We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic villa near lovely beach and good...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Brightside

Brightside is a spacious family villa with its own pool AND use of the facilities at Verandah Hotel
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brightside is a spacious family villa with its own pool AND use of the facilities at Verandah Hotel
Swimming pool and villa front of villa from garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Brightside is a spacious family villa with its own pool AND use of the facilities at Verandah Hotel
Swimming pool and villa
front of villa from garden
kitchen area
dining area
TV and lounge area
4 poster kingsize bed in master bedroom
Upstairs verandah outside master bedroom
Upstairs twin 'yellow' room
Downstairs double 'green' room
Downstairs twin
View overlooking pool with ocean in background
Candlelight dinner on verandah overlooking pool
pool waterfall and view to ocean
oleander in bloom (one of the many tropical plants in the garden)
Verandah resort water sports - free rental to villa guests
view of Long Bay Beach - 5 mins walk
beach huts at Long Bay
devils bridge - natural arch in conservation area 15 minutes walk
view of Lawries Bay from back of villa
view of ocean from side of pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Long Bay, Saint Philip Parish, Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic villa near lovely beach and good amenities.”
Reviewed 11 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Brightside was the perfect family location for my family on Antigua. The villa and its gardens were spacious well appointed and with amazing views of the sea from front and back. We so enjoyed having a lovely pool all to ourselves and we were able to self cater to our own needs drinking our sun downers and watching the sun set on the top veranda and then dining out on the beautiful lower pool side veranda in the day and evenings. During the daytime the kids immersed themselves into all the activities on offer over at the Veranda Hotel; swimming, playing tennis, 18 holes of crazy golf, table tennis, pool, table football and taking out kayaks and paddle boards on offer on both hotel beaches. We loved the public beach at Long Bay ( a short walk from the house) where we spent hours snorkelling and indulged in fresh fish lunches and pasta at the beach cafes. There was almost too much to do but we squeezed in a land and sea trip around the island which we highly recommend too. We will definitely go back to Brightside as it was a beautiful villa so well equipped and perfect for our family. This was an extremely memorable family holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2018
Thank you so much for this helpful and excellent review of Brightside. It is wonderful to hear that you so enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take advantage of all on offer in the immediate vicinity. The Verandah Hotel offers amazing facilities for a fun holiday for the children and combined with the privacy of Brightside and its own pool it sounds as though you were all well served and rested on your holiday. thank you again for taking the time to write this review. you will be welcome back as guests at any time when we shall be happy to offer you a discounted rate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebekah W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a week!!!”
Reviewed 23 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

What a week! We had the most amazing time in this super stylish, comfortable and gorgeous villa! Waking up with a view of the sea in the distance from the breath-taking master bedroom and then taking a dip in the swimming pool was a perfect way to start the day.

The villa is incredibly spacious, spotless and homey. It’s a perfect getaway for couples, group of friends or families.

From a practical perspective, the villa has been sensibly designed with each room having with plenty of space to unpack and store bags away, and is furnished with quality appliances throughout which would easily service large groups (examples include large oven and fridge with built in ice maker, very quick family sized washing machine and tumble dryer, TV and coffee machine (good for us!). There are air conditioning units and fans in every room, which were very effective. In fact, we found we rarely needed the air conditioning on as the fans were so good.

The master bedroom is really something special; running the full length of the house with vaulted ceiling the room is enormous and equipped with an extremely comfortable 4 poster bed, large ensuite and two walk in wardrobes. It has its own balcony which was a lovely space to sit with a book. The swimming pool was serviced regularly whilst we were there so always felt clean, and the trees and greenery offered privacy.

The location is pretty perfect with a huge resort hotel less than five minutes away for those lazy lunches or leisurely dinners (but it is out the way so as not to be disturbed by hotel guests, although you can hear music some times in the evening). As part of the Verandah estate you have (free) access to the facilities at the resort and can set up an account with the hotel reception to make use of restaurants, spa, shop and guest services very easy. I highly recommend their hot stone massage!

The Long Bay Beach is also a couple of minutes from the Villa and perfect for having a little sunbath in the afternoon sun. There’s some little gift shops and a nice local artist we bought a couple of paintings from along the beach, and it is possible to do some activities there too (the hotel guest services can arrange this).

The Villa owners have been absolutely brilliant from start to finish — very helpful and welcoming they went above and beyond to ensure we had everything we might need. They even arranged for a few groceries to be left in the fridge for us so we didn’t have to worry about food initially, and offered great suggestions for places to see (Shirley Heights!). They also gave us contact details for a taxi driver they trust, which was invaluable for exploring the island at a reasonable price.

Truly, we cannot recommend Brightside enough! We went as a couple, but we would love to return again in the future and maybe bring family or friends with us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2018
Dear Rebekah. thank you so much for your extremely helpful and full review. this will not only help us as owners but other potential guests reading this site and we appreciate the time you have taken to write this. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay and that you were able to enjoy so many of the facilities on offer as well as explore Antigua so extensively. I have since spoken to our friendly taxi driver host Javid and he was so complimentary about you both and so enjoyed showing you around. Thank you again and sending our very best wishes. Ian and Michele
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional villa, perfect location, fantastic holiday!”
Reviewed 14 January 2018 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Exceptional villa set in a peaceful location with wonderful views.
The villa is very spacious, spotlessly clean, comfortable and well designed. It is arranged over two floors with an incredible master suite which leads to a huge balcony, perfect for breakfast or a sundowner. The villa has a fantastic pool and large sunny garden.

The perfect location allowed us to use all the facilities at the Verandah Club. We were able to eat in the restaurants and self cater. The lovely beach of Long Bay is only a short walk away. It's very easy to hire a car from the resort to explore the rest of the island. We had an extremely enjoyable holiday and we will return again soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2018
thank you so much for such a helpful review of your stay at Brightside. your review is very much appreciated and we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay. you will be extremely welcome back again as guests in the future and please note that we do offer a discount to returning guests. Best wishes Ian and Michele Simpkin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy D
1 review
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 21 November 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had a wonderful stay at Brightside. It was such a peaceful setting and the views to the sea were stunning. The villa was so well equipped and the pool was a perfect temperature and so relaxing.
The nearby beaches at Long Bay and the Verandah resort were beautiful and convenient. We hired a car to see the rest of the island.
We would definitely stay at Brightside again in the near future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2017
thank you so much for your review. we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Brightside and in Antigua. we look forward to welcoming you again in the very near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDB0810
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderfully restful location”
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A week at Brightside was sufficient to recharge and refresh. A lovely comfortable villa in NE of the island. The villa is spacious and well equipped. Nice walks from the villa and access to Verandha Resort for beach activities was great. The pool made a great place to relax when coming home from days out. We especially liked the wide verandas to chill with an evening g&t watching the tropical birds, or sitting in the morning shade with a book. Brightside was a great place to stay on a wonderful, friendly island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2017
Thank you so much for your review of your stay at Brightside and Antigua. We are so pleased you had a wonderful stay and that you loved our villa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing