We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 83
US$ 63
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 58
US$ 56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 79
US$ 70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
CU Hotel Taipei Branch(Datong)(Great Value!)
US$ 30
US$ 28
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Homey Hostel, Taipei Main Station(Datong)(Great Value!)
US$ 48
US$ 37
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$ 57
US$ 44
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$ 26
US$ 22
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Taipei City Home(Datong)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$ 44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 189
US$ 162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
484 results
Traveller rating
257
189
31
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
257
189
31
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmrt stationnight marketfamily martmagazines and newspapersthe hotel staffstreet marketthe breakfast areaspeak english wellwestern stylechinese new yearmin walkconvenience storepleasant staytaipeicomputerscarrefoursofa
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 484 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2015

My stay here was pleasant and enjoyable. Staff spoke and conversed in passable English. The included breakfast had a nice assortment of local and western choices. There was also a computer available in the library area of the dining room. Of note, and you should be mindful of this, is that the dining area is only accessible via a stairway and would prove troublesome for elderly and those with mobile challenges. Hotel is a five minute walk away from the metro station so it is convenient in that respect. Also it is about a ten minute walk from the nite market The hotel has low visibility from street level so if you go too fast you'll go right past it. Rooms are nice with a mini bar and complimentary water, tea and coffee. Nice touch. Would recommend and stay here again.

Stayed: February 2015
5  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2015

If you like vintage things or the traditional chinese stuff this is a wonderful place to stay in as it is just at the end of di hua street. There are lots of small hidden vintage shops and recently artsy hipster cafes around the area. Its neither the most luxurious stay nor very near a metro station, however, service is good.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Si Ru L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2015

The Dong Wu Hotel exceeded our expectations, the room was a decent size with a good sized bathroom with a shower over the bath. The bed and pillows were comfortable and housekeeping change the bed linen each day (unless you request otherwise). As others have mentioned the wifi internet is not reliable, one day of our stay it did not work for most of the day which is problematic when you are travelling and trying to book onward hotels and flights etc.

The hotel is located next to a 7/11 which is very convenient for purchasing necessities such as water and snacks. It is also a short walk to the MRT station which is convenient for sight seeing.

Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank SarahF818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2015

this is a really nice hotel, but dont book here if you need fast reliable internet.
apart from that, the hotel is in a good location, near an MRT and short walk to night market, the staff are helpful and friendly, the rooms spotless, credit to the room keeping staff, the breakfast is really nice with lots of choice, but if you want fast reliable internet then book somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015

I stayed here 28 May to 1 June after reading the good reviews from Tripadvisor and noting that the hotel was awarded a Certificate of Merit in 2013. So I had somewhat high expectations on arrival. I wasn't disappointed. Our flight was delayed so we didn't check in until nearly 11 p.m. after taking a 30 minute taxi ride from Taoyuan Airport. That's about 10 minutes faster than average. If our flight hadn't been delayed, I would have taken the bus to the city which would have taken about 50 minutes. In any case, the reception folks were friendly and speak English well enough. The positives for this hotel are: (1) Location. It's only a 5-7 minutes walk to the Daqiaotou MRT station on the Zhonghe-Xinlu/4 line. From there, it's within 5-20 minutes to most of the tourist attractions in the city. The Tamsui MRT station (Tamsui-Xinyi/2 line is about 35 minutes away. From there you can take a number of regular buses to Fisherman's Wharf about 15 minutes away. Get the day pass which includes MRT and buses. (2) Clean, large, comfortable rooms. We had an economy double room on the 8th floor. The interior is somewhat dated but there's plenty of space for your luggage and clothes. They're clean with plenty of amenities for a 3 star hotel - Large screen TV (CNN, some movie channels including HBO, 3 sports channels in Chinese including ESPN), safe, coffee/tea making options, tooth brushes, shampoo, bath gel, shaving razor, hair dryer, good shower. (3) Quiet. We didn't hear any noise from neighbouring rooms. Our room didn't face the street and was quiet. The sound proofing seems to be very good, so I expect street-facing rooms would also be quiet. (4) Computers (three) with Internet access in the breakfast area with colour printers (we printed our boarding passes for free). (5) Decent breakfast for a 3-star hotel. Mostly oriental options but with some Western offerings (e.g., cooked omelet, bacon, cornflakes), choice of fruit (e.g., water melon, pineapple, bananas). No yoghurt. They did vary the breakfast a little every day.

The only negative is the somewhat inconsistent wifi. I was able to get a reasonably good connection for 3 of the 4 days I was there (8th floor) with my smart phone and Kindle Fire. The signal was weak but functional. However, my partner who has an Ipad and Iphone was not able to connect.

There's only one elevator for the 11-storey hotel but we didn't experience any problems in this regard. That may be because the hotel wasn't fully booked. There're 8 rooms on our floor so there could be over 80 rooms total which may mean a potentially busy elevator at peak times.

On the whole, I like this hotel and would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable, no frills place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Lenn831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews