We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude owner, not dog friendly at all”

Blackbury Honey Farm
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Colyton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A family-run honey farm set in the beautiful East Devon countryside. Whether you are a beekeeper, aspiring beekeeper, or just interested in the natural world and country life, we have something here for you. Come and be part of this special place. Please note we are closed for the winter until Thursday 1st March 2018. A huge thanks to all our customers for making 2017 such an enjoyable year, we look forward to seeing you next year!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Have visited this regularly previously. They have lost their chef and staff. The new staff are not especially competent and the wait times are long.

Our dogs started barking when they saw another dog and before we had a chance to take them outside, the owner leant menacingly over me and said in a nasty tone "control your dogs or leave". He was extremely unpleasant and rude. We were so shocked by his nasty tone we walked out midway through our lunch. Never visiting again, what an unpleasant experience. I note another reviewer with a dog has met with exactly the same treatment from them.

Thank Sweep182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel B, Owner at Blackbury Honey Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

I'm sorry if you felt you were spoken to harshly. Your two large dogs' growling and barking was escalating apparently unchecked, and other customers were starting to look concerned. One person's 'playful' and 'enthusiastic' can be another person's 'annoying' or 'threatening'; due to the layout of the tea room we welcome a lot of customers with mobility issues or with young families. You weren't told to leave; rather you were asked to consider moving to one of the outside tables.

We take on board your comments about waiting times and will address this. Since this is a seasonal business, we recruit a new team of staff every year, and at the moment they are still settling in.

If you have any further comments you are very welcome to contact me during office hours.

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"marmalade"
in 6 reviews
"for sale"
in 4 reviews
"cakes"
in 5 reviews
"cream tea"
in 6 reviews
"underfloor heating"
in 2 reviews
"related products"
in 2 reviews
"lovely cafe"
in 2 reviews
"donkey sanctuary"
in 2 reviews
"wild flower garden"
in 2 reviews
"bee keeping"
in 2 reviews
"bees"
in 12 reviews
"meadows"
in 7 reviews
"dog"
in 8 reviews
"information"
in 7 reviews
"shop"
in 7 reviews
"meander"
in 2 reviews
"video"
in 2 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2017

Blackbury honey farm is clean, spacious, very accessible for wheelchair users and sells great cakes, drinks and light lunches along with honey related produce. Owners and staff always welcoming. Highly recommend.

Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

The food here is excellent, freshly made by the chef . The restaurant is large & airy , set in lovely settings . There is plenty of Honey & Honey products for sale . It is , however , only open Thursday, Friday, Saturday & Sunday .

1  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

What a lovely place. Really interesting facts about the bees and beautifully set out. The staff were very welcoming. The honey was amazing and gorgeous coffee. We walked around the wild flower meadow and very much looking forward to seeing it next year as we probably missed the best of it. I would highly recommend a visit. We will definitely be going back to try other delicious vittels.

Thank jcharman2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Stopped as saw ad in gardening magazine, disappointed not to learn more about honey as we are in the midst of getting bees...no information at all.Cute cafe though and lovely items to buy...but sadly once in a lifetime visit..

1  Thank Carolyne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blackbury Honey Farm also viewed

 

Been to Blackbury Honey Farm? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing