We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“We didn't want to leave !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andara Resort and Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Andara Resort and Villas
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We originally booked a 4 night stay here based upon strong reviews, etc. Well, we ended up absolutely loving Andara and booked for an additional 4 nights (canceling a reservation at another property).

There are properties/resorts that are better situated ON the beach with unobstructed ocean views of course, but that was more than made up for by the property and suites/villas themselves. It was truly as though we were staying in a beautiful home complete with every needed amenity, including our own plunge pool.

The sense of tranquility and relaxation was prevalent throughout the property. The staff, the decor, the manager, the food, the service, bath amenities, transportation... EVERYTHING was excellent.

We look forward to returning to Andara soon!


The only note of disappointment I'd make is to point out that the Beach Club is really just a few white day beds amongst a crowded beach, surrounded with a lot of activity. The beach hawkers selling everything under the sun come right up to your day bed, without the staff doing much about it. This was a bit annoying after awhile. We ended up preferring the Andara main pool or our plunge pool over the "Beach Club". On the plus side, a bucket of ice cold bottles of water and wi-fi are available from the staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
We thank you very much for your review, and we continue to strive to be the best guests expect. We now have our new Beach Lounge, which will hopefully make up for what is failing at the Beach Club (noise, too many people etc). We look forward to welcoming you all for your next visit. Best regards, Daniel Meury, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    49
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
196
165
16
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

What can I say Andara Resort was Paradise from the moment we stepped off the plane we were greeted by very friendly staff and taken to the resort. I had booked a 3 Bedroom Penthouse Suite and we were upgraded to a 4 bedroom Luxury Pool Villa (absolutely magnificant). The view as we walked down the steps was spectacular, my son had some friends coming to Phuket who had not booked accomodation, upon a request to Daniel (Manager) if they could stay in the spare room for 4 nights, he did not hesitate in accomodating them, including 2 free massages and breakfast for the duration of their stay.
The Thai hospitality is incredible and a special mention must go to the 2 beautful young ladies Oh and A who looked after us in our Villa throughout our stay, also to the very cheeky Cha around the Pool and Retaurant, Pod and all the boys down at the beach club and the lovely ladies at the spa/hairdressers and all the reception staff. A special thankyou also to Grace and Samantha who my husband and I enjoyed a a few drinks and a very entertaining night at the Thursday BBQ (a definate must go to) Nothing was to much trouble for the Andara Staff and they made our holiday a very memorable occasion for a 50th. Birthday with my family. We will definately be returning to Andara because as I said it was "Paradise"

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 12 which was magnificant, the view is amazing and the rooms are all spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. I am so happy that everything was perfect for your holiday in paradise. My team and myself very much look forward to welcoming on a return visit to your paradise soon. Best regards. Daniel Meury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

My wife, my 6 years old daughter and I spent 5 nights in an amazing villa on top of the hill.
From the moment you enter the villa, you understand that you are not a traditional "resort": you are stepping in a very special world, where everything has been designed and made to please the occupants.
Amazing view, exceptional layout and design, wonderful materials, tones of small details that truly make the difference (from the Bose sound system around the pool to the Japanese toilet seats, from the huge kitchen to the massage room...)

My wife and I truly think that it's going to be difficult to find better for our next holidays! We have to come back!!! ;)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arnaudhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Many thanks for your glowing review of our resort. We are truly happy everything at your villa was everything you could have wanted and more. We vote for you to return and soon. Best regards. Daniel Meury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We spent 4 nights at the 2 bedrooms penthouse pool suite at Andara. The Ocean view from the master bed room, balcony & the roof top deck is excellent. One drawback is that the wooden spiral staircase to the roof top is quite narrow & & deep and may not be safe for young children or eldery persons.

We made a request not to have Block 1 when we placed our reservation as we knew that Block 1 was close to the main road & was noisy. We were allocated penthouse pool suite in Block 1 when we checked in. The concierge staff had no idea that we had ever made such a request for not to have Block 1 though the request was clearly printed on the hotel voucher. We were very disappointed. Andara charged USD1,000 a night & we did expect their staff to attend everything to details. We understand that they may not always be able to meet their guests' requests but they should at least take the time to read what their guests had requested for. To make this up, they had arranged us to move to a 3 bedroom penthouse suite in Block 4 (with the 3rd bedroom being locked up though) on our 3rd & 4th day stay. About 40 minutes after we had moved into Block 4, their housekeeping staff came in and took away the fruit basket being put in the living room. They said that complimentary fruit basket was only made once for the guests when they checked in on the first day. As we changed room from one block to another on the 3rd day, we were not entitled to have the complimentary fruit basket again. We would have no complaints at all if they did not put any fruit basket in our room in the first place before we moved in. However, we found them very rude & mean to came in & took away the fruit basket after they found out that they had put the fruit basket in our room by mistake. The fruit basket only costed a few THB. I wondered why they would ruin their image & relationship with their guests just to save for the little cost of a fruit basket.

Their concierge, restaurant & beach lounge club staff could command very good English but not their housekeeping staff. Most of the time, their housekeeping staff could not understand what we we were requesting and had to transfer us to their concierge for assistance.

Apart from the above, the resort has excellent interior design. A well equipped & modern kitchen comparable to a professional kitchen in a restaurant. The Bose sounds system in bed rooms / dining room / living room allowed you to have music everywhere & they also provided docket for you to connect your own iPod or iPhone to the Bose sounds systems so that you could play your own songs. The WIFI speed was much faster than we would expect.

Room Tip: Not to have Block 1 or Block 8 as they are close to the main roads and would have heavy noise of the...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank NgaiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
We thank you for your review, and certainly appreciate your comments regarding the few mishaps that marred an otherwise perfect stay. We have already followed up with those departments and rest assured all are more then fully aware this cannot be repeated. We trust however what was lacking was more then made up for as your holiday continued. Again thank you for your feedback which is helping us to constantly improve. Best regards. Daniel Meury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Although not on the beach this place is very beautiful. It feels a little formal at first but this is it's hong kong heritage, it is like staying at a very formal city hotel in a resort location, but this is a first impression, as the staff , pool area and beach lounge make the stay perfect.
We stayed in a pool villa, and while pricey, proved incredibly comfortable and relaxing.

This is well run by charming experienced management that make sure all is as you want, we found everything pretty perfect and worth the investment.

Room Tip: Higher villas have better views, with electric buggys for drop off and pick up, it's worth getti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davorow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
We thank you for your comments, and appreciate very much your review. Our team were happy to look after you and family during your stay, and hoping you will return again soon. Best regards. Daniel Meury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
3.2 km away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 35 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
16.6 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
23.1 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#1 of 93 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
16.5 km away
The Shore at Katathani
The Shore at Katathani
#1 of 57 in Kata Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
7.1 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 309 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andara Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andara Resort and Villas

Property: Andara Resort and Villas
Address: 15 Moo 6 | Kamala Beach, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#1 Family Hotel in Kamala
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
Price range (per night): ₹ 35,418 - ₹ 1,01,349
Hotel Class:5 star — Andara Resort and Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andara is an ultra-deluxe villa and residences resort at Kamala Beach (Phuket) set on a hill rising gentle from the Andaman Sea offering stunning ocean views. Minutes away are Phuket’s best restaurants, boutiques, world-class golf resorts and other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ostrovok and Agoda so you can book your Andara Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andara Resort And Villas Hotel Kamala
Andara Resort And Villas Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing