We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A right Royal visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Embassy Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Embassy Resort & Spa
Ranked #13 of 35 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A right Royal visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Arrived on 23rd May for one week and had apartment C6. Henri kindly helped with the baggage due to my back problem which was greatly appreciated. We were torn between a bungalow and apartment but what swung it for us to have the apartment wasn't the price difference, it was because we had the flexibility of having a large full size fridge freezer and cooking facilities if we needed them. Turns out we didn't after all as Henri directed us to a small restaurant 10 minutes away called OhLaLa. We weren't disappointed by their food so Merci Henri!

We took our laundry to the small laundry opposite the Royal Embassy to have our clothes cleaned so we wouldn't have to do them back in the UK. When we got home we found what appears to be glue on one of my shirts so not impressed at all. There are other laundry places dotted about, all usually for 50 baht per kilo non ironed or 70 baht per kilo ironed.

Going back to The Royal Embassy, no problems at all and we even had a resident Gecko to rid our room of any unwanted guests. He did wake us during the night though with his squeaking noise! Again, this didn't cause us any issues as he ran away when we tried to catch him.
The pool area is outstanding, small and cosy and it was quiet when we were her during May so we pretty much had the place to ourself. Take your camera by the pool as you'll see large butterflies, and maybe even small lizards/ bearded dragons. Nothing to fear as they're feared of humans and no doubt they're keeping the bug population down for us.
Our apartment was kitted out with two t.v's, two aircon units, ceiling fan, large fridge freezer, microwave, electric hob, toaster and water boiling machine for tea/coffee. Also comprises of a large sofa, dining table with 4 chairs and two French doors leading onto the balcony (see photos I posted).

On another point, there is about 15 English speaking t.v. channels on the t.v.'s, BBC World news, Crime and Investigation Asia, Syfy movie channel, ITV Granada a few to mention.
All in all, a pleasant stay and no doubt we'll be back on our return to Phuket. This is one of the better places we have ever stayed and could be down to its size being smaller and cosier than other establishments.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeechops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    87
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
137
134
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

I spent 10 nights at the Royal Embassy recently, based on the good reviews on Tripadvisor. They are all true - the place is a gem. Phil and Henri were wonderful, the grounds are lovely with orchids and leelawadee flowers blooming, the breakfasts were delicious. It was the charming Thai getaway I was hoping for. In addition to the things mentioned in the other reviews, I was also delighted to discover that there is a very inexpensive but reliable drop-off laundromat just across the street, and the best coffee shop in Kamala is around the corner. I was in Phuket for a diving vacation and had no trouble either strolling a few blocks to Merlin Divers at the beach for certification classes, or hopping the dive shop's pickup minibus at the Royal Embassy's door for trips to Phang Na Bay or other more remote areas. If crazy nightlife is what you want, you're a 400 baht taxi ride (10 minutes) from Patong, and then you can return to the quiet relaxation of Kamala. If rest and relaxation is your goal, you can spend all day by the pool, get a cocktail, nice lunch, and a thai massage all within 100 feet. If every place was this nice, we wouldn't need Tripadvisor. +

Room Tip: The villas are big 1 bedroom suites, the other rooms are even bigger 2 bedroom suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arl1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this resort for a few days for our honeymoon and I have one word for it... Fantastic!

At first I was a bit skeptical since the hotel wasn't in Patong and it wasn't by the beach. Now, the fact that it wasn't in patong was great! Great if you are the type that doesnt want to be around a lot of noise. It cost about 400 baht to get to patong by taxi so it wasn't bad.
With the hotel being a 15 to 20 minute walk to Kamala beach we didnt mind as well.

The staff at the resort are great! Both Phil and Henry were very helpful and really nice. The food at the hotel was also good. We ate at a few places in Kamala and I'd say the hotel was one of the better options. Do not eat at oh la la. It's not good at all. Wait for the massages till you get to the beach as it is cheaper. And make sure you go to patong for a day trip!

The staff recommended doing a tuk tuk tour of the area which was fun. Cost about 1500 baht for the day and it took you around Phuket. Don't waste your time at the butterfly museum as it is not worth it and expensive!!

You must do the phi phi islands tour! It was by far the highlight. Be sure to pack light, wear sandals, take a towel, and be in your bathing suit. You will get wet! The tour the hotel recommends was good but a bit on the pricey side when comparing other tours. We couldn't compare other tours so it's up to you if you want to use their recommendation or not. We paid about 2200 baht per person. The lunch buffet wasn't good at all so don't expect much!

There's a huge grocery store about five mins walk to the hotel which was really helpful for getting things. Also It costs about 200 baht to go from the hotel to Kamala beach by tuk tuk. But like I said its about a 15 min walk.

Overall, had a fantastic stay at this hotel. The room was fantastic and it was really clean. Also, the bayhroom has a stand up shower and it's next to the toilet - pretty common in Asia. Toilet will get wet if you are not careful.

Thanks for a great stay! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debu s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We discovered this wonderful hotel through tripadvisor. Not only does this hotel offer you a great pool, very nice rooms, great food at very good prices, and a quiet getaway within walking distance to the beach, but on top of that the managers Henri and Phil really cared to make our stay as good as it can be.
Henri booked a couple of trips for us, all with a discount on the regular price! When I got sick (The ACs in Bangkok gave me bronchitis), Phil recommended a very competent clinic in Kamala and gave us a lift! I felt better in a day's time.
The massage at the hotel's spa was great, the best we had in Kamala. We also tried out some places at the beach, but the masseuse at the hotel was obviously more professional. And much gentler than the chiropractors at Wat Pho in Bangkok.
We would recommend arranging to be picked up by the hotel's driver in advance. The taxi business in Phuket can be very disappointing, and the transfer offered by the hotel was very efficient, quick, hassle-free, and only slightly more expensive than a normal taxi.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We chose this hotel in Kamala purely down to the tripadvisor reviews...we weren't wrong to do so. The Royal Embassy is a small hotel (20 ish rooms) just 10 minute walk from the beach at the south end of Kamala's main road. As other reviews have stated there is a Big C supermarket, Tesco lotus or 7/11 within a 10 minute walk of the Embassy.

Henri came out to meet us and knew exactly who we were which was a lovely welcome. We arrived during Thai New Year so there were no staff around and the restaurant was shut but it wasn't a problem to us. I had booked a pool villa and it was lovely accommodation - bedroom, bathroom and sitting room. The only downside was the time of arrival coincided with sundown and the villa had been left open all day so there were a lot of mosquitos to contend with but a quick march to Big C for repellent took care of that.

The grounds to this hotel are carefully maintained and manicured. There are 2 small pools - one for adults (deeper) and the other for children. Breakfast isn't included in the price but is available at a very reasonable price from the restaurant. We had a Thai lunch at the hotel and the food was excellent and the same price as outside the hotel. There is a spa onsite for massages and the prices are reasonable - closer to prices outside hotels than those extortionate overpriced spa resorts. Bring your own beach towels for the pool unless you want to rent one from the hotel for 100 THB.

This hotel deserves its status as 2nd in Kamala and should be first as its a lovely size, ambiance, friendly and relaxing. We had the place virtually to ourselves - one afternoon I was the only person by the pool...wonderful. I would definitely go back as Kamala is lovely - great for families and couples and out of the chaos of Patong Beach but close enough to be able to dip you toe in there too if you want to.

Tip: all transport within Kamala is 200 THB regardless of where you want to go and to go to Patong is 400 THB.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank piratepards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamala hotels
2.1 km away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.0 km away
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)
2.6 km away
U Zenmaya Phuket
U Zenmaya Phuket
#5 of 35 in Kamala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hyatt Regency Phuket Resort
1.7 km away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
2.0 km away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Embassy Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Embassy Resort & Spa

Property: Royal Embassy Resort & Spa
Address: 10 / 33 Moo 6, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kamala
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,950 - ₹ 11,422
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Embassy Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“ Treat yourself with a magical experience at our Thai style Resort, the ROYAL EMBASSY RESORT in a small corner of paradise, here in Kamala on Phuket Island. Our resort a small and personal style resort and just 20 apartments and Villas, ensuring our guests are provided with personal service and give you a wonderful time in the land of smiles and sunshine.Royal Embassy Resort is just a 5 minute drive to Fantasea, the world famous theme park and cultural show, a ten to fifteen minute walk to the peaceful Kamala Beach, 9km drive to Patong and the famous Bangla Road, bars, night clubs, restaurants and Jungcelyon shopping mall. We are just 19km from Phuket airport and close proximity to most tourist activities and beaches.Our spacious rooms feature modern furnishings, includes flat screen TV’s, digital safe, mini bar, free Wi-Fi, full kitchen in all apartments and tea and coffee making facilities in the Thai Villas. All apartments and Villas have a private balcony or patio overlooking our beautiful gardens and swimming pools, where you can relax and enjoy the piece full surroundings, or use our Jacuzzi within the resort. We also provide all guests with complimentary daily transfers to Kamala Beach.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Royal Embassy Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Embassy Resort And Spa
Royal Embassy Hotel Kamala
Royal Embassy Resort & Spa Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing