We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Haven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Andara Resort and Villas
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
130 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Tropical Haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

“An absolutely gorgeous place! We stayed in one of the villas, which we highly recommend — we had a private chef who would whip up anything we liked, our own private infinity pool as well as enough room for the kids. The villas are fabulous. We had everything we needed right there but didn’t let that stop us from visiting the private beach club and eating at Silk Restaurant, the absolute best Thai food around. ”

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Consigliera-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you very much for your most positive comments; we truly appreciate to know and hear that your stay was everything and more you could have wanted for. We very much look forward to your return visit. Best regards, Daniel Meury, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    54
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
214
182
16
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

LIfe is short, and it's worth spending the extra $ on this resort in Phuket. We also stayed at the Amanpuri during this trip, (which has impeccable service), and we felt the service at Andara was very comparable. We stayed in block 4 in the penthouse, (based on recommendations from reviews on tripadvisor). It was a great choice for the location - close to restaurant, spa etc. Beautiful view. We felt we were in a good spot. Our Villa was gorgeous...actually, literally breathtaking when we entered the room. We loved the design and sophistication of the Thai accents chosen. I'm a fussy traveler, and usually quick to identify flaws...but I really can't find anything I would improve on. The service was excellent. We were there on April 11th, the day of a Tsunami scare...and we felt very protected and safe. We were on our way to the Beach in the hotel vehicle, when an earthquake had just happened and word was just out about a Tsunami possibly coming. The staff (one female employee in particular...I wish I had her name) was pro-active in getting us immediately to high ground with the utmost professionalism, and in a very caring and calm manner. Overall - we sensed the team at Andara was a sophisticated group and we felt well taken care of for our 2 day getaway. Will definately return.

Room Tip: Block 4 penthouse was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
We appreciate greatly your comments regarding your Andara stay. Yes certainly the Tsunami warning took us all by surprise, but I am pleased to know our guests safety were of the utmost important, and everything was handled extremely well by all staff concerned. We do hope we will have the pleasure of you company again. Best regards, Daniel Meury, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hongkong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed at the Andara last week (April 2012), and would encourage anyone wanting some pampering in luxurious surroundings!
From the greeting with cold towels and refreshing cool drinks to being blown away by the beautiful Pool Villa ( we had booked 412 on the basis of a Trip Advisor review and the villa and view exceeded our expectations), to the always friendly and very professional staff constantly offering a warm heart felt smiley greeting, we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Andara.
We have traveled extensively around Asia and have not found the level of service we experienced here.
The food at Silk was awesome, we had planned to spread the dining experience around a few restaurants as we had a car, but decided to keep going back to Silk due to the excellent food and service.
The Beach club is a very short walk away and we found the concierge was always ready to take you down to the beach in the open car any time we wanted to. Once at the beach, people watch in envy as the Andara chaps prepare a huge lounge/bed on the beach with large pillows towels and a chilly bin with ice cold water. Fantastic!
We would highly recommend a stay at Andara, villa 412 pool suite has a beaut view across the bay and down to the beach and is very close to reception.
It is a pricey vacation, but you absolutely are getting the best of everything here so if you only do it once it's fantastic.

Room Tip: Go for 412 pool suite, great view and close to reception. Although I think any of the units would of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
We thank you for your comments and feedback, and are so pleased to hear that your Andara stay was an unforgetable experience, from the beach lounge, to SILK restaurant and beyond, we are glad to know Andara was part of your holiday choice. We do hope you will visit with us again. Best regards, Daniel Meury, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We spent one week in 5 bedroom villa with my family: my husband and his 3 daughters with their spouses. The villa was amazing.... there was a lot of space and privacy to everyone, nice decor and everything was very clean and stylish. Facilities can easily be rated to be 5 star facilities. All the staff was professional, nice and they really gave a feeling their first priority is to ensure their customers are in good hands and happy! We really do not have nothing to complain.

I had my 50-year anniversary party in the villa - we had a cheaf making enormously tasty barbeque for us. I could not wish to have anything more - it was amazing.

Me and my husband have visited in many 5 start residencies - and we can truly recomment Andara villas to to be the one of the most highly rated ones!

Everything was perfect - during the whole vacation. Could not expect it been any better anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJN578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for you comments and feedback. We are extremely pleased to hear that your 50th birthday celebrations went very well, and glad to know that Andara was part of this and helped to make it what you wanted and more. We very much hope you will visit us again soon. Best regards, Daniel Meury, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stayed in a penthouse pool suite, with roof top pool. Rooms very spacious, hardware and finisihing of the highest quality. Well maintained and clean. No complaints here. I would recommend to stay either in the Villas (if large group) or the penthouse pool suites. The other suites lack a view and seem rather dark/not very private due to proximity to the common areas/walkways.

The biggest compliment goes to Silk Resturant. Superb. I would say its the best Thai food I have had anywhere counting top restaurants in Bangkok. Service was very good. Eating there was a highlight of each day. And on top, the prices were very reasonable. Worth coming back for the food alone.

However the general service levels at the resort is immature. Staff were friendly and sincere, but the general processes, supervision and efficiency needs improvement. Eg, housekeeping was rather slow, rubbish that other 'considerate' guests had left outside their room adjoining ours took a long time to be collected, checkout contained various billing mistakes, etc etc. The Spa was not that good, esp compared with other top tier spa/resorts.

One significant complaint was the use of out-sourced Vans to/from Airport. The resort charges a very expensive fee for this (over 100 USD one way) which is very expensive by local standards (and compared to other 5 star hotels). Yet they use local hire vans which one can prob hire for 1/4 the price if not less. They not punctual, no seatbelts on some, not particularly friendly drivers, no refreshments etc. Not a great first impression on arrival at the airport. Surely a hotel pickup from this level of resort at this price should be with in-house cars/drivers (eg like Banyan Tree).

Overall it was a very good trip but the service improvements would make it even more distinctive.

Room Tip: Top floor for the suites are worth it as more airy and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NGG-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you kindly for your feedback regarding your April stay. We have noted the areas requiring improvement, and will certainly aim to ensure the necessary head of departments are briefed to ensure only the best service or options are what is delivered to our guests (from spa, to transportation). On a positive note we are thrilled to hear your comments for SILK restaurant. We do hope we get the opportunity to see you visit us again. Best regards, Daniel Meury, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
3.2 km away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
16.6 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
23.1 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 95 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
7.1 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,196 reviews
16.5 km away
The Shore at Katathani
The Shore at Katathani
#1 of 56 in Kata Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andara Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andara Resort and Villas

Property: Andara Resort and Villas
Address: 15 Moo 6 | Kamala Beach, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#1 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#1 Family Hotel in Kamala
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
Price range (per night): ₹ 25,684 - ₹ 99,782
Hotel Class:5 star — Andara Resort and Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andara is an ultra-deluxe villa and residences resort at Kamala Beach (Phuket) set on a hill rising gentle from the Andaman Sea offering stunning ocean views. Minutes away are Phuket’s best restaurants, boutiques, world-class golf resorts and other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Andara Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andara Resort And Villas Hotel Kamala
Andara Resort And Villas Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing