We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Padre Burgos Castle Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Padre Burgos
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed here for a week over New Year/ January. Everyone at Padre Burgos Castle made us feel very welcome. The food was amazing (thanks Delia!) and always overcatered to what we could eat! The location is just stunning - at the end of the peninsual, with it's own private beach - unfortunately when we were there, it was a bit rainy and the water wasn't very clean with some lice as well. However the Castle has a pool which is nice and clean :)
The girls at the Castle really made our stay - Chris and Diana were so friendly, helpful and fun!

There are a range of services that the Castle can arrange for you - massages, day trips around Leyte, kayaking, but the best trip is the private Whale Shark expedition. We braved the elements to travel across Sogod bay (1.5 hours) on a little outrigger, met up with our spotters and managed to find 4 whale sharks to swim with! And on that day, we were the only ones out there - magical! We were cooked up a lovely beachside lunch, then headed over to Limsawa Island for a quick tour and snorkel to finish the day off. A highly recommended tour!

The hotel is very small, with about 5 rooms, so is very intimate. It's quite pricy for the Philippines, with a fair price hike added on to every service offered, but they're aiming at the 5 star upper class market. While it is a stunning location and place to stay, it feels somewhat out of place in the region (which has pretty much no tourists at all - mainly divers).

If you're looking for a place to relax on the beach, kayak and snorkel (particularly with whale sharks!) with family or a group of friends then this is the place for you. If you're a diver, I would suggest staying at a dive shop, as we didn't have enough time to enjoy the facilities at the Castle.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tower room - it was nice, with a view from the toilet over to the water, however it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sydneysummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philfan_10, Owner at Padre Burgos Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback, and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
For divers we work very closely with 1 of the local dive shops, providing daily free return transportation (10 minutes each way). The programme of 2 morning dives, returning to base and then 1 afternoon dive allows guests to make their choice on a day to day basis as to how much diving they wish to do and how much time they wish to spend using our resort facilities such as catamaran sailing, kayaking, relaxing at the stunning private beach or in the freshwater swimming pool. Guests doing night dives are always able to enjoy our superb 4 course dinners which will be served upon their return to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

7 of us, my girlfriend, her family and myself spent 3 days in this distant Paradise.
Getting there is pretty easy; going by Jeepney and tricycle (taxi if you come from Tacloban). Most people in the area knows the place so its not a hassle to find even though its located away from any cities and villages.

Its a great place to relax as its very quiet with an amazing view over the ocean and surrounding islands.

The place has a private little beach which is less than a stone-throw away; just down a few stairs. The beach itself is rather rocky, but there are sunbeds and a pavillion so thats not an issue. The water is warm and crystal clear and absolutely irresistable.

Cozy and very clean rooms guarantees you a good nights sleep and restaurant/bar makes you feel right at home with its superb ambience. The food is cooked by the hostess herself, Delia, and that is no less than a great experience which you dont find many other places.

There are plenty of activities in the area; snorkeling, diving, trekking and shark-whale watching etc.

Hospitality and service by the owners and staff is flawless; they make sure your stay is better than expected. Good contact before and during our stay here, via email and SMS/text making sure things are prepared according to your wishes at any time - even when we were out we were contacted; asking us for any special preparation upon our return.

Thank you for a perfect stay - we will be back.

Room Tip: We had 3 rooms during our stay in different locations - they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TompSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

It was a long 3 hour car ride journey from the airport at Talcoban to reach the remote and southern most part of Leyte where Padre Burgos Castle Resort was tucked away. But that was all soon forgotten once we arrived at the quaint and cosy resort of 5 rooms managed by husband and wife: David and Delia.

My partner and I enjoyed the dining area the most, overlooking the swimming pool with a spectacular view of sogod bay. In the mornings, we could see the sunrise while savouring an English breakfast spread, and in the evenings, we enjoyed beautifully and carefully prepared homecooked meals by Delia under a blanket of stars.

It’s a great hideaway to unwind though relatively pricey as compared to the other surrounding accommodation and by Philippines standard. But ultimately, the hospitality and quality service by David, Delia and the team are second to none, and indeed made us feel like royalty.

We hope to be back soon~

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aree_Fooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My wife & I spent three nights at the Padre Burgos Castle Resort as part of our honeymoon in the Philippines. This may well be the most luxurious place on Leyte. For a young, non-wealthy couple it was a bit of a splurge to stay there, but we got a very good value for our money. Before and after we made our reservations, David & Delia patiently and thoroughly responded to all our questions by email.

The resort is outside the main town of Padre Burgos on the southern tip of the island. A very quiet, secluded area. There are only five rooms in the resort so it is not crowded or noisy. The private beach is well-tended and has a nice reef of its own where you can go snorkeling. If there is a strong wind the waves may be a bit rough for those who are not used to swimming in the ocean.

We went on the whale shark tour (accompanied by David) and saw two beautiful whale sharks, then had lunch and went snorkeling at nearby Limasawa Island. On another day, we took a long walk around the Padre Burgos area and went up through the woods to a scenic peak. We also spent time on the beach, in the pool, and watching movies.

The multi-course dinners at Padre Burgos Castle are delicious, and David & Delia come to each table to check on the guests and chat. Given the distance to town (and the lack of good restaurants there) we recommend that you choose half board (i.e. dinners included, instead of just breakfasts) when making a reservation.

A couple caveats: the weather can be quite variable so be prepared for the possibility of wind & rain. It was rainy for about half our stay (perhaps not unusual in late Jan./early Feb.). Before you arrive, get sufficient cash to settle your bill from an ATM in a major city; Padre Burgos Castle charges an additional fee for credit card payment.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

from a tourist who lives in manila and familiar with the various tourist destinations within the city and around the country...padre burgos castle resort is a gem in the tourism of southern leyte and in the philippines...offering a beautiful beach and seascape, luxurious amenities, diving tours, whale shark tours, island hopping and snorkling tours...thanks to the owners who made me feel at home with their warmth and care...it's definitely in my "must-visit again" list...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jobert_Philippines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Padre Burgos
4.6 km away
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
Sogod Bay Scuba Resort
#1 of 3 in Padre Burgos
144 reviews
0.0 km away
The Oriental Leyte
The Oriental Leyte
#1 of 1 in Palo
22 reviews
136.4 km away
Z Pad Residences
Z Pad Residences
#2 of 21 in Tacloban
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
137.3 km away
Ironwood Hotel
Ironwood Hotel
#1 of 21 in Tacloban
90 reviews
137.8 km away
Hotel XYZ
Hotel XYZ
#3 of 21 in Tacloban
175 reviews
4.7 km away
Peters Dive Resort
Peters Dive Resort
#2 of 3 in Padre Burgos
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre Burgos Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Burgos Castle Resort

Address: Tangkaan, Padre Burgos, Southern Leyte Province 6602, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Leyte Island > Southern Leyte Province > Padre Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Padre Burgos
Price Range: ₹ 4,626 - ₹ 5,668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic family-run boutique hotel and PADI dive resort, with luxurious facilities and a friendly and intimate atmosphere. Superb location with great private beach, beautiful corals and stunning sea views. All guest rooms beautifully furnished and decorated, with air-conditioning and en-suite bathrooms. Guided scuba diving, snorkeling, swimming with whale sharks, dolphin watching, island hopping, sailing, kayaking,swimming pool, private beach, free Wi-Fi, bar and fine-dining restaurant. Local activities include land tours, caving, waterfalls, wild monkeys and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Padre Burgos Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padre Burgos Castle Hotel Padre Burgos
Padre Burgos Castle Resort Southern Leyte Province, Leyte Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing