We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (908)
Filter reviews
908 results
Traveller rating
569
251
52
17
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
569
251
52
17
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar costa rica happy hour dark sand standard room grounds are beautiful travel agent breakfast was included small resort wet bar bedroom suite lounge chairs the entire staff night life great restaurant low key pura vida
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 908 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at this charming hotel for the last half of our honeymoon and it was wonderful! The room we had was more modern and clean. The beds are pretty firm, which I like. It's beachfront and also has an awesome pool and swim up bar. Jay at the bar and Jose in the restaurant gave us great conversation and suggestions on where to explore in the area. They were so helpful! Also, there was a miscommunication with our order at the restaurant one night by a different server. Ronald came up to us the next day and asked us about the miscommunication with the other server forgetting our appetizers and Ronald made it right! Great service!! Also, if you need a taxi or suggestions on where to eat, Diego at the front desk was so helpful! We were here during the "rainy" season but the weather was beautiful and we had the hotel mostly to ourselves. This is the best hotel in the area!! Can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Modern King Suite
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

This hotel gives you a fancy resort feel without the cost. By far the nicest hotel on the beach for miles. The staff was very helpful and welcoming. The only bad thing was that the beds could have been more comfortable.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank rbrunton85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

The place is beautiful, the weather is typically perfect, the food is great, and the rooms are comfortable. This is a great place if you're looking for somewhere relaxing, where you don't have to put in much effort, but that isn't super commercialized in a way that makes you feel like you could be anywhere in the world having the same experience. That said, what really stood out was the overall atmosphere of welcome and fun. The staff are very attentive and constantly in a good mood, which is infectious. I cannot say enough about two of the waiters/bartenders - Andy and Jose. They were incredibly polite, engaging, and attentive, and they made our stay twice as enjoyable. Give these two a promotion - all of the guests absolutely love them!

Room Tip: King sun suite is well worth it - you can directly see the ocean and relax in your own hammock or private outdoor jacuzzi.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Remington P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

We Stayed at Bahia del Sol after touring many different areas of Costa Rica. It was meant to be the “relaxing” part of the trip, “do nothing”, “chill out”...and it didn’t disappoint! What a view from the beachfront- open ocean, forested cliffs and the most amazing sunsets I’ve ever witnessed. Great pool area, jacuzzi and swim-up bar, lawned gardens and sizeable palapa for 8:30am yoga sessions- which are well worth trying. (Thank you Colleen & Michelle)
Good choice for breakfast options. We also ate at the restaurant 1 evening with prices being reasonable, food nicely presented but mains could have more sides to accompany each dish. Rooms are comfortable, clean & spacious with TV & fast wi-fi.
Walking left out the beachfront- try the sailing club (2mins walk), The Beach House restaurant & bar (20mins walk) or Soda El Estero Azul (25mins walk- just past the rocks!) for nice meal alternatives. Walking right (25mins walk) takes you to Las Brisas bar & restaurant but we only had a drink here, can’t comment on the food. There’s also a supermarket 5mins from the hotel.
Overall, amazing location makes for a great hotel!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank louise s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

This hotel was the perfect place to relax for 4 nights after a very busy few days touring Costa Rica! We had 2 standard rooms which were modern, clean and quietly located at the far end of a boardwalk path at the back of the main hotel, with neatly tended flowerbeds each side. Although I have to say the shower in room 116 was a bit disappointing! Looks great but was a little bit like washing in drizzle! Room 117's was much better.

We enjoyed several delicious lunches from the snack menu, all reasonably priced with generous portions plus two evening meals. We all preferred the lunch menu, but the staff were happy to allow the snack menu in the evening too, which our two children appreciated. The restaurant team were all great. Pablo in particular was superb. His warmth of welcome and kindness was greatly appreciated. He's a massive asset to the hotel and turned our stay from great to excellent. Thank you so much!

The garden area had plenty of very comfortable sunbeds (with plenty of towel reserving at breakfast time too unfortunately, but I guess that's the way things go at so many hotels) and the beach itself was vast and largely empty! Such a beach in the UK would be packed, so it was a wonderful treat to have it almost to ourselves and we walked the full length to the small bar/restaurant at the far end one morning watching the locals stand with their nets in the sea fishing, closely observed by Brown Pelicans and Ibis!

Oh and as for the sunsets and happy hour combination - just heaven!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CornishSpacepirates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews