We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
131
31
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
31
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue penguins stayed longer curio bay petrified forest hector dolphins washer and dryer large windows the kitchen hectors dolphins outside world new zealand beach house come home shower head magical place an amazing view camp shop
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Possibly one of the most beautiful places you will ever stay!
Quiet, beach literally on the doorstep, long pristine beach, and wildlife including dolphins, seals, penguins and bird life. Totally recommend it!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Virginia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Fabulous view of a stunning beach, amazing wildlife- penguins and dolphins- a really special place to stay. The only downside might be the slight noise and smell from the blue penguin nest under the porch. I would like to live in this place permanently
Also, very helpful having access to a washing machine and tumble drier

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Adventurer137239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

The area of Curio Bay is a very special place and these are wonderful accommodations.

The beach studio is very comfortable, spacious, well equipped and nicely decorated with a large deck & great views esp with the early morning light.

Be sure and watch the Yellow-Eyed Penguins come in at dusk at the nearby Petrified Forest (always amazing to see). The walk is a bit of a ways down the road but worth it.

Great place to stay in a great area.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4EverTraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Lovely spacious Beach studio in Curio Bay. Good bed, good bathroom and dolphins swimming right in front of the house. Be aware that there is hardly any foodsupply in Curio Bay. Do your shopping well before you go to this remote area.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AmsterdamEnjoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile


If you love the se ( as we do ) ,this is the place for you.Stunning view of the bay ( the Porpoise Bay,Curio Bay is a short walk away ) You can spend hours ( we did ) just gazing out at the ever changing scene in front of you.
There's a massive comfy bed and cosy sofa with views of the sea from both.
We saw the dolphins in the surf and yellow eyed penguins on each beach.The Petrified Forest is on the Curio Beach as are the better penguin viewing possibilities.We didn't get to see penguins tramping up to our cabin but not least because we kept our sliding doors open we did get to hear some interesting night noises.
We had no,problems contacting the owners and they were very pleasant.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicholas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews