We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Granary

The Granary - 5 Bedrooms - 5 Bathrooms
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Granary - 5 Bedrooms - 5 Bathrooms
Granary Kitchen Spacious Diner / Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
The Granary - 5 Bedrooms - 5 Bathrooms
Granary Kitchen
Spacious Diner / Lounge
Open Plan Stairs
Twin Bedroom
Four Poster En suite
Garden Fountain
Excellent !
There we are, In the Centre amidst the Valley
Twin Room En suite
Knobby the Naughty Ostrich
Stunning View from Picnic Bench on the Hill
Pleasant Coastal Walks
Glastonbury Tor
Beautiful Beaches within driving distance
National Trust Properties to explore
Plymouth Dome
Golf Nearby
Beach Fun !
Moorland Landscapes
Ancient Monuments
Quiet Inland Waterways
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Colyton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
leoleodis
guiseley
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Very disappointed with cleanliness and upkeep but nice surroundings”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Very disappointed with cleanliness. Where do I start? Dust on TV surround you could write in, as on edge of wooden staircase, barbecue black and greasy with remains of previous barbecued food (still smelt of fish) kitchen floor probably brushed but unwashed -deep dirt and grime on sides of washer/dish washer, powder dispenser in dish washer clogged with old wet powder, dirty used toilet brush, (did not check other bathrooms) inside and lid of kitchen bin totally filthy , obviously not washed in months, (changed liner is not enough) unwashed Pyrex dishes in cupboard still had remains of cooked leeks) Cooker still not in proper working order and in space between the two ovens, large amount of old dried food debris - absolutely revolting (for oven see previous Trip Advisor reviews) sweet wrappers left in fireside log basket! No pillow protectors on beds, cobwebs and dust behind bed side table, wiped black slime off outside of shower (did not dare inside of shower,) Two light bulbs missing! Kitchen cupboard contents in total disarray.

When mentioned to owner was told that properties thoroughly cleaned beginning and end of season and not enough time to clean between fully booked summer schedule bookings and professional cleaners to expensive!. Sorry but to me that is no excuse when charging such high July and August rentals. Enough time should be left to thoroughly clean the properties between tenancies, or for 4 star at a high rental, maybe a totally free day every month in high season could be set aside for cleaning. I sympathise, but for high rental charged, that is surely their problem and not tenants problem.

Although obviously owners fault that property was found in such a dirty state, but says something for the previous occupiers (we were there between 7 and 14 August).

Would add that we left property a lot cleaner than we found it.

Lovely location but not 4star, and not worth high season rental charged

I do feel sorry for posting this honest finding, as I feel owners are doing their best, but over the years, standards have highered, and having stayed at many similar properties over the years, do feel that this property is very dated and needs upgrading, and to have regular professional cleaners to warrant the high rental and four star rating

All the bathrooms need a total refit to get up to at least year 2000 fashion!

Otherwise, lovely setting and friendly owners,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Scenery and peace
Liked least: Dirty condition of the property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2015
Well what can I say - you can tell by the forensic nature of the criticism that this woman was on a mission to dissect the wonderful character of the Granary - how sad.
Readers, please ignore this review and see all the other positive write ups from many people who have enjoyed their stay with us.
Maybe we failed that week, maybe that was the week we were a cleaner short - we can't get it right every time, but generally, when folks have a holiday, they seek to enjoy themselves, not find an excuse to drive much needed business away from us.
LovelyLeo suggested the cottage needs a major refit - no problem, if she gives us £30,000, we will do it !!!
It's called character - and sometimes with character cometh a little dust here and there, which we do our best to track down before you arrive. Sometimes the spiders get the best of us (not often).
Let's concentrate on the positive points in the write up - "Lovely setting and friendly owners."
Wonderful ! The Granary at Whitwell Farm with its surrounding beauty, many facilities and spacious grounds, is only 5 minutes from the beach and centrally placed for many amenities - we will be pleased to greet you ! Thankyou.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny8519
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a week at this beautiful house, and we're sad to leave. Ideal accommodation for large families and children. Stunning views and helpful owner. The free wifi was a bonus. Can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard_V...
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great property for a mixed group”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week with a mixed family group + we rented 'Ashley's Cottage' - great property which gave everyone their own good size room plus own bathroom which we all appreciated. The spacious lounge had lots of seating & it was nice to have a dining table that could seat everyone. Outside there was also lots of chairs & a lovely round table. The kitchen was well stocked. You do need a car. We did a lot of sight seeing & enjoyed many local beaches & eateries, especially the beach restaurant in Branscombe. Mike did tell us that the cooker door was damaged & this did need attention. Overall we were very happy - personally we would have liked a larger fridge freezer & cooker for 10+ people but I'm sure not everyone cooks when on holiday. Organising a food delivery via Tesco was great - it arrived spot on time & saved us a trip into Seaton to their superstore.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The number of ensuite facilities
Liked least: Kitchen appliance sizes were small for large number of people
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Glad you all enjoyed your stay. The oven, as mentioned is under review anyway, and by the time you come again a brand new one will have taken its place. We also have plenty of freezers we could have helped you out with.... Thank you for the Positive Review - we strive to be accommodating and it is rewarding to be praised !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexf0143...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful country retreat.. an excellent weekend”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at the Granary in early July and had a wonderful time. The proximity to Lyme Regis and the rest of Jurassic coast could not be better. The Granary itself is situated in beautiful countryside and made for the perfect peaceful get away. The property was very clean and well stocked in terms of towels, bedding, crockery and cutlery. We were a large group of women, so all the additional bathrooms were greatly appreciated. The property was very well equipped for cooking, and we very much enjoyed our meals sat in the garden overlooking the views. If you get chance, a walk up to the hill top point early in the morning on a clear day is well worth it. Mike, the owner, is very helpful and was always on hand if we needed anything. We would not hesitate to re-book and will hopefully be back at some point.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karen k
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great holiday rental for family & friends to spend a week chilling.”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A very spacious homely property that accommodates a large group of people. with plenty of bathrooms . A warm welcome from the owner on arrival was appreciated. There were enough seats for everyone to sit around & watch TV, eat at the dining table or to eat al fresco with stunning views.
The property is remote so a car is essential. However, for those of us who enjoy walking, the mile to the nearest pub was fine. Colyford has a village shop & 2 good pubs. Colyton has a few more shops to offer. A great location to visit Lyme Regis, Sidmouth or to take a tram to Seaton. Once we had stocked up on provisions at the supermarket in Seaton, we ate in 5 out of 7 evenings. The main reason I haven't given the property 5 stars is cooking on a standard oven, even with a microwave, proved difficult to cater for 10 people, ideally needs a range. Regardless we all had a very good holiday.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing