We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good Place for a bachelors party, Stay away if you are traveling with family” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glen View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glen View Resort
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Masinagudi
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Place for a bachelors party, Stay away if you are traveling with family”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

We went to Glenview with great expectations since we saw some decent reviews on trip advisor and some great photos on their websites. The experience was no where near the presentation.

The place is quite far from the main road and is surrounded by not lush but dense forest. The rooms were very basic, just enough for two people. The beds and bed sheets were not clean and the chairs given in the room kept us on the edge by threatening to break at any point of time. Expect no frills at the toilets. No soap, no towel, we were lucky that we carried it since we reached the place late evening and the near by shop is at least 5 kms away (If not more).

The bath rooms were also very basic and was about to break down if handled with some force. Not to mention the crawlies and insects which infested the place. Can't blame the owners for this but insects kept disturbing us through out the night.

The one highlight of the place was the food. It was not very expensive but it was yummy. The preparation is mainly south Indian and there are no other choices available. But everything right from the morning coffee to dinner has a touch of great cook.

Though we were turned off by the ambience, lack of cleanness, nice rooms and bath rooms, the staff were very friendly and helpful. They were quick to provide the service, though there was no telephone connection between the rooms and we had to go to the office room to make orders.

There was a nice place for camp fire and barbecue which we enjoyed.

To sum it up all, there was nothing to write home about the resort. We were quite disappointed since all of us have been to jungle resorts before. The entire ambience was dark and little sad. This place is ideal for a bachelor party or for an all boys trip. Do not come here to relax and have nice get away. Also not recommended if you are traveling with family.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Niktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    44
    9
    11
    19
See reviews for
41
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

We stayed at Glen view for one day-night and it was a day well spent.

Tucked away at the foothills, almost towards the end of Masinagudi, away from the noise and din of city life, it was a peaceful place to stay amidst bamboo trees. Sprawled in a large area with adequate distance/privacy between cottages, Glen View is themed of bamboo, with rooms lined (on the inside and outside) with bamboo, a beautiful rustic restaurant with wood and bamboo decor, and neatly paved walkways.

The food was awesome and service prompt and courteous. A night safari was arranged for us, the manager even talked to two other couples staying in the resort and persuaded them so that we could share the bill. Though we could barely see any animals in the safari, if you count a herd of deer and a couple of buffaloes as animals, the drive into the forest was fun.

We stayed at the only Bamboo Tree House which was perched atop a bunch of bamboo trees with a neat and clean bathroom. The size of the room was a bit small, but one cannot ask for more at that height. The interiors were very well done with bamboo and the bed was comfortable. The only minus was that we ran out of water in the bathroom twice. The caretakers promptly refilled the overhead tanks and explained that being on a height, and the supply arranged so that water runs out in the tree house if the overhead tank's level falls below a certain depth. However, this little nuance did not bother us.

One thing they should perhaps look into is the sign boards providing directions to Glen View. We saw a direction board on the Ooty road showcasing at least half a dozen resorts but Glen View did not find a mention there. We ignored it believing we'd find another board further. Sadly, we didn't for the next 10 kilometers and had to finally return back, follow directions to other resorts, and ask them for Glen view.

Overall, a very peaceful and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank s_ashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

Thanks to Tripadvisor, I came to know of this place. Wonderfully designed place.. the look and feel of the stone hut was so new. The place is surrounded by bamboo forest, apt for a session of ghost stories in the sit-out just outside the huts.. not recommended for the weak-hearted.
They arrange for safaris. We stayed there for only one night and had a tight schedule, so only opted for the night safari. The journey through the forest in a jeep was nice, we could see the moon rise and the night forest was mesmerizing. But we had terrible luck spotting animals. We could only see a few deers and a rabbit :(
The only drawback I would say was the food. .. not worth the money at all (300 bucks for dinner, 150 bucks for Bfast) It was a very basic buffet, home made style, too spicy for my taste.
I would definitely recommend this place and go back myself.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank EternalBohemian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

Wonderful place to relax and do nothing, since its a small plot there is limited activities. I was there during new years so service was just ok, apart from the small problem of water heaters not working properly.
Over all, wonderful get away for 2-3 days.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bipinramesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANGALORE
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

The Glen View resort is one of the last ones more deep into the jungle. All resorts please make note are on the same road allotted by the state government however much they claim on internet to be different. The only one away from all this in the Masinagudi area is the Forest Department Guest houses which are about 5 kms away in Bokkapuram.
The place has a very rustic touch with tree houses , mud huts etc and definitely a place ideally suited for people who are open for a proper roughing it out holiday with comforts thrown in considered as a luxury . It is advisable for persons going there to head to Bokkapuram for the Safari rather than spend money on the resorts own safari as I learnt from other guests during interaction that access to jungle areas was limited by their groups .
The resort is managed by a resident manager who also takes you for treks into the jungle and a small spring which is not clean so I would suggest to avoid. The price for the package stay on the whole works out quite reasonable but the break up for stay and food makes you look cheated as you definitely do not want to pay Rs 300 for a Buffet dinner with a few basic items and the food from a flavor and variety perspective was below average .You have no option as you are forced to eat in the premises as going out to nearby town is a not so safe an option.
The place has a very rustic touch with tree houses , mud huts etc and definitely a place ideally suited for people who are open for a proper roughing it out holiday with comforts thrown in as a luxury . It is advisable for persons going there to head to Bokkapuram for the Safari rather than spend money on the resorts own safari as I learnt from other guests during interaction that access to jungle areas was by this team was limited area i.e. not worth the money spent.
The Resort arranges campfires and we did have a good time joining a group who had organized this with the resort. Overall a pleasant stay with more of forest, rustic touches to it than all the ones I had seen on my drive to reach this place. However as Glen View is located in the last part of the road among other resorts you will have to keep an eye open for locating it .
The visit of mine was poorly planned I suppose as it was in late February and it was quite warm and vegetation was not all green. Animals I could spot along the drive and later in the State run safari was just Deer, Peacock, Langurs ....not even an elephant. I did spot a group of bison though, that was well before I reached Masinagudi or Bokkapuram.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SUREJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masinagudi
1.1 km away
Casa Deep Woods
Casa Deep Woods
#4 of 10 in Masinagudi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
3.6 km away
Bamboo Banks Farm Guest House
12.0 km away
The Serai Bandipur
The Serai Bandipur
#1 of 2 in Bandipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Jungle Retreat
Jungle Retreat
#1 of 28 in Masinagudi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.7 km away
De Rock Jungle Living
De Rock Jungle Living
#9 of 10 in Masinagudi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
3.2 km away
Jungle Trailz
Jungle Trailz
#2 of 17 in Masinagudi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen View Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen View Resort

Property: Glen View Resort
Address: Bokkapuram | Glen View Road, Masinagudi 643223, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Masinagudi
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Masinagudi
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,124 - ₹ 8,065
Hotel Class:2 star — Glen View Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foot hills of the Nilgiris (also referred to as Blue Mountains) lies Bokkapuram, a picturesque village known for its immense beauty and serenity. Abode to the Goddess of the mudumalai jungle, it carries her temple which is celebrated just once a year.A short stretch into the woods should ideally lead into the silent jungle. But that is not the case, because hidden in the dark and silent canopy of bamboos and towering trees lies a resort which has merged itself into the beautiful landscape. Its inhabitants are enthralled by its distinguished wild visitors which includes the Gigantic Asian Elephants, the awesome bison’s, the majestic tigers, the skilled cheetah and the all so beautiful birds which hover around in different colours and sizes. Glen View Resort has earned itself the reputation of ‘THE’ ideal getaway for those who seek the best of the unblemished Wild.Glen View provides the opportunity of living in the lap of nature. The cottages, built out of contemporary mud and stone interiors provides you a luxurious blend of comfort and exotic natural ambience which makes your dream vacation a reality. So, comeon, take that vacation you have kept aside for so long and visit us. We promise the vacation of your life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelGuru, Agoda and ClearTrip so you can book your Glen View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen View Resort Hotel Masinagudi
Glen View Resort Masinagudi, Tamil Nadu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing