We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 115
US$ 106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 145
US$ 125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
San Want(Da'an)
US$ 111
US$ 101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 123
US$ 102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 71
US$ 66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dandy Hotel - Daan Park Branch(Da'an)(Great Value!)
US$ 83
US$ 77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rido Hotel Taipei(Da'an)(Great Value!)
US$ 124
US$ 72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,829)
Filter reviews
1,829 results
Traveller rating
1,285
416
88
23
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,285
416
88
23
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorizon clubrooftop poolmarco polohorizon floorshang palacewalk in closethealth clubshopping mallfood courtgrand hyattbusiness tripexecutive roombreakfast buffetnight marketfavorite hotelexcellent hotelhigh floor
Filter
Updating list...
1,058 - 1,063 of 1,829 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The Shangri-la Far Eastern is a great choice for the business traveller to Taipei. The rooms are spacious, if a little dated, though this is made up by the excellent service. The staff really are very friendly and show a genuine interest in the well-being of their guests. Room service is quick and efficient and quality of food overall is very good.

Compared to the Grand Hyatt - the other tradditional choice for for the Taipei visitor - the Far Eastern is a much better choice, in my view. The Grand Hyatt is really showing its age and rooms are dark and dreary, made worse by low ceilings. Although the Grand Hyatt is popular with mainland Chinese tourists, many locals wont stay there as they beleive the hotel is haunted, as it is supposedly sited above a former place of execution, from the Japanese occupation. That said, ive never heard anything go bump in the night while staying at the Hyatt, apart from the occasional earth tremor! I digress..... The one advantage the Hyatt does have over the Far Eastern is it's location, being slap in the middle of the Xinyi business/ shopping/ entertainment district and is walking distance from the 101, local department stores and food courts / restaurants. In comparison, the Far Eastern is in a less interesting location, though there is a smaller mall / food court complex to the rear. For those traveller's looking for a bit of local entertainment, Carnegies Bar (famous for it's rowdy Friday night discos) is a short walk away. The Far Eastern is a 10-15 min cab ride away from the centre of Xinyi and the hotel staff will provide help in getting you there.

Overall, the Far Eastern is a good choice for the business traveller. However, while I think the Far Eastern is a very good hotel, it's probably not the best in Taipei. Taipei is currently undergoing a mini construction boom, with two new 5 star hotels opening in the last couple of years - Le Meridien and the W Hotel. Both establishments are of a contemporary design and have become a magnet for the 'trendy' set. If that's your scene, then you will find the Hyatt and Far Eastern somewhat dated in comparison. However, you will also end up paying a considerable premium as the rates charged at both establishments are considerably higher.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnEnglishmaninAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I have stayed at Shangri-La Taipei a couple of times and I am NEVER disappointed. The service level is pretty outstanding, you are being treated like royalty for real. The Breakfast is probably the best in Taipei with something for any taste. At night a dinner at the Marco-Polo restaurant is equally excellent. If you need any help with your travel, let them now and they will sort it out for you. The rooms are big and very nice, with a fantastic view of Taipei. Do not miss the roof top swimming pool it is a sensation.

Room Tip: The Xbox package includes a bottle of wine in your room and breakfast.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerkerhell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed here recently for four nights as part of a business trip to Taiwan. The main thing that sets this hotel apart from others in Taiwan is (1) its service and (2) its exercise facilities. The service here is impressive, somebody is always available to help and a concierge who is spot on with local recommendations. A car service to impress and nothing that misses a beat while you stay at this hotel. Very impressive service.

The gym is one of the best that i have ever seen. They have a huge work-out space with a side area for yoga, etc. Again, the staff at the gym is top notch and will give you everything you need during your stay.

The rooms are very nicely appointed and the bathrooms exceed those of other hotels in Taiwan. A little television is very nice for when getting ready in the mornings. The shower is worth noting also, as it is awesome and expansive.

The top floor bar/restaurant had an excellent view of the city. The drinks are very creative and the staff attentive. Marco Polo restaurant is very good but expensive for Taiwan, just like the hotel.

The hotel is expensive for Taiwan so I view this as more of a business hotel. Nevertheless, it is the best business hotel I have seen in Taiwan so it deserves the top rankings it so typically receives.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the side of the building that faces Taipei 101. Also, choose the Horizon lounge level if on business.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheDeacon87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed at the club for 3 nights last June for business. Had very good breakfast at the club lounge every day, and the club services were tip-top. The room is very spacious and offered good views. Bed is fantastic but I love the toilet most which had a small tv on the vanity top that allow you to watch tv while you are in the tub. Had a separate luggage & walk-in wardrobe opp the toilet, and honestly a little wasted since I was alone and working most of the time... haha.

The location is not really city-centre, but it's connected to a shopping mall so you can get some other restaurant food other than the hotel's if you wish.

Room Tip: Pricey but if the company is picking up the tab, why not? Not the best for shopping / sightseeing though.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene3446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We had done a 11 day cycling trip around the South of Taiwan and stayed in 10 different 4 star hotels.This stay at the conclusion of the trip and on our tab was absolute luxury.As a golden circle member(well worth joining)I was given three free gifts at check in(you choose from a list ) Beer, chocolate and a bowl of fruit and breakfast was thrown in as well.The Buffet is superb for breakfast lunch and dinner.Friday night and Saturday morning are locals days and Friday night in particular the people are three deep at the buffet.The staff handle it with ease and the food never runs out,it just means it was very freshly cooked.Super friendly and courteous staff, always saying hello and offering a latte or Mocha whatever my coffee of the day was.The swimming pool/hot tub on the roof was superb also and even on a wintery day the heated pool and tub were great.Expect to be there with very few other people as I was on my own or with one other person doing laps the few times I was up there.
My son and I went to the Shanghainese Restaurant one night and the food and service also was very very good.
I frequented the gym every day to try minimize the effects of the buffets and the staff are very accomodating and wipe the machines down after each persons use.The Quality of machines is very high and there is a large room dedicated to stretching etc.
I found the cost of the laundry a bit offensive so just used the body wash in the room to wash my sweaty gym clothes every day.I thought $10 to wash a $6 gym shirt a bit ridiculous, there is a retractable clothes line over the bath.It is a very generous bathroom with a seperate large shower stall, separate bath and relatively uncomplicated taps. It was tiled in a blood red marble .I read some reviews that call the rooms/furniture dated.To me they are a classical style room that never dates and it is classy and super comfortable
My son who also found the laundry costs high googled a downtown laundromat and downloaded the map on to his tablet to show the non english speaking taxi driver where to go
Check in and check out was a breeze and having a coffee and club sandwich in the lobby was a delight with a live pianist.
All in all a delightful hotel with very very good staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindsay56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews