We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overall great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Andara Resort and Villas
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“overall great experience”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

we stayed at the andara for 5 days for our honeymoon and found it to be overall a nice experience.

Pros:
-pool suites are spacious, private pool is great and clean and rooms are clean with comfortable beds
-service was always great, most of the staff can speak decent English
-amazing spa, we had the best massages here
-provide ample bottled water for drinking and brushing teeth
-free wifi that was fast
-great daily breakfast
-Silk restaurant was delicious for Thai
-room service menu had tons of options

Cons:
-location was not great - Kamala is close enough to Surin and about 20 mins from Patong but Kamala beach itself wasn't that nice
-the local town in Kamala was also lacking in things to see and it is a bit of a walk to get there to begin with (but they have a free shuttle)
-the hotel was almost completely empty which was peaceful but made it a little boring
-a lot of mosquitoes in our suite and on the property but hard to avoid anywhere in Phuket (they provide bug spray though)

if we went i think we would stay in Kata which seems to have nicer beaches and more local attractions but if you're looking for something quiet and exclusive, the Andara is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank karen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
We appreciate your comments greatly. Our aim is to continue improving areas that are less then satisfactory (from excess mosquitoes, to adding a little more noise/colour during lower occupancy). Our beach lounge on Kamala beach is a nice little reprieve (located at the Northern end of Kamala it is certainly nicer then the early/mid part of the beach; we do hope you managed to visit it?!) We do hope you will consider visiting ou resort again, and look forward to sharing further Andara experiences. Best regards, Daniel Meury, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    54
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
218
186
17
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed for 6 nights during March (2 adults and 3 children) in a 2 bedrooms pool suite. The ocean view from suite 412 is fantastic. The suite itself is huge and well equipped. Block 4 is also close to the restaurant and main lobby which is convenient. Silk is an excellent restaurant and we used it at least twice a day. Also used room service several times which is excellent. Good spa. The service is flawless and everyone is so kind. Beach lounge is very nice with excellent service. We spent several hours there every day. This resort is highly recommended and good value for your money.

Room Tip: Block 4 is excellent. Seems like block 3 is the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlvtravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
We thank you kindly for your feedback and comments regarding your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the beach lounge (which is newly opened), and all other areas of your stay, from service to spa to SILK restaurant were equally attractive. We look forward to your return visit. Best regards, Daniel Meury, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
113 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We were a group of 4 adults and 3 children 4, 11, 13. We had taken a 3 bedroom suite that had the most amazing views, Luvly good size pool, huge living area, big kitchen with all amenities. Kamala beach is a good location which is not too crowded and about 15 minutes cab to Patong area. 7-11 is very closely located to Andara resorts. The master bedroom has a massive bathroom, very modern with beautiful view of the plants outside. Each room seems to have a Bose system. I pod is also available. We enjoyed our music playing it at full blast. The view from the pool is heavenly. Surprisingly the weather is March was excellent. The evening winds were chilly....how come? The hotel service was average, considering the very high price paid by us per night. The food was below average. The breakfast was poor with nothing except fruits, salads and omelet. There were hardly any guests in the hotel. The spa was reasonalpble after the 50% discount. The gym is nice. Service level was very very ordinary considering that it's a top end hotel. Breakfast should be seriously looked into!!! Kitchen amenities excellent, but no one cud teach us to use the microwave even after calling their staff thrice. Pool and it's view compensates for all the negatives.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vineet1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It seems there were definitely areas we need to step up in , from service, to food, plus plus. We hope that we can get the opportunity to welcome you back, and to show you that we truly do have our guests and their best interests at heart. Best regards, Daniel Meury, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Islas Baleares, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Fantastic premises, amazing villa (had a 3 bedroom villa). Fastest Room Service ever. A bit slow service by the staff at the house. Unclar who was who since nobody presented him/herself and what they do, during the entire stay. Very fast internet connection.

The planning of the villa was a bit strange, since all bedrooms were separate and you needed to get out to the garden in order to enter another bedroom. As you can guess not very practical with 4 small childre, so we ended up sleeping in 2 bedrooms, 1 adult and 2 children in each room

The food is one of the best I have experienced in any super lux hotel. The beach club was fantastic with really good service.

The only real downside was really: LOTS of mosquitos. I guess they can't help it :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pierre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Thank you for your review, we are pleased the resort was able to meet (and at times exceed) your expectations. We do apologise about the mosquito issue; tropical island these insects exist and we do try to manage them, but alas we find these at times not always easy to achieve. We thank you however for your patience. Best regards, Daniel Meury, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My family and I just got back from ten wonderful days at Andara, which is truly at world class hotel. Before we chose to stay at Andara, I did of course do a lot of research and read many of the 20% of the reviews that rated this hotel other than "Excellent". Even though 80% score for the highest rating clearly is close to the best rating a hotel can achieve from its guests, I wanted to turn every stone to increase the chances of a super vacation.

In my opinion, when it comes to a hotel with this high standard, the outcome for each guest to be absolute perfect or not, are probably subject to taste and a bit of luck, rather than the standard of the five star hotel. I have stayed in genuine luxury hotels such as The Peninsula NY, Bvlgari in Milan, One and Only in Dubai and Le Prince Maurice in Mauritius and I think it is hard not to experience some small flaws during the stay. But at all these luxury hotels, it is mostly minor mistakes. When it comes to our recent stay ay Andara, we did experience a couple of slightly irritating moments like when a car that had being arranged for us for a 40 minutes drive to a marina, did not have seat belts for all passengers and a dinner at the Silk restaurant where a very cheerful waitress did wait 20 minutes to serve drinks and did not understand English to a doable degree. In my opinion, though, it is almost impossible for a relatively large resort to perform 100% in all areas at all times. It is simply because they, as we, depend on people, and people sometimes make mistakes. I am absolute sure that Bill Gates and HM the Queen of England also experience some slightly annoying moments when they are out traveling and the are indeed very well resourced.

So more importantly, who should not consider this fantastic resort where the food at Silk Restaurant is perfect, the quality of materials and outdoor areas are just amazing, the staff are as friendly and cheerful as you could suspect them for recently winning the lottery? If you are very fond of beach life, you may want to look at another resort. The beach are somewhat crowded and it is a five minutes drive from the resort. And if you are a super social family that loves to make new friends when on holiday, this may not be the place for you as it is relatively quiet and have a private atmosphere.

For those who think they will enjoy the spectacular scenery at this hotel, see the unbelievable views over the Andaman Sea, like the pool life and eat at the fabulous Silk Restaurant, you will not find a better place to stay than Andara. If you are lucky, you will even have the privilege to be served by a young man working at Silk, called "One". He is truly a star and could be waiter at any Michelin star restaurant in the world. Flawless!

Room Tip: Stayed at Villa 9 which was just perfect. We did take a look at Penthouse Poolsuite and regular Pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erlend76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
We are so greatful to receive your feedback of your stay with us. Certainly there are areas we can improve and my team will always aim to do the very best we can, we appreciate your kind understanding and patience where things were not always seamless. We very much look forward to your next stay and to welcoming you back to Andara. Best regards, Daniel Meury, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
3.2 km away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
472 reviews
16.6 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
880 reviews
23.1 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 96 in Thalang District
791 reviews
7.1 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,537 reviews
16.5 km away
The Shore at Katathani
The Shore at Katathani
#1 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andara Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andara Resort and Villas

Property: Andara Resort and Villas
Address: 15 Moo 6 | Kamala Beach, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#1 Family Hotel in Kamala
Price range (per night): ₹ 28,488 - ₹ 91,602
Hotel Class:5 star — Andara Resort and Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andara is an ultra-deluxe villa and residences resort at Kamala Beach (Phuket) set on a hill rising gentle from the Andaman Sea offering stunning ocean views. Minutes away are Phuket’s best restaurants, boutiques, world-class golf resorts and other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Ctrip TA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Andara Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andara Resort And Villas Hotel Kamala
Andara Resort And Villas Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing