We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 185
US$ 177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 39
US$ 26
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$ 61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 59
US$ 43
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 66
US$ 58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 67/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

CU Hotel Taipei Branch(Datong)(Great Value!)
US$ 29
US$ 27
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 54
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Homey Hostel, Taipei Main Station(Datong)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
257
190
31
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
257
190
31
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmrt stationnight marketfamily martmagazines and newspapersthe hotel staffstreet marketthe breakfast areaspeak english wellwestern stylechinese new yearmin walkconvenience storepleasant staytaipeicomputerscarrefoursofa
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I booked this hotel based on reviews here and location. It is just a couple blocks from the MRT and the front desk staff are awesome! It was our second trip to Taiwan and having a front desk staff who spoke english well was a blessing. We came in late 2am and there was a front desk clerk awake and waiting for us. Check in was really quick as well.

The room was an interior room, no windows. At first I was a little put off by that but having a dark room after a late flight was great. The room itself was very clean, comfortqble bed and pillows. Nice LG flat screen with decent cable channel selection. Well appointed room with fridge, hair drier, airpot for making tea and coffee. Bathroom was big with a tub, marble counters the bathroom and the bedroom. Small selection of softdrinks and beer in the fridge. The room also has a safe, and audio system with speakers built into the ceiling.

Down side? The reviews about the breakfast are accurate, we went down for the breakfast twice at 7am and the food was already cold. To me on a budget hotel like this the breakfast isnt a big deal. They have a nice coffee machine that brews from fresh ground beans by the cup. How ever eggs, ham etc were all room temp or lower.

If they address the breakfast issues this place would be stellar, but I would stay there again without hesitation. Shop around, you wont find a better deal with a location like this.

Last note, this hotel is clean! I am picky and look at stuff like the back of the tv, tops of pictures etc. This room was spotless. Even the hairdrier had no lint or dust built up. Their staff is top notch.

Room Tip: I would say try an interior room, no noise and stays dark great for sleeping.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lifesapinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I'll use again, when I go to Taipei next.

・nice breakfast
・free pc connecting internet
・front desk is so kind

- 
・nothing special but it takes 5 or more minutes from station.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pogie9824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Only planned to stay in Taipei for 3 nights but turned out to be 6 due to the unfavourable weather in the south. Second hotel out of 3 hotels stayed in Taipei during this trip. Was kind of sceptical when booked directly via their website and did not asked for a deposit or credit card details.

Location-wise, it is in the Datong district and slightly under 10 minutes walk to Daqiaotou MRT along the Xinzhuang / Luzhou lines (orange).

On the way to the hotel, cab driver mentioned it has been around for some 30 years or so; but renovated. The room size was more than adequate for the price (NTD1960) but comes without any window/view. It does not have the modern, trendy look as expected, but more importantly is clean and feels secure. Free Wi-Fi is standard as with most Taiwan hotels. Breakfast is included and in the basement coffeeshop. Standard local fare and some some western; satisfactory overall considering it is not in an international class chain hotel.

Did not disappoint. Would have no hesitation to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AWWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights, the service was fantastic. We were provided with Taipei train maps and the hotel map to ensure that we could navigate around Taipei without any difficulty. The train maps even had popular tourist attractions on it!

The hotel was a 5 minute walk away from the Taipei MRT, the only complain was that we had to change quite alot of trains to go to the various attractions around Taipei, but other than that the location was good! The hotel was also conveniently next to "Family Mart" (something like 7-11) where we could get drinks and food at anytime of the day.

We stayed in 1 room for our family of 3, the room was quite big and the pillows were soft and comfortable to sleep in. The toilets were also clean when we checked in. There were alot of TV channels to choose from so we were all entertained during our stay

Room service was excellent and the free wifi was also very fast. Breakfast was just average, the food was the same for the 3 days, just a few changes here and there during the 3 days we were there.

There were also 2 free iMacs to use during breakfast time which was unlike any other hotel i stayed in which allowed free usage of computers and internet.

Dong Wu hotel provided us with an excellent stay during our 3 day stay in Taipei and we would definitely come back again! :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank beat92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Choosen this hotel after reading many good reviews at Tripadvisor. Stayed at this hotel during Chinese New Year for few nights.

Overally, it was excellent hotel and probably one of the best hotels I have stayed so far.

Services - hotel staffs were helpful and friendly
Room - adequate, very very clean!
Price - reasonable, value for money with breakfast and wi-fi
Location - about 10mins walk from Daqiaotou Metro Station, convenience store is just next to the hotel.

The hotel is located near a temple, remember to go to the food market in front of temple for cheap and delicious local delight.

Will sure stay at this hotel for my next visit to Taipei

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joy2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews