We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay as a stopover”
Review of The Lamb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lamb Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Darwen, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Okay as a stopover”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Due to my wife's disability we could only stay in ground floor accomodation which turned out to be 'The Stables'. The room was just about big enough for the double bed and the wc/shower room was tiny. Not suitable for wheelchair users though to be fair it was not advertised as such. I'm sure the rooms in the main building are fine but ours was next to the 'smokers courtyard' so no chance of having the windows open during pub opening hours. They could be quite noisy come closing time too. We also had a small dog with us who just about fitted between the bed and cupboard. The pillows like pancakes and the mattress wasn't aligned to the dusty headboard. We would have only stayed for one night but 2 nights was the minimum stay. I would say the food was poor one night and very good the next so pot luck really. The staff were friendly and addressed the problems we brought to their attention but because of our needs it really didn't suit us.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLambInndotcom, Owner at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Thank you for your review and I'm sorry that you felt your stay didn't suit your needs. Being a coaching inn over 350 years old and a listed building does limit what can be acheived for wheelchair users. If you would have called and explained your needs I would have explained what we can offer, what rooms would best suit you and taking on board you review would have advised a stay with us may not be in your best interest. You mention that we donot advertise as being suitable for wheelchair uses, this is because we are situated over looking the Windrush valley several steps and slopes need to be negotiated from the car park and in and around the inn.
The last thing I want is for guests not to enjoy their time with us and I would rather explain this over the phone than read it in a review.
Kind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    170
    55
    20
    12
See reviews for
77
490
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
exeter
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

stayed just the 1 night, had issues trying to use TV as it was left on radio, and had a great deal of trouble trying to switch to TV very poor quality TV and remote. Nice and comfy large bed only gripe is the shower could do with something like a soap dish, to place your shower gel on, rather than the floor. Breakfast was very nice and service was swift.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allenexeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLambInndotcom, Owner at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
Thank you for your review explaining of your bed and breakfast stay. In your words "breakfast was very nice and service was swift" "nice and comfy bed" but to gripe over a lack of shower dish when their is amble room along the edge of the bath and indeed in the soap dish our complimentary toileteries are offered in is a little unfair. I recall changing the TV channels for you this was a simple case of pressing the TV/radio button on the control so you could enjoy watching the HD 24inch freeview flat screen I in your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed the experience. Room overlooking the beer garden was cosy, clean and comfortable. The restaurant provided an excellent dining experience- delicious and unusual.I would recommend making the vegetable side dish option a little more obvious on the menu as we did not work out that additional vegetables were possible until the 3rd night.
It was great to talk with Matt and hear his enthusiasm for fresh local food The cod "scampi" was particularly good.
Thanks Lamb Inn

Room Tip: Did not know a spa bath ws an option! The British double bed is way too short and small if one is us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FHolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with a party of walkers. Really friendly staff, super food and good accommodation. We were in the Burford room in the front which is very spacious, other friends had smaller rooms - so worth checking in advance. Breakfast was amazing - all freshly cooked, local produce.
Location only 5 mins from Bourton.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carditraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed for a special celebration for two nights in the two "garden suites". Both were spacious, although I was very disappointed with Jemima's and neither should be called a suite. One expects a "garden suite" both to be in (or have a view onto) a garden, and to be a suite. This was a room, nothing more (with ONE easy chair so to watch the telly we had to sit on the bed) with a view over a grotty patio with a mossy sunlounger and various bags of builders waste and fertiliser. The bathroom needs a good going over, with a leaky shower, wonky loo seat and grotty floor. Similar story in Millie's, the other garden "suite". For the price, frankly the garden suites are not acceptable.

Evening meals were very good indeed; breakfast however somewhat haphazard with errors in every serving (eight over the two days) bar one. Difficulties sorting out the agreed price for the stay put the icing on the cake. We definitely wouldn't return but as I say the front line staff were very nice indeed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeridianMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Rissington
7.1 km away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
693 reviews
7.3 km away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
1,058 reviews
6.2 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
534 reviews
7.1 km away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
955 reviews
4.5 km away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Property: The Lamb Inn
Address: Great Rissington | Nr Bourton On The Water, Great Rissington GL54 2LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Great Rissington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Rissington
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,862 - ₹ 14,004
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lamb Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lamb Inn at Great Rissington is one of the Cotswolds' most welcoming country inns. Overlooking the Windrush Valley, The Lamb is surrounded by heritage sites and visitor attractions, antique shops and art galleries, cultural and sporting events.In May 2011, we are pleased to announce we received a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Great Rissington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing