We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature at its best.”
Review of Casa Deep Woods

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Deep Woods
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Masinagudi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We needed to get away from the chaos of city for a while so this just seemed like the place to be .The atmosphere at Casa Deep Woods was calm and serene. As the Resort is located amidst the forest the surrounding has been fabulous and exciting.Our room was nice and clean and just in front of stream.The stream surrounding the cottage gave a very soothing effect and the kids simply loved it.The staff was nice.There were some fun activities for families in the evening like Tambola ,Karaoke, bon fire etc, tried Karaoke for the first time and it was real fun.There are arrangements for indoor and outdoor games as well.They provide other facilities like Trekking , fishing which we did not avail. In the nearby areas we were able to spot some bison ,deer, elephants etc.Although we enjoyed every bit of our stay the only and main drawback was` FOOD` the price and quality they offer is not acceptable. (during the three meals we had in a day only breakfast was okay).
If you go with kids do remember to carry some food items.
Good place to make some new friends.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the stream.In the morning the view is just breathtaking.You `ll enjoy every bit o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NatureDiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 304 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2011

This is a nice resort and very close to Madumalai and Masinagudi, good for safaris and trekking. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Well maintained and clean, good food, nice facilities. Rooms were priced reasonably viz-a-viz value.

We bought our rooms through makemytrip. The dinner was extra - about 50% on top of the room charge, which was a but of a surprise. While the food was good, it was not value and we had dinner elsewhere the next night.

We wanted to do an early morning forest trek, and the hotel staff said this was not possible because of monsoon season. In Masinagudi we found guides that provided forest treks despite monsoon. So don't rely on hotel staff for your excursions!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Okaapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This resort was great at welcoming and Rooms quieter place. The location and weather is a steal-er and you need to choose cottages near stream and with open baths. The rooms are cosy and quiet. With no TV you get to know nature and ur partner more (Recommended for weekend breakaway from city). We took Fishing activity which is good for first times (Rs 100 per head)done in a country style at not so good place on the banks of river. Food is great lunch and breakfast. The selection is south indian but tastes are good. However they take 700/- for lunch and dinner and 1100/- for a private bar-b-q near ur cottage.(per person) I find food prices exorbitant and there is no other option , as this is inside the deep forests. However we avoided dinner as it was not so exclusive and we carried lots of fruits and some snacks with us in the car. :) On the downside:- There was a promise of evening activities like bon-fire, table and Tambola. But none happened because they claimed that it is raining. but there were no rains at all. Tambola was declined due to fewer acceptance of house guests. There is nothing else to do in the evening. Insider Trip:- Don't go for Night/Eve safari. There is nothing exclusive about it. its the same road of Mudumalai forest and you can't photograph wild animals (if any). secondly the animal which are seen are Elephants and Gaur (Which are too common and elephants are from the training camp nearby). Take some entertainment with you like board games or something for the night. Its a good place for bird photography. You need to be quick and having a good zoom can help a lot. Overall - A nice quaint and serene place. <Recommended> check some clicks :- http://www.flickr.com/photos/saish746/sets/72157627320036058/with/5978471920/

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank saish746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We wanted to have holiday between deep forest and yet not god foresaken place and this place is just ideal for this and i must say that we shall come here again and again in search of a relaxing break ( with or without tiger sighting )

something which is worth appreciating in this place is the quality of staff , simply superb , tehy deserve all aaccolades

food for this kind of place is also good and planned in a right manner , activity room is another interesting aspect of this resort

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sanjay_bhandari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

One of the best resorts to stay in masinagudi
we usually travel very frequently to ooty and usually prefer staying in masinagudi coz of the weather and the natural experience
we love the wildlife
this place is very very well made spacious and comfortable
the rooms are large open and very comfortable
the toilets are really well made with an open air shower makes you feel as though you having a shower in the open jungles
the ambience's of the coffee shop and restaurant is simply superb, food is also very very good
they organise a nice small bbq for all the guests and also for couples they have a private bbq with dinner
whr they have a chef only making bbq for the couple in a very sweet highligted corner
overall the place is a must stay for anyone travellin to masinagudi

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kkunal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masinagudi
0.7 km away
Jungle Hut
Jungle Hut
#2 of 10 in Masinagudi
578 reviews
3.1 km away
Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House
4.1 km away
Safari Land Farm & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
The Serai Bandipur
The Serai Bandipur
#1 of 4 in Bandipur
313 reviews
3.8 km away
The Nest Inn
The Nest Inn
#7 of 10 in Masinagudi
118 reviews
1.2 km away
De Rock Jungle Living
De Rock Jungle Living
#8 of 10 in Masinagudi
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Deep Woods? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Deep Woods

Address: Bokkapuram Village, Masinagudi 643223, India (Formerly Club Mahindra Masinagudi)
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > The Nilgiris District > Masinagudi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Masinagudi
Price Range: ₹ 4,906 - ₹ 16,074 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Deep Woods 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Masinagudi, Casa Deep Woods welcomes you to bask right under the shade of the Nilgiri Mountains. As the name promises, wilderness is home here. If you are looking for a back to nature break, you can often see elephants & deer snack on the bamboo shoots by your cottage space. Or open up to nature's playlist as 300 species of birds come calling, right here. We have a BIRD HIDE built specially for keen birders. If its serious jungle action you prefer, there's a jeep/van safari in Bandipur & Mudumalai Tiger Reserve nearby. You could try a well-designed wellness module in the land of refreshing deep breaths. Dr. Shiela Nambiar, the very well-known Fitness & Lifestyle Consultant & Yogadarshanam, Mysore's reputed Yoga Institute have come together here to make Casa Deep Woods an eco-spa. Tailored for the bone-tired in the city to take small steps or advanced leaps towards treasuring our own health, one especially for women. If you prefer to just unwind by the picturesque - choose a stream or our swimming pool, a picnic by a river, an amble along a nature trail or relaxing under an immense tree with a book. Or a game of badminton/wild film with your kids who are very welcome here. (By the way, have they ever got a chance to see an elephant being fed?). We can also throw in a bonfire by the stream and grill-a-chicken-on-coals. Wi-Fi in the lobby, with a sense of the secluded all around the vast open Casa Deep Woods. A balm for the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Yatra, MakeMyTrip, ClearTrip, Hotels.com, Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Casa Deep Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zest Casa Deep Woods Hotel Masinagudi
Casa Deep Woods Masinagudi, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing