We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, good price & excellent suites” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palms Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Palms Resort
Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“clean, good price & excellent suites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

My husband and I stayed here after having to move from a different hotel that had messed us around,

We walked passed the Palms thinking that we would never be able to afford this hotel, but we were very wrong!!.

We was shown a 2 bedroom suite that we shared with our friends, it was clean, a lot of living space and had 2 bathrooms including an en-suite to the master bedroom.
The facilities are fantastic also, the pools are beautifully presented and has a gym (not that I used it!!),

The breakfast was buffet style but there was lots to choose from,

The hotel is ideal for families but would say that the balconies are not really that safe for families with young children so would recommend the poolside suites!!,

It is also ideally located, you are near everything and the beach is literally accross the road!!

I have nothing but praise for this hotel for helping out in a desperate situation,

I will definately be staying at this hotel again in the future,

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSodeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    39
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
51
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

The Palms Kamala is an good place to stay only if you are with a few friends and keen on booking an apartment style suite. The rooms are clean and there's a full set of kitchen wares available. I stayed in a family style suite and the living area was large and rooms were ok. We also had an extra bed for a friend but do not bother to get one. The bed is extremely thin and the sheets that come with the extra bed are terrible. I'd rather get a bigger apartment than to sleep on that extra bed. Thank goodness my friend was drunk most of the time to remember what he slept on.

Other positives are probably the breakfast which had a good range. The unique style of pool for kids. Reason that it's for kids is maybe because the depth is only 1.2m. The location was just a stone throw's way from the beach. Restaurants are available readily. One final plus point would be the convenience store that's about 200m when you head out right from the hotel. Beer there goes for 20baht, 3 times cheapers than restaurants and 4 times cheaper than in Patong.

One bad experience we had was the reluctance in the hotel staff to provide assistance. Maybe it was due to the busy season or maybe they just don't care. We constantly requested for additional sheets and towels but they never seem to come. We even had to provide a valid reason to seek for another towel.

All in all, location wise it's ideal. Comfyness, average. Service, below average. Overall, could do better.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnPalms, Owner at The Palms Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2011
Hi David,

Thank you for your recent comments about The Palms, Kamala Beach, Phuket on TripAdvisor.
I am not really sure how many of you actually stayed in our apartment, as you do not say, but all of our apartments are designed to sleep 4 comfortably with both king sizes beds or ks size divans, all of which are fully sprung and of high quality. I can only assume that you must have added a fifth guest in yours, which would then have required an "additional" fold up bed. Maybe this also added to the confusion about how many towels or sheets to leave for your apartment, but it was also the busiest time of the year here when you stayed with us.

On the swimming pool, we do actually have two pools here, one of which has been designed to be shallow for children to play safely in, and the other designed for swimming. As the are both 50 metres long, so they should be ideal for most guests.

It looked like you enjoyed your holiday and found the beer cheaper than in Patong, which is another plus. Hopefully we will see you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

We did not stay at the hotel but the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and kindly showed us around the hotel and one of the rooms for our future visits to Thailand. The cocktails were on 79 bht and they were just delish. The staff were a delight to deal with and so friendly. They made us laugh so much and attended to our every request with a huge smile and were quick to responsd to any request we made. We returned there 3 times because of the staff and those beautiful cocktails. We would highly recommend this hotel for great food, the best and cheapest cocktails and the best staff. Keep up the good work guys and give those boys a pay rise, they deserve it. We will be back for more of those yummy cocktails and delicious food. Well done guys.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavenCaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

We stay here with my wife and two daughters for 10 days in July, We found the accomodation and the staff all to be wonderful. We had a 2 bedroom pool access room, Fantastic for that morning swin. The apartment had everything you need and was quiet large, the breakfast was great and you could have what ever you liked. The meals were very well priced and off a good quality. The staff were fantastic and we could not have asked for better service, right down to the cleaners and reception and service staff. They have a high standard of customer service and made our stay everything we had hoped for. I can not wait to go back as it was a wonderful experiance to stay here. My hat off to everyone at The Palms you are doing a great job. The hotel is only 1 minute walk to the beach and the same to shops and resturants etc.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewv65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai UAE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

The Palms Kamala is the perfect hotel for families and singles alike the rooms are all 2 or 3 bedroom suites and furnished to A++ standards. This is our second time coming to the Palms the staff are very friendly and very well trained, the ground floor suites have direct access from your balcony to the pool so the kids love it!! The complimentary wi fi in the room means I can keep in contact with my business back home 24/7 which is a big plus.. The location is perfect 2 mins to the beach and 1 min to resturants and shops, 10 min tuk tuk to patong. All in all perfect would highly reccomend staying at the Palms if you have a family dont go looking for two adjoining hotel rooms as you will pay more and they will not be a patch on the Palms..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddie3db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamala hotels
0.0 km away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.0 km away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
0.0 km away
Kamala Tropical Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Wabi Sabi Boutique Hotel
Wabi Sabi Boutique Hotel
#16 of 36 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 km away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
0.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Resort

Property: The Palms Resort
Address: 88 / 6, Moo 3 | Kamala Beach Road, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150 , Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Kamala
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,957 - ₹ 11,089
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms Family Resort is the perfect family holiday resort. It is ideally situated in the heart of Kamala Beach, with the beautiful beach being only metres from The Palms entrance; with shops, bars and restaurants all very near.The Palms has two large swimming pools, Fitness Centre, great restaurant, friendly staff, 24 hour reception, and is an all apartment resort, each with either two or three bedrooms and bathrooms, plus full kitchen, lounge/dining area, and own balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Resort Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing