We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
131
31
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
31
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue penguins stayed longer curio bay petrified forest hector dolphins washer and dryer large windows the kitchen hectors dolphins outside world new zealand beach house come home shower head magical place an amazing view camp shop
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2016

Wow. This place is brilliant! We absolutely loved it. Escaping the hot climate of Auckland we found our selves in the unseasonably cool far south and enjoyed our stay so much. We had a beach front studio for two nights and stayed in the apartment for two nights. Both are very well appointed and we really appreciated the thought that has gone into these, bed is great, location is incredible - where else can you see Hector Dolphins surfing in the waves? The bath in the apartment is amazing - what a view!
With no wifi or TV, this was ideal for getting away from it all, enjoying the peace and quiet that this part of New Zealand offers.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slowjocrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

Setting is everything for this property, overlooking the beach. The room is adequately furnished and the bathroom a good size with plenty of shelving. A nice sofa/ coffee table area for relaxing. Small kitchenette which is adequately equipped and dining table. Super king size bed made from driftwood which was a nice feature. The owners do not meet you or have any contact during your stay. You collect the key hanging from a board outside their property a couple of doors away. I could see that they were in but they obviously prefer a hands off approach. The property is not serviced during your stay which we knew in advance. The outside of the property needs some maintenance in particular the canopies over the back deck and front porch badly need cleaning up. There is a laundry room ( washer and drier) shared with the adjacent property but for some reason no iron or ironing board which would have been helpful. Beautiful location and nice interior which made the stay.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank chrissyhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

Was fortunate to stay one night at Curio Bay in December 2015, wish I could've stayed longer. Perfect location to unwind, relax & read a book or two, away from the world and electronics. Stunning location by the beach, slept with curtains open entire night and woke up to sunrise whilst still in bed. Heard penguins all throughout the night, however were lovely to hear (bizarre sound though). Highly recommend for a chill out location. Ensure to pack food & drink as no supermarket or food stores nearby.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
Thank PetaB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016

Curio bay is a lovely beach house, perfect location. You can walk to the petrified forest. Amble along the beach and watch the dolphins surfing. The accommodation is private, clean and very comfortable. Excellent bed. There is a microwave, fridge and stovetop elements. There are no local restaurants or grocery stores - only a small store on the campground. Bring your groceries and eat in! You can't beat the location or the penguins hooting and chattering at night. We stayed one night and wished we booked an extra night.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Squashfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

We stayed two nights near the end of our tour of New Zealand. it was well worth it, as it was nice to stay somewhere simple after hotels, although the studio was very well equipped with a kitchen area, huge comfortable bed and sofa. The view over the bay was magnificent, and just a few steps down to the beach.The best bit for us was sitting silently as dusk fell, to see little blue penguins waddling up to the deck to settle for the night. What a privilege! We also went up the road to Curio Bay with its fossilised forest, to see yellow eyed penguins coming ashore in the late afternoon. This is a self catering studio, but there is an excellent fish and chip van a few minutes drive away at Waikawa. Excellent fruit ice cream too made to your order. Very good little museum there too.
This studio is an ideal place to chill out and just relax and enjoy the scenery and wildlife.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
1  Thank Gill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews