We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So peaceful!”
other travellers have booked this property
View across pool to Granary
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View across pool to Granary
Aerial view Barritshayes View from the pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
View across pool to Granary
Aerial view Barritshayes
View from the pool
Granary bathroom
Barritshayes Farm Cottages front
Swimming pool
Cottages rear
Barritshayes Farm
Granary over the well
Games Room
Tennis Court
View from Granary garden
Granary garden
Cottages garden view
Our sheep - Sidney, Cedric and Cecil
Fishing boats on Beer beach
Beautiful Lyme Regis
Historic Colyton
Cows in the River Coly
Our vineyard
Winter time at Barritshayes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Colyton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ian H
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“So peaceful!”
Reviewed 14 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Lovely place to stay, wish it could have been longer. Liz very friendly & welcoming. Just watch your head if you're 6' plus!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ricey9767
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wall to wall sunshine!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I would recommend a stay at Barritshayes to anyone who wants a relaxing break in the stunning Devon countryside. We spent our week walking the dog, visiting seaside towns and villages and eating at some great restaurants and pubs. We even had a little game of tennis each afternoon! We were so lucky that the weather was superb all week - not bad for April. Having stayed at many different holiday cottages, this was definitely our favourite.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and a walk for the dog just down the road
Liked least: 2nd bedroom didn't have a door
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARKD7
Worcester
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Short family break”
Reviewed 4 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Family short break for family of 5 two adults three children. Barritshayes is fantastic place to relax with great views. Loads of space and activity for the three children from great outdoor heated pool tennis, pool, table tennis, darts space for football and cricket. We had bed and breakfast which was superb and tasted great. Liz and GOrdon could not have been more helpful. Overall a great break and would have no hesitation in recommending Barritshayes.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola S
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely warm, cosy cottage”
Reviewed 4 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a 3 night short break in winter with our 3 year old and 16 month old girls. The Dairy was perfect for us and the girls - open plan kitchen, dining area and living area meant that we were always in view of the children.
Accommodation was spotless, and the welcome pack of bread, milk, eggs and butter was wonderful! Fantastic games room with table tennis, table football, badminton racquets, jigsaws, books, a tennis court and swimming pool (for warmer weather!).
The local attraction leaflets in our cottage were a huge help. The girls were allowed to go and see the horses, sheep and cats, and we also saw rabbits and heard pheasants. Liz & Gordon are so friendly and helpful.
A high chair, stair gate and travel cot were also provided at no extra charge.
Extremely reasonably priced for a short break out of season.
It goes without saying that the whole area is, of course, stunning.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne B
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Reluctant to tell others of this wonderful find!”
Reviewed 16 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the lovely cabin Swallows with our dog Barney in June. A very last minute booking and what a find. The setting is wonderful, completly on its own and overlooking rolling countryside, such peace and quiet, a perfect place to relax.The cabin is equiped with everything you will need for a great stay. We'll definitely be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing