We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place to unwind”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Monaghan's cottage

Lough McNean to the North
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lough McNean to the North
Side view to North West Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Lough McNean to the North
Side view to North West
Entrance
Fireplace in lounge
Front Bedroom 1
Lounge/Dining area
Jetty on Lough Melvin
Playing a pike on Lough Allen
Jack and Jill ensuite wetroom
3rd Bedroom
Drying the turf on the cottage bank
Malin beg
Sunset Lough Allen
30 tube solar panel
Surfing Strandhill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Blacklion, County Cavan

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Beryl M
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great place to unwind”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A lovely cottage , just the right place to get away from it all .
Michael the owner is very helpful .
The cottage is comfortable and has all the essentials , it was great having a fire in the evenings even in the summer .
It's secluded enough to get away from it all but there is a lot to do in the surrounding area if you want to explore the history of the region.
These are not criticisms but as it was summer the duvets which were 15 tog were to heavy and we all thought that a covered deck area with a hot tub would just be the cherry on the top (wishful thinking perhaps )

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The seclusion
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2015
Many thanks for your review and observations. We have purchased 4.5 tog duvets and will leave them in the cottage as an alternative to the 15 tog winter ones. (1 degree C last night July 28th). Great idea for the hot tub to enjoy the views, maybe next year. Best Regards Michael
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fishorte
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it, loved it, loved it!”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Fabulous situation, awesome views, outstanding accommodation - we loved it. Michael, the owner, could not have been more helpful and friendly and we will be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
Many thanks for your positive review and we look forward to welcoming you next May.
Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bjbapp
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“sheer peace and quite”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed here with a young family in July. The owner came to meet us and we found him really nice and helpful .He has only started renting the cottage and it needs some small changes to make it 100%. We pointed out about there being no outside table (found this very unfortunate ) and he said he was getting that sorted but for us the most annoying thing was the owner kept bees in the back garden and we were afraid to allow our small child to run about incase he got stung (which he didn't I must say ). Also the wifi was very limited and our kids could only use it for 3 days then asked to stop :-( they had used to much, any modern family is gonna have kids that use internet so this would need to be addressed. Now to the plus side, wow what a view also the house is well stocked with books dvds ect. This is a real chill out place with total piece and quite offered. If you wanna just get away from it all and recharge your batteries try here. We would return to stay again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2014
Many thanks for your review and appreciate the valid comments. I will provide an outside table this weekend.Unfortunately broadband is not readily available in the country and the 15Gb monthly package was the best available at the time,plenty for emails and surfing, the 8Gb used in the three days was scary as I am charged €20 per Gb over my allowance. I hope to get a 60Gb package from 3 when they take over the O2 network. I accept the hive is close to the house and can be off putting. I will move the hive up by the forest and hopefully we can offer you some heather honey next year. I enjoyed meeting you and hope to add additional features for your next visit. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMSalsa
Larne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A brilliant base for exploring County Sligo, Cavan, Fermanagh and Leitrim. Fantastic views from house, warm and cosy atmosphere,”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Couldn't fault this home at all. Lots of room around the cottage, brilliant views of the lough and mountains. Lovely open plan kitchen and living room .. sofas are cream so are a bit discoloured in places. Bedrooms well thought out and plenty of hot water for showering .. no bath, but didn't bother us. Lots of towels left and washing machine there if needed. A really good base to explore the surrounding areas .. we went to Cavan, Enniskillen, Sligo and the Marble Arch Caves. Michael couldn't do enough for us and rang to make sure we had everything we needed .. a really nice touch. Thanks

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DILLONSAV...
BELFAST
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Everything you could want.”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stunning views of Lough McNean,
Wonderful isolation.
Magical warmth within.

What more could you ask for a chill out weekend ??

Nothing else needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The weather----not the property's fault !!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing