We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dong Wu Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 54
US$ 46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 89
US$ 72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 71
US$ 66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 78
US$ 65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
CU Hotel Taipei Branch(Datong)(Great Value!)
US$ 30
US$ 29
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 109
US$ 82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lealea 9ine Hotel(Datong)(Great Value!)
US$ 42
US$ 41
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$ 192
US$ 187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveller rating
256
186
31
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
256
186
31
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnight marketfamily martminute walkthe hotel staffstreet marketolder parthotel is locatedroom was spaciousthe breakfast areawestern stylechinese new yearstreet foodconvenience storenice breakfastpleasant staystationtaipei
Filter
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 480 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed here one night after staying for several days at the Tango Nanshi ( more expensive). No windows in room. Clean and the ethernet cable worked on my Mac so I didn't have to go to the dining room to get wi fi. Staff's English was sufficient. What I didn't like at all was that it was a bit far to the subway and even then I had to make a transfer to get on the main line to the main train/bus station. I don't know Taipei well, and the neighborhood seemed a bit sketchy. I would not stay here again if I could find an equally good hotel with better subway access.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window/view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Wolfgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

good and cheap place to stay during weekdays, and with online booking discount via their website. Rooms was ok but paying extra for window rooms aren't worth it. No good views unless u stay at the top. staff wasn't sure where to get a prepaid card, it was the only question I've asked. overall is a good hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kasosei2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The reason we chose Dongwu was its unbeatable price, NTD3360 for 4 including breakfast and free wifi. It had everything we expected, clean room, comfy bed, fully supplied toiletries, strong wifi signal, hot breakfast. Some complained about the cold breakfast. We think this is because of the strong aircon and they didn't have a heating device to keep the food warm. Otherwise we found the breakfast with sufficient variety and quality. There is miso soup, rice, congee, sausage, egg, bacon, chicken nugget, veggie, bread, coffee, tea. Sufficient for the price we paid for.

We also loved the Family Mart just downstairs round the corner, and the MRT just 7-8 mins walk away.

It rained on one of the days and hotel staff immediately rolled out a whole cart of umbrellas for hotel guests. We asked to borrow and thought we needed to leave our names or room numbers. But they just let us take the umbrellas without bothering any registrations.

Things to improve:
1. Hotel staff could help us to open hotel main door when they saw us struggling with our suitcases, especially there are a few a steps just outside the door.
2. Don't know why they always turn the aircon so strong. Whenever we returned to the room, we found the thermostat always set at 16 C. We increased to 25 C and found it back to 16 C the next day. Hotel needs to be more conscious of too low temperature they set.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 8 nights and were overall very happy with our stay.
We had booked a Business Double room through the hotel’s website for 2240 TWD, breakfast was included.
The room was spacious and very clean with a fridge, flat screen TV, safe and everything necessary for preparing a cup of tea/coffee. Every day they provided 2 small complimentary bottles of water. Free W-LAN-access was provided also in the room which was very handy.
We used the laundry service which was only 180 TWD for a whole bag of laundry and was finished the same day.
The breakfast was a buffet with Asian breakfast (changing slightly each day) but also with coffee, toast and jam. In the breakfast room, there were also 2 MAC-PCs with internet that could be used free of charge. It was also possible to make some print outs.
The staff was very friendly and always keen to help or give advice.
Right next to the hotel is a Family Mart, a small super market that is open until very late. The closest MRT-station is Daqiaotou which is only about 10 min. walking distance away.
We would definitively stay in this hotel again on our next trip to Taipei.

Room Tip: To have a window, choose the Business double or check the hotel's website. Not all rooms have a window
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Terence_Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights and by far the best hotel you can find in Taipei for such a little money !!! Absolutely great and nice staff and the rooms are perfect. You can t find a better place for this price

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank canineLord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews