We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect break!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I chose this hotel after hours of reading reviews and I must admit, I was a bit worried by the negative experiences some might have had here... but our stay was just perfect!!
We arrived at 3am in the night and ok, the guy at the night reception really is not helpful and wrong in place. We had a room in the lower house with the palm tree just in front of the window as I had read in previous reviews. So after the 1st night I went to the reception to ask if they had another room available and the staff immediately tried to figure out another room for us to stay, which was really great!! Staff was always very helpful and very friendly!!
The distance from the hotel to the beach is about 10 minutes, there is a 7/11 just about 5 minutes from the hotel and it is really a rather nice walk!
We loved to hang out at Sienna Rock during the day, which was so beautiful!! The beach in town was rather a turn down, so we just stayed at the hotel.
A little dissapointing was the food in the hotel... I think the breakfast buffet was ok, but I was wondering what all these reviews thought was soooooo amazing about it... dinner or lunch is soso... food doesn't really taste like much and I preferred to go down to town.
And about the taxi mafia in front of the hotel: there was nothing!!
Don't miss the Happy Hour at the bar each night, it's a great deal in a beautiful surrounding and the drinks are really good!
All in all, if I need another short escape from the city, I will be back!!

Room Tip: ask for a room higher up as the lowest ones have palm trees in front of the window...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,597)
There are newer reviews for Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,049 - 1,053 of 1,597 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2012

Usually I read reviews before booking a hotel; however on this occasion I'm glad I read the reviews after making a non-refundable booking.

Some of the reviews from early January were average to poor which worried me and perhaps lowered my expectation.

Thankfully I have nothing to complain about which make me wonder what were the expectations of those who wrote the poor reviews?

Adults only! How brilliant is that! Wish more hotels/resorts did it. No offense to those with kids; however to those of us without kids who want to enjoy a relaxing, quiet holiday this place rocks!!!

The location is amazing. Sitting above the bay on the side of the hill it has fabulous views of kamala beach. It is close enough to the beach to walk (10min) but far enough away to avoid the family holidays and budget travelers. We rented scooters (200bt a day) and were able to zip up and down the hill as we wanted.

Food - breakfast was brilliant and the restaurant was what one would expect from a resort. Decent food at Thai resort prices (not expensive). If you are expecting to do luxury Thailand on 5US$ a day you are about 2 decades late.

Drinks are also what you would expect to pay in an equivalent location elsewhere in the world. Yes they are cheaper on kamala beach but you don't get vanilla sky bar views. If you want to get out of the hotel try Silk next door or Rockfish just down the hill.

Not sure what the deal is with Taxis as we didnt use them?

Staff friendly and attentive. After 2 days they knew what we liked and made useful suggestions. Top tip to the traveller who want 5 star service - tip generously on your first day with cash. 100bt is nothing to us and a huge amount to a service industry person in Thailand. Being generous will get you a lot more than complaining.

Some travelers complained about the sewage smells. Yes occasional unpleasant smells; what do you expect, it's hot, its Asia and some times it happens?

Overall I thought this place was great. Maybe not perfect, but for the price it was brilliant. No complaints, yes would recommend yes would stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Beaujae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VanillaSky123, General Manager at Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Beaujae,

thank you so much for you review, it was a pleasure having you as our guest and your words and review are great motivation.
We understand that guest expectations are very varied and thus we can only learn from the criticism we received, although not always justified.
We appreciate especially the reviews coming from Senior reviewers and well travelled contributors, like you.
We do on purpose not respond to every review, as it might be a sign of being too apologetic, although in all honesty we sometimes doubt some of the reviews origins.

Of course, we are not perfect, we not claim to be, but we truly believe that we do offer a very good value for money proposition in Phuket and we do care about our customer and their happiness of their well earned holidays.

With Best Wishes,
Frank Dreist
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed 3 nights in villa chi, a private villa managed through cape sienna (villa 9) with the use of the resort facilities. The 3 bedroom villa was large with spectacular views and good privacy, large infinity pool and daily servicing. The resort itself has amazing views from lobby, restaurant and rooftop vanilla sky bar. Beds and pillows were great. Only drawbacks for us were the villas open directly on to the coast road which runs between the resort itself and the villas and villa chi has a lift servicing its two levels rather than a staircase, which initially seems novel and glamorous, but becomes tedious as it is fairly slow and has an annoying chime which can't be turned off or adjusted. For two couples, each with a ten year old daughter travelling together, the villa was a good option and close to Kamala beach.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank POPs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The lobby is exactly as pictured and beautiful. The hotel is broken up into 5 6 buildings. After reading other reviews I requested a room that was in a building close to the lobby and on a higher floor and they were very accommodating. We had an excellent stay - and I don't understand why anyone would have anything different.
There is a road between the hotel and the ocean - however this does not hinder the stunning view. On the other side of the road are the sienna villas and sienna rocks with the infinity pool. There is no direct beach access- it is about a 10-15 min walk. Its downhill to the beach and about 5 min in you will pass an ATM and 711. The walk back up burns off all the crap food you probably ate at the beach. The free breakfast buffet is very good with a nice variety and they change it up daily.
Kamala beach itself is not the best for swimming the water is a bit murky and a little dirty. Kamala is a sleepy very quiet beach town. Take a cab to surin beach- it is just lovely and you might just spot a baby elephant being taken out on its evening walk. There were absolutely no bug or sloppy maid service problems at all. Absolutely everything was on point. Without a doubt I would recommend this hotel to anyone interested in the kamala area.
wonderful stay friendly, clean and inviting. the no kids policy is a plus too.

Room Tip: check out the pic i posted showing the layout of the hotel
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elissa-ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Stayed for two nights before flying back home. Lovely room, fab view and great bar. Room could have done with a bit of low level maintenance but other than that was great. Tried out the restaurant which did not disappoint. Short distance from bars/shops/beach.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charlesrodent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
1.8 km away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.4 km away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
23.1 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Keemala
Keemala
#11 of 36 in Kamala
240 reviews
3.1 km away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#4 of 36 in Kamala
615 reviews
0.4 km away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas

Address: 18/40 Moo 6, Nakalay Road | Tambon Kamala, A. Kathu, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#7 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#10 Family Hotel in Kamala
Price Range: ₹ 4,112 - ₹ 23,962 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Sienna is a new chic modern resort that brings sophisticated style of city living to the tropical beauty of Phuket. Designed as a retreat for the urbane cosmopolitan, the sleek accommodations and restaurants are all positioned to command stunning sea views from a dramatic west coast headland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Prestigia so you can book your Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Sienna Hotel And Villas
Cape Sienna Resort
Cape Sienna Hotel & Villas Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing