We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stop for lunch”
Review of Amy's Cucina

Amy's Cucina
Ranked #17 of 173 Restaurants in Hengchun
Price range: US$ 2 - US$ 12
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Located in the center of Kenting on Main Street, Amy's Cucina, has been serving both locals and tourists alike exciting Italian fare for over 20 years. Amy's is the place where quality can be guaranteed time after time.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We came for late lunch and was happy to land at Amy’s.

We ordered spaghetti Bolognese, meat ball pasta with tomato sauce, vegetarian pasta with esparagus, and garlic. Their pasta were nicely done and the bolognese or tomato or pesto sauce were great. Add NTD120 to upgrade to set for salad and drink was a good choice also.

Thank Dora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neil m, Owner at Amy's Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

We are happy you landed in Amy's and had a good time.
The new set menu offer is a good choice looking for that little extra to go with a main course.
The meatballs are made fresh every day, not frozen and all our sauces are made from basic fresh ingredients.
Thank you for your review, enjoy your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Cosy restaurant to go for dinner with family, friends or date. Tasty Italian food, good service and they speak good English.
Bathrooms was clean and fresh. Can recommend the place if you’re going to the night market and want to have dinner and just sit and look out at all the people

Thank Esm81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neil m, Owner at Amy's Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for your review, Amy's is a cosy restaurant known for its friendly staff and being clean.
On busy weekends it is the place to eat good fresh food and people watch from the front veranda seating.
Very pleased you enjoyed your evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

We just spent 2 nights in Kenting and on the second night we ate at Amy's. We sat outside on the deck, which is a lovely place to have fresh air and to people watch. I had Spagetti with clams, and it was really tasty. My friend had a seafood pizza, and honestly, it didnt looked very good. We are both very easy going, and we dont like to complain, but she didnt finish her Pizza and was not happy at all about it.

Service was very friendly.
At first, we enjoyed the music (which strangely enough is mosly mexican, even tough the food is italian). Then the cocktail stand next door started playing music as well, and it got very loud snd very unpleasant.

Thank nathalieyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neil m, Owner at Amy's Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thanks for your review of Amy's, your correct, sitting on the deck outside watching the world go by while eating good food cant be bettered.
I apologise about the music from the street bar adjacent, the noise from the night club across the road is even louder, but little we can do about it but they normally operate later in the evening.
I'm glad you enjoyed the fresh clams with Spaghetti, I wish you had complained about the pizza as if not satisfied our friendly staff would have resolved the problem for you and your friend.
If you return to Kenting please contact me so I can personally make amends.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

A rustic and charming Italian cafe in Kenting. Great place to have light Italian fares or heavier lunch/dinner esp. on this day when it was raining and windy and being outside wasn't the greatest idea. Amy's became a cosy refuge from the weather; great selection of background music by Manhattan Jazz Quartet, combination pizza, a warm cup of coffee or mojito.

Thank neoboonleong32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neil m, Owner at Amy's Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear all weather cyclists.
All at Amy's are pleased you found a safe haven from the bad weather you experienced during your cycling tour.
You summed up what Amy's is all about, good atmosphere, warm surroundings, and food to suit any appetite.
Thank you for your review and we all hope the rest of your cycling tour is completed in dry conditions and you find similar places to take refugee if it rains again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

The worst experience I've had in a restaurant. First of all everything is pre packed frozen food heated up in a microwave. I had a Mexican pizza which had so much oil it was dripping off the slice I picked up. Cheese was like rubber and something black under it which was to be beef!!!. My girlfriend had ordered the seafood pasta which had chicken in it. Sounds like the chef knows what he's doing when he thinks chicken is seafood. So the service is not great and the price for what you get is extremely expensive...

1  Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
neil m, Owner at Amy's Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2017

Dear Reviewer
This is your first review on Trip Adviser and maybe the first time you have been to a restaurant other than some fast food establishment.
You visited Amys Cucina on the evening of the 17 th with three other friends and sat on the second floor, we keep good records of customers for times like this.
I can assure you that no food is prepacked or frozen and heated in the microwave, you are welcome to see the kitchen at any time..
The oil you saw dripping off the pizza is from the cheese, when the pizza arrived at your table it was hot, maybe you spent too long talking or taking pictures as that is what happens when the cheese goes cold. The black stuff is actually beef, in fact its Top Side, that has been baked with black pepper and spices.
So your girlfriend ordered seafood pasta, all the seafood is delivered daily, what your girl friend thought was chicken was in fact swordfish, if you don't know what a swordfish is, Goggle it.
It seems strange only you complained from your group, did you have a bad day.
As for expensive, we do have air conditioning , clean toilets, actually good service and a pleasant environment, unlike street market stalls.
Like others before you, you can make negative comments but actually I think you have other problems non food related, except you being a type of fruit.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amy's Cucina also viewed

Hengchun, Pingtung
Hengchun, Pingtung
 

Been to Amy's Cucina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing