We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice enough but .......” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice enough but .......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Cape Sienna is nice enough but for some reason the place didn't really grab us. The couple we travelled with felt the same way. The rooms were nice. Great beach/water views from our 2nd floor rooms in building 5 - which I think is about as far away as you can get from the main area's of the complex eg pool, breakfast area etc. Having said that the place is pretty compact, being built on the side of a hill it doesn't spread out over a big area. It's landscaped and built on a tiered set up so you are constantly going up & down lots of 6 or so steps to get anywhere. This may be a problem for some people especially if your knees creak a bit. The only lift I came across was the one that took you from the road entrance up to the lobby. From there you walk up & down steps including upto all the rooms on the 2nd floors. The views from the lobby & pool area are breathtaking but on the downside - there is no beach access as there is only rocks below, not sand. The breakfast is nice enough. The meals area for breakfast buffet & casual type dining is set up next to & along the length of the pool. But if you're bit self concious in your bathers you might not like everyone sitting there eating their breakfast & watching you in the water. The pool is pretty small so nowhere to hide. The only meals we had this area were breakfast. We did visit Vanilla sky and have Tapas and drinks. Pretty expensive and not very nice. Very limited menu. We also had dinner at Plum Restaurant....beautiful place to look at but the food was horrible. It was a set menu with a choice of chicken or fish for the main. We can eat just about anything but this was really dreadful. It's worth a visit to the small pool at Sienna Rocks just for the view from the infinity pool. It's about a 10 min (down hill) walk to Kamala Beach and this is a really nice area. The streets close to the beach have an upmarket village feel to the shops and it seems that they can cater for everything from restaurants to tailors etc. The actual beach area is great with heaps of restaurants and massage stalls etc. Very easy to get tuk tuks or taxi's. Even if it's just to get back up the hill to the hotel (instead of walking). I would stay at Kamala Beach but not sure that I'd stay at Cape Sienna again although I wouldn't rule it out entirely.

Room Tip: Because you have to go up & down steps everywhere I'd suggest that you look at a plan of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbiem5380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    484
    160
    83
    32
See reviews for
90
1,027
48
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Cape Sienna Hotel is located at Kamala beach in Phuket. It is about 45 minutes to get there from the airport. Although it is located at Kamala beach, the hotel is not located in front of the beach. To get to Kamala beach you need to walk for about ten minutes. There aren’t that many shops and food on the beach. If you like crowd Karon,or Kata beach is more suitable. As for party, play and night life, the place is Patong beach. There are plenty of discotheques, beer bars, and restaurants in this area.

The hotel is very nice and quiet. It is a perfect place to hold a meeting since it is not close to anything. Never worry that your people will not show up because they wonder around.

When I was staying there, I did not see kids around. Apparently, it is a kids free hotel. Only 12 years and above are allowed. Children, however, can stay in any one of their nine large, family friendly three and four bedroom pool villas directly overlooking the ocean.

The coffee shop is rather small, but it seemed able to accommodate all the guests. And the breakfast was quite good.

The room is spacious with balcony overlooking the ocean. No bathtub in the bathroom, only shower, but everything is just perfect. At night they lit up aromatherapy is the room which smelled very nice.

It is a very nice hotel. No wonder they won the Travelers’ Choice 2012 award.

Room Tip: To enjoy the surrounding view of the ocean, try to get a room in higher floors. Otherwise some tree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjaulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We had the deluxe jacuzzi room 4 nights . Spacious , well designed and clean room , I liked the two time housekeeping service and the aroma and scents they were delivering every night with a hand written card wishing you a good night .
The jacuzzi in balcony offered one of the best view ever , daily sunset beach view while you chilling in the bubbles .
The breakfast was good . Plum restaurant offers one of the best dining experiences , with delicious blend of Thai and fusion cuisine , the view is great and the service is optimum . Perfect meal .
The spa is another story , as a couple we had there signature massage with good discount and it was healing and relaxing , I had visited much of Phuket spa but this one was really good .
Vanilla sky bar have the happiest happy hour , sunset hour lovely cocktails and funky bartenders .
The location is up on a hill so great views , I wish if they had a buggy car service to the beach like other hotels near by . I just knew that there was daily shuttle to patong , it would save me alot of money .
Kamala beach 10 min walk is full with activities but quiter than patong in a lovely way .
They were flexible with the check out time as my flight was late .
The mood fits couples who need relaxation more than activities .
Perfect closure for my honeymoon .

Room Tip: Jacuzzi room , the one in the corner 2209
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hisham_allam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The resort has a stunning view of the ocean. It was definitely a nice surprise walking out from the lift lobby to the beautiful ocean view. The service provided by the hotel staffs were great throughout our stay, making the whole experience more pleasant. The view from the bar and Plum restaurant were absolutely beautiful during sunset and the food and drinks were good and well priced. One setback from Plum, we waited almost an hour for our main course!

As we were given a corner room on the 1st floor, the view was not particulary impressive. Be sure to ask for a higher floor if you can! Also, the room was not as clean as I would want it to be. You can see traces of water on the sink, hair on the floor, dust on the bed frame, etc. Not the most comfortable room I have to say.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harrogate
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed here in April 2012. We were impressed by the lovely views and the short walk to the beach. We enjoyed the happy hours and the views from the cocktail bar at the top of the hotel at sunset. Sienna rocks is gorgeous and a lovely place to sit in a jacuzzi looking out to sea! Breakfast was of a high standard and thoroughly enjoyable.
The cons included lumpy pillows and bed linen that didn't smell as fresh as it should have done. I saw in a response by the hotel to a review below that they have a menu of pillows. No one told us this so we had no way of knowing this so we endured sub standard pillows. I also thought that the floor was not swept when we first arrived in the room as it had sand and bits and pieces on it.
When we checked in, the staff asked us to choose the smell that we wanted for our toiletries in the room. They did not update the toiletries though as we requested.
A huge negative for us was that we booked our transfer to phi phi island with their tour desk. they charged a whopping 800baht per person. We expected to get a good standard of transfer for this price. Unfortunately, the taxi was late, it was very old and dusty inside and did not have air con and it was a hot day. The ferry was the worst one that goes to phi phi and we arrived too late to get a decent seat on the ferry which was disappointing. My partner and I were very upset that Sienna charged so much for the transfer but provided a very poor service - which make us think they were more interested in pocketing money than providing their guests with a good transfer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sallyhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Many thanks for your review and the pro's and con's you have mentioned.
We do appreicate you taking the time to write to us and giving us feedback.

I would like to comment on the two issues raised:
1) Pillow menu: every room should have a little pillow menu card on the bedside table, where you can choose the pillow and if you wish to add a mattress topper to make the bed softer. As the comment about the pillows have come up now twice, we surely will look very closely into upgrading them very soon. Our guest service manager is actually going around daily talking to guests and getting feedback and only once or twice did it come up.
2) Tour desk: the tour desk does not belong to us and is operated by an outside company, which by their uniforms should have been clear, however I will pass this comment to them.

Once again, thank you for your comments.
With Best Regards,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
1.9 km away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.4 km away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
3.1 km away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#3 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
1.3 km away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
23.1 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas

Property: Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Address: 18/40 Moo 6, Nakalay Road | Tambon Kamala, A. Kathu, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#6 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#10 Family Hotel in Kamala
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,712 - ₹ 25,262
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Sienna is a new chic modern resort that brings sophisticated style of city living to the tropical beauty of Phuket. Designed as a retreat for the urbane cosmopolitan, the sleek accommodations and restaurants are all positioned to command stunning sea views from a dramatic west coast headland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Sienna Hotel And Villas
Cape Sienna Resort
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing