We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (954)
Filter reviews
954 results
Traveller rating
148
269
218
145
174
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
148
269
218
145
174
Show reviews that mention
All reviews groupon deal two night stay river view short break thames path oxford walks boats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 954 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2021

Room was excellent as before. Although very busy with a coach party the service and attention was first class. This was exemplified through the professional and warm service from Sam in the restaurant. Considering he was relatively new the way he looked after the guests was a real credit to the hotel. He was extremely courteous and nothing was too much trouble. Having stayed in a number of hotels for my job a lot of chains could take a look how this chap conducts himself and treats guests. Dont let the negative comments below detract from the fact this is a great hotel, great food and attentive staff. Worn carpets in hallways? In my eyes it shows a busy hotel that has come out the other side of a pandemic that has hit hospitality very hard and when things get back to normal will be addressed but my room was lovely. My choice of stay whenever in the region.

Room tip: Rooms are excellent and quiet.
Date of stay: July 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank stevebS6167JV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2021

some parts of the hotel are a little tired and a refurbishment is ongoing .
Rooms were clean and tidy and generous in space .
Public area's ,Dining Area and Bar will benefit from refurbishment .
Shortage of staff is evident but those there worked tirelessly to ensure all needs were catered for .
Staff were very friendly and courteous especially the three lads in the Dining Room.
Standard of food was good with the exception of the roast beef .
Great location on the banks of the Thames.

Date of stay: August 2021
Thank Bernard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 August 2021 via mobile

Stayed here in august, and I agree with other reviewers, location is on point, but the service and maintenance requires attention.

Good
Friendly and efficient check in
Comfy beds
Clean bathroom
Peaceful
Scotch egg good

Bad
Towel rail not working therefore damp towels for the duration of our stay
Front entrance bin needed emptying overfilling with Mac Donald’s wrappers
Staff ashtrays on sight and full to brimming
Trays of dirty glasses on picnic tables not being cleared for over 36 hrs, probably still there now!
Door behind reception is grubby and dirty, not a great first impression.
Poor standard of coffee at breakfast
Dining room cleanliness was very poor, windows filthy with kid hand prints, high chairs with old food still on the trays
Wild animal poo on external steps
Pork scratching straws, were stale and cold and not even straw shaped

Staff
Young and inexperienced with little or no training, though trying hard.
One more “senior” member of staff belittles the more junior staff in front of guests
The same senior member of staff wouldn’t feedback to the chef ,he would rather go straight to management.
The attitude of a female staff was rude, dismissive and unacceptable in the hospitality trade.

Based on other reviews we knew what we were potentially letting ourselves in for, but with a few tweaks in service and investment this could be a great gem on the Thames.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank CoventryRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2021

This was our second visit to the hotel and we were really impressed with the improvents made since last year.
The staff are really friendly and helpful, the food was great and the newly refurbished rooms are a real treat at a very reasonable price.
We will be back!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ellieandgeorgec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2021

We took a walk by the river and stopped for food at this hotel. We ordered two vegetarian moving mountain burgers and when they arrived we realised we had been served a meat burger with bacon on top. We called the waiter who was rude and went back to the kitchen to confirm what had happened. He returned telling us the chef had said it was vegetarian. I asked to speak to the chef as they were clearly meat. The manager came and took the burgers and was apologetic. The waiter then served another ‘vegetarian’ burger which was clearly just the meat burger without the bacon. We called the manager who took the burger away again apologising. These were removed from the bill and we were served some complimentary chips.
The chef clearly knew he was serving meat when vegetarian food was ordered. This type of behaviour could be very dangerous with dietary requirements if someone was actually to have an intolerance or severe allergy!
We wouldn’t eat here again or recommend this hotel :(

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank LRFCEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews