We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“AVOID this PLACE!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ao Chalong Villa & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ao Chalong Villa & Spa
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Chalong
Certificate of Excellence
vienna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“AVOID this PLACE!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

we came to the island and last minute we looked on the internet for different places and called a cap to drive us to this place because the said on thair website its next to a beautifull beach with white sand and onlzt ten minutes to opuket town for only 750 thb.

when we arrives very late the room was ok and we checked in.
the problem of this place is. "the beach with white sand" is actually a harbor and the told us nobody is allowd to go swimming there and wen we saw dirtiness of the water we didn`t want to go into it.
on the website the hotel wrote "ten minutes to puket town" wich was actually ten to 15 minutes drive with a car to the city. or 600 thb one way by taxy. and so shops or other restaurants were next to this place.
so if you don`t want to be cut off everything and spent all of your money in this hotel (the prices for food and drinks are exrrtemly high!) AVOID this place!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    87
    26
    14
    13
See reviews for
33
105
21
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

This is a great place if you like to be away from the hectic pace in Kata or Patong. It's about an hour drive from the airport, although every where we went seemed to take about an hour in Phuket. We arranged a transfer from the airport and a driver was waiting out front when we arrived after 10.30pm.

Check in was quick and efficient and our sea view villa was spacious and clean - with a nice little balcony overlooking the pool, although we would have preferred the villas right on the end that looked straight out over the Andaman Sea. My only real criticism of this hotel is that the showers only run with cold water. After a long flight and suffering from a slight cold I really wanted a hot shower.

We liked the fact that this place was away from the busyness of Phuket. We spent our first morning swimming in the pool which is surrounded by lush tropical plants. In the afternoon we hired a driver to take us to Expo Market. (cheap t-shirts, singlets and cheap copy designer bags.) It cost us about A$30 one way. He dropped us off and introduced us to another driver who wanted to drive us around and take us to the tourist spots.

Anyway after a few hours at expo market we headed back to the villa for a swim in the pool which was lovely. And a pinacorada - delicious. The complimentary breakfast was fine - eggs, toast, cereal, fruit and juice. Lunch and dinner in the restaurant was also reasonably priced.

I had a scrub in the spa which only cost about $18. The Thai lady was very sweet but had limited English and the half naked guy in the next cubicle took me by surprise but other than that it was quite relaxing. Even with the cold showers I'd recommend this place for the peace, quiet and the lovely pool.

Room Tip: Ask for the villas on the end (one on either side of the pool) that look over the Andaman Sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dhama49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

Being the objective travel writer and knowing that there are great finds in all categories, I decided to book this great budget find on the sea. I had just left a 5 star resort after a week of solace and luxury in Rawai. So my expectations were realisitic. This property is in Chalong and at the end of a rustic dirt road on the water. If you do not have a car or motorbike, it really is not a big deal. I had a rental car, so you might want to go that route. There is plenty of parking. You can walk to town via that road (1/2 to 3/4 miles) or walk to the pier via the narrow beachfront. I read other reviews and really don't know why anyone would complain at these prices. I booked a garden view room on www.agoda.com which is my favorite site for super low prices and lots of selections. There was nothing wrong with the garden view room. Heck, at $20 US @ night, my only requirement is spotless accomodations, comfortable bed, fridge, hot water kettle and an adequate and immaculate bathroom. This had all of that. Sure..I could have spent more money if I had wanted a waterfront villa or deluxe suite. They have this....but I had to try something in this category so that everyone that reads my reviews might be able to afford a great location and not spend a lot of money. The room was small but I did not care about that. The bed was huge, comfortable, firm as I like it, crisp white sheets, nice pillows; and I was able to sleep just fine. The bathroom is not what most North Americans might be used to but again it is typical of many asian countries. It was Thai style....completely tiled from top to bottom, a western toilet (great!), an adequate sink and a shower that is incorporated with the entire bathroom. In other words, there is a drain in the floor when you shower. You had a normal shower fixture and a separate hose. There were thick towels and bath amenities. The lighting was not the best but I didn't care. I don't wear makeup in Thailand for the most part. The fridge was nicely stocked with minibar items at very low prices. You could drink and eat everything and not spend a fortune. Complimentary bottled water is provided on a daily basis and a hot water kettle with the normal tea and coffee packets. There was a normal sized tv and that was fine too. There was a small balcony (2nd floor) that overlooked palm trees and no one could see in. Very nice. Burgundy silk curtains that really kept the light out in the AM hours. I loved that. This is an older property but it is kept in immaculate condition, the staff is lovely and the pools will exceed your expectations. Believe me, as a relatively senior flight attendant for a major international airline, our crewmembers have stayed in layover hotels that were not as nice as Ao Chalong! The USA really has low standards with some hotels and it is amazing that some of the budget hotels are not shut down. The pools here are lavish by American standards and have spouting water and mermaids, etc. The seafront pool is gorgeous, has a great view of the boats and islands and there was absolutely no one there during my "green season" visit. There are chaise lounges on their very small beach with a great view. If you would like to use the smaller garden style pool, that is near the lobby and it was very nice and private as well. The elevated, open air restaurant is open all day and late into the evening. I felt like I was eating in an unpretentious Balinese resort. Nice...Again, they have a myriad of western and asian dishes at reasonable prices. Not the normal resort prices. I had a beef tenderloin salad in the $6 US range. It was very nice and at an unheard of price if you ask me. If you want to go into Chalong for very cheap food, it is possible if you do inot mind the walk. It's quite fun to walk that rustic road or walk the beachfront to the pier area where there are tons of seafood places at very low prices. Chalong is less expensive than the typical resort cities on Phuket. It is a bustling business center with lots of shops, banks, cafe's, massage/manicure places, tourist bars, girlie bars, supermarkets, everything. If you want to go to a great ex pat shopping center, there is the Home Pro Center in Chalong that has a great organic grocery store that is similar to Whole Foods and has superb finds along with ready made meals. Or you can try the plethora of restaurants in this complex which offer great meals at low prices. Try Kitchen Plus for trendy, upscale selections at low prices. MK for dim sum and hot pot specialties. A great little coffee place is there that offers a free Mac PC for it's customers. Again, if you don't have the funds to go to a lavish resort....the Ao Chalong is the place for you. I would go there again. It was friendly, safe, secure and scenic. Rent a motorbike if you can. Stop at the market and get your favorite beverages and snacks before you arrive. This is the real Thailand! Thank you Ao Chalong for a great stay. I loved it and my budget travelers will be amazed!!!!! P.S. Free Wifi in your room!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank parisflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, USA
Level Contributor
213 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

We were in the area for a wedding. We probalby would not have stayed at this property but the rest of the group was staying here and the wedding was nearby. The price was pretty cheap at about $40usd including breakfast. We arrived by the hotel shuttle and it was 900thb total. The trip is about and hour. At arrival I was surprised they did not even need a credit card, our room was prepaid but you would think they would want a card but this is a pretty laid back place. We had a pool view room and it was basic but clean and comfortable. I had dinner at the restaurant one evening and was bout the only person there. I elected to have Thai food as it seemed like the safest choice but they do have western food as well. It was good and the service was good. Please note that english was not so good at the restaurant but usually one person speaks good enough and the other person working will speak very little. Breakfast in the restaurant was very basic buy enough to get you going. The pool area is the best part of this property as it is very big and tropical. This is a very relaxing hotel and a great place if you just want to get away from it all.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcgahat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

This is a great hotel / resort with perfect pools & very nice little restaurant. However, don't get a "garden view" room unless you need to save $$ and can stand the terrible smell. Seems they added these rooms recently to handle overflow, but I don't think they did themselves any favours. The pools are really great & relaxing unless someone uses the basketball nets, then it's a pain. I think they should take them out! You pretty much can't use the beach, as it's dirty & smells. If you don't have a car (I did) it can be a bit isolated but there seemed to be a taxi around usually. It's not far to the pier area, which is nice, but there is no direct route unless you go along the muddy beach which I would not recommend.

Room Tip: Don't accept a garden view room!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gtosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chalong
8.1 km away
The Tint At Phuket Town
The Tint At Phuket Town
#1 of 77 in Phuket Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
1.4 km away
Palm Garden Resort Phuket
10.1 km away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
The Signature Phuket Resort
8.0 km away
Baan Suwantawe
Baan Suwantawe
#4 of 77 in Phuket Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
8.2 km away
Sino House Phuket Hotel and Apartment
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ao Chalong Villa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ao Chalong Villa & Spa

Property: Ao Chalong Villa & Spa
Address: 5/26 Moo 9 Soi Porn Chalong , East Chaofa Rd, Chalong, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Chalong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Chalong
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,189 - ₹ 5,061
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ao Chalong Villa & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Ao Chalong Villa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ao Chalong Villa And Spa
Ao Chalong Villa Hotel Chalong
Ao Chalong Hotel
Ao Chalong Villa & Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing