving - Chalong? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing