We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb accommodation in tranquil cove setting...”
other travellers have booked this property
In full bloom!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
In full bloom!
Cosy Country Cottage Sit in your front garden overlooking Roaring Water Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
In full bloom!
Cosy Country Cottage
Sit in your front garden overlooking Roaring Water Bay
Relax in the evenings with a wood burning stove
Living Area
Cosy Kitchen
Main Bathroom, includes bath and shower
Main ensuite bedroom with old fashioned brass bed
Double Bedroom
Twin bedroom with iron bedsteads
'Welcome to Herons Cove Cottage'
Gateway to your perfect escape!
Early morning calm
View from Front Deck
View from rear of property
view from drive
Secluded and Sheltered back decking, perfect for summer BBQs
Enjoy a romantic moonlight drink on the front deck overlooking water
Entrance Gates
Sailboat passing Jeremy Irons Castle near Cottage
Boats heading up Ballydehob Harbour past Cottage to local Festival
The Twelve Arch Bridge in Ballydehob
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ballydehob, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Andreana...
Wexford, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation in tranquil cove setting with excellent nearby restaurants”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed at Herons Cove Cottage for 10 days. We were attracted by the cottage itself, the quiet location, the local cuisine, and the West Cork area in general.

From the moment of making a booking enquiry to the moment of departure, the owners were extremely prompt, helpful, and friendly...just lovely people! No question or inquiry was too much.

Upon arrival at the cottage, we were delighted to find that it was every bit as beautiful as it looked in the photos. This cottage is so warm and cosy, and is set on a beautiful quiet cove which put us in a state of relaxation immediately; settling in was effortless. We were particularly struck by how generously the cottage is fitted out, in all respects, including bedding, kitchen equipment, childrens games, books, towels, soaps, and just everything really. The beds and sofas are extremely comfortable, and there is nothing which was not provided. We were very impressed.

During the time we spent there, we were thrilled to find that practically everything is within a 15 min drive, give or take a little. The cottage is very centrally located for West Cork in general. Ballydehob, a beauitful friendly Irish village, is only a few mins drive away, and Skull, Skibbereen and Bantry are all within a 15 min drive. Baltimore is approx 20 mins drive. Barley Cove beach and Crookhaven are within 30 mins, and are so worth the drive - breathtakingly beautiful. All of the nearby towns have superb restaurants, from very reasonably priced to more expensive if you want to really treat yourself. Antonio's is an Italian restaurant located right in Ballydehob, and is a lovely experience with authentic quality Italian food, lovely staff, and very affordable.

All in all, we had a tremendous break, and loved the whole area, but in particular we couldn't say enough about the cottage, it has everything for the perfectly relaxing holiday, and the location couldn't be better as it is so central to everything. We're already planning our next holiday there

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house is fitted out very generously and is ever so cosy
Liked least: There was nothing I did not like about the house and the location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anilum80
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my husband wanted go away from everybody for a New Years. Choosing this cottage was the best decision. We stayed only for 2 nights, but it was hard to leave. It definitely felt like from home to home. Inside is beautiful , very cozy clean.In the pictures living room looks bit small, but is not.In the house you can find everything you need ( even cooking books, toys for kids and a lot of everything else.) I would definitely recommend for a families with kids, for a couples, someone who wants to run away from everybody. I definitely will come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InezCulle...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Herons Cove”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Herons Cove for 4 nights. I can't quite put into words how fantastic we both found the cottage and surrounding area, it really was everything we wished for and more! From accommodating our late check in, to providing us with a welcome hamper Kathleen made us feel at home from the moment we met her. The cottage is simply stunning and reflects everything that's so wonderful about the West of Cork. While tucked away in the most remote and quiet of locations its proximity to the surrounding towns and amenities makes it the perfect get away. We arrived late and in the dark but woke to the most beautiful of views. The cottage is equipped with absolutely everything one could possible think of needing and the personal touches and local knowledge offered really make the experience memorable. We would highly recommend this cottage and all it offers to anyone wishing to experience the warmth and beauty of holidaying in Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenmug...
Trimsaran, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Absolutely wonderful location very quiet, no traffic.It is a place that makes you want to return to , the Cottage was immaculate everything that you could need, 3mins walk to private small beach not suitable for swimming but lovely to sit by which the owners Kathleen and Tony have put a bench and table there. They made us so welcome nothing was too much trouble.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: not enough sun
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna H
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Calmness & Peace in a Perfect Package!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing cottage and definitely a home from home. A beautifully presented and comfortable cottage on the shore of Roaring Water Bay in a stunning location. Facilities both indoor and out were perfect.

We wanted for nothing from the moment we walked in the door! The welcome and service we received from Kathleen and Tony was second to none - we felt like part of their extended family.

Cottage is private and secluded but within easy driving distance of local pubs & restaurants and the must-see sights of West Cork and Kerry.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing