We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Famous & Yummylicious Unagi Don in Taipei”
Review of Hizen Ya

Hizen Ya
Ranked #63 of 2,723 Restaurants in Zhongshan District
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 22 July 2019

Unagi Don is their specialty, there is also side dishes which you can order like egg rolls, grill meat, squid and others. I would say this is also a place for tourist after all the review, remember to come as early as business start to avoid the queue. The Unagi rice has bones so please eat and chew slowly, and all others were nicely done and tasty. The prices is reasonable but some may feel expensive. Staff were busy serving and cleaning at the same time because the restaurant is not that big but all crew were friendly... it is a recommended restaurant if you are hunger for big eel. :)

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tyng911
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

This is a very famous grilled eel rice restaurant that long queue is always expected. The signature dish is very delicious - grilled eel, rice & the sauce. Miso soup that go with it is very hot & yummy. All side dishes are up to expectation such as grilled pacific saury, egg roll, pork skewers and mix vegetable. Its price is very reasonable & crowded and small place and table is fun & very much similar to what you experience in Japan. Surprisingly the service attitude is great. This is a good place to come often.
這是家很有名的鰻魚飯餐廳,通常都大排長龍,鰻魚飯很好吃~鰻魚、飯和醬汁,送的味噌湯很好喝也很燙,其他菜式都有水準,例如烤秋刀魚、蛋捲、豬肉串和青菜,價錢很合理,地方和桌子都很擠,但是很有趣,很像在日本,服務態度很好,可以常來。

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank ArthurWang095
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 May 2018

Unagi Don is their specialty but i felt it could be better. Big groups tend to get broken up and it's first come first served. Well staffed with well trained people though. Come early or late to avoid the crunch.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FBFranz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

This is a longstanding lunch & dinner spot in the Zhongshan District. We tried it for lunch one day right after noon. Luckily we got in
right away and occupied a 5 top.

The waitresses are brisk but not mean ( I speak Mandarin). The five of us share 2 large ell bentos, one small eel bento, 2 pork katsudon, assorted vegetables stir fry and a seaweed salad. Miso soup comes with the bento box. The unagi was an excellent value and we did not encounter bones. The katsudon was light on pork We felt it was a good value. We spent $39 US for the meal. Would go back.

Date of visit: May 2018
2  Thank alina12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 January 2018 via mobile

I was disappointed as the unagi did not meet my expectations. Flavour wise, it was good. However, the mushy texture combined with the many fish bones degrades it. The Fried oyster i ordered was not appetizing and i think it is frozen, then fried. However, there seems to be many locals enjoying it. Maybe it is just my friends and i who thinks that the unagi was bad.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank jarelx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Hizen Ya also viewed

 
Zhongshan District, Taipei
 

Been to Hizen Ya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.