We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely spot”
other travellers have booked this property
In full bloom!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
In full bloom!
Cosy Country Cottage Sit in your front garden overlooking Roaring Water Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
In full bloom!
Cosy Country Cottage
Sit in your front garden overlooking Roaring Water Bay
Relax in the evenings with a wood burning stove
Living Area
Cosy Kitchen
Main Bathroom, includes bath and shower
Main ensuite bedroom with old fashioned brass bed
Double Bedroom
Twin bedroom with iron bedsteads
'Welcome to Herons Cove Cottage'
Gateway to your perfect escape!
Early morning calm
View from Front Deck
View from rear of property
view from drive
Secluded and Sheltered back decking, perfect for summer BBQs
Enjoy a romantic moonlight drink on the front deck overlooking water
Entrance Gates
Sailboat passing Jeremy Irons Castle near Cottage
Boats heading up Ballydehob Harbour past Cottage to local Festival
The Twelve Arch Bridge in Ballydehob
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ballydehob, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Rachel H
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely spot”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a really enjoyable stay. The views from the deck were beautiful and it was a wonderfully peaceful location. We found the cottage very welcoming and cosy and it was a lovely getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Liked least: The bed
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan F
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Peace and Beauty”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

If you want to experience the peace and tranquillity that West Cork has to offer, you'll find it here at Herons Cove. The house is well equipped, comfortable, pretty and full of interest. The Sheehans have thought of everything because they have used it as a holiday cottage themselves - unlike some places where you have the the necessities but no atmosphere. A beautiful view over the inlet, framed by pretty garden plants (the roses and lavender were glorious when we stayed!) we were lucky to be able to watch seals and sea birds as the tide ebbed and flowed. Loved it! Thank you Kathleen and Tony.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: The fact that we had to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amanda r
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Total peace & tranquility”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

What an amazing place! Kathleen & Tony welcomed us with a lovely food hamper. The cottage is equipped with everything you could think of & very spacious. The views from the decking are truly magnificent.We saw seals in the bay & lots of different birds so take binoculars. Is an ideal base for traveling around the Mizen & Sheeps Head peninsulas. Crookhaven, Barley Cove, Bantry, Schull, Skibbereen are all worth a visit asis Mizenhead. A stroll in Balllydehob is a must as the bridge is fabulous. Plenty of pubs in town! Having
your own beach at the bottom of the garden is wonderful, so quiet.You will have a wonderful holiday here. We will return again & again to this most wonderful little piece of heaven! Thank You Kathleen &Tony for making us so welcome

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lytshak
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Amazing secluded and comfortable house”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Sea frontline, Antonio’s Ristorante & Pizzeria at the village is great, close to Baltimore, Nice drive

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreana...
Wexford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation in tranquil cove setting with excellent nearby restaurants”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed at Herons Cove Cottage for 10 days. We were attracted by the cottage itself, the quiet location, the local cuisine, and the West Cork area in general.

From the moment of making a booking enquiry to the moment of departure, the owners were extremely prompt, helpful, and friendly...just lovely people! No question or inquiry was too much.

Upon arrival at the cottage, we were delighted to find that it was every bit as beautiful as it looked in the photos. This cottage is so warm and cosy, and is set on a beautiful quiet cove which put us in a state of relaxation immediately; settling in was effortless. We were particularly struck by how generously the cottage is fitted out, in all respects, including bedding, kitchen equipment, childrens games, books, towels, soaps, and just everything really. The beds and sofas are extremely comfortable, and there is nothing which was not provided. We were very impressed.

During the time we spent there, we were thrilled to find that practically everything is within a 15 min drive, give or take a little. The cottage is very centrally located for West Cork in general. Ballydehob, a beauitful friendly Irish village, is only a few mins drive away, and Skull, Skibbereen and Bantry are all within a 15 min drive. Baltimore is approx 20 mins drive. Barley Cove beach and Crookhaven are within 30 mins, and are so worth the drive - breathtakingly beautiful. All of the nearby towns have superb restaurants, from very reasonably priced to more expensive if you want to really treat yourself. Antonio's is an Italian restaurant located right in Ballydehob, and is a lovely experience with authentic quality Italian food, lovely staff, and very affordable.

All in all, we had a tremendous break, and loved the whole area, but in particular we couldn't say enough about the cottage, it has everything for the perfectly relaxing holiday, and the location couldn't be better as it is so central to everything. We're already planning our next holiday there

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house is fitted out very generously and is ever so cosy
Liked least: There was nothing I did not like about the house and the location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing