We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay”
Review of The Lamb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lamb Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed the experience. Room overlooking the beer garden was cosy, clean and comfortable. The restaurant provided an excellent dining experience- delicious and unusual.I would recommend making the vegetable side dish option a little more obvious on the menu as we did not work out that additional vegetables were possible until the 3rd night.
It was great to talk with Matt and hear his enthusiasm for fresh local food The cod "scampi" was particularly good.
Thanks Lamb Inn

Room Tip: Did not know a spa bath ws an option! The British double bed is way too short and small if one is us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FHolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

526 - 530 of 752 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with a party of walkers. Really friendly staff, super food and good accommodation. We were in the Burford room in the front which is very spacious, other friends had smaller rooms - so worth checking in advance. Breakfast was amazing - all freshly cooked, local produce.
Location only 5 mins from Bourton.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carditraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed for a special celebration for two nights in the two "garden suites". Both were spacious, although I was very disappointed with Jemima's and neither should be called a suite. One expects a "garden suite" both to be in (or have a view onto) a garden, and to be a suite. This was a room, nothing more (with ONE easy chair so to watch the telly we had to sit on the bed) with a view over a grotty patio with a mossy sunlounger and various bags of builders waste and fertiliser. The bathroom needs a good going over, with a leaky shower, wonky loo seat and grotty floor. Similar story in Millie's, the other garden "suite". For the price, frankly the garden suites are not acceptable.

Evening meals were very good indeed; breakfast however somewhat haphazard with errors in every serving (eight over the two days) bar one. Difficulties sorting out the agreed price for the stay put the icing on the cake. We definitely wouldn't return but as I say the front line staff were very nice indeed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeridianMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed for two nights at the hotel in the Rissington Suite which was extremely comfortable, relaxing, spotless and generally faultless. As soon as you walk through the door you are given a homely welcome. The breakfast was exceptional. However on one evening we dined in the restaurant and unfortunately the food was only average bearing in mind the cost. It was lacking in finesse and its presentation was not really unto standard.
Being a foodie myself it was obviously a big disappointment but, please do not be put off by this, as by all accounts, our experience was not the normal. After speaking to several other people it would appear that we were very unlucky as the food is normally beyond reproach.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigeandruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and that you found us to be a "Charming Country Inn". I'm disappointed that you found one meal to be lacking in finesse and poor presentation this is the first comment of this kind since Matt my head chef joined our team last August and one I must apologise for. He is most upset by your comments and hopes you return so he can "set the record straight". I will also mention your review at our next team meeting as during your meal my waiting team should have asked if you were enjoying your meal presenting the opportunity to but right any concerns a guest may have, (I then do not have to read about them in a review!!) I do feel this was a one off as you mentioned by speaking to several of our other guests during you time with us and I'm very grateful you were still happy to rate your stay4/5.
Kind regards Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My Husband and i stayed for three nights from 2/7/2012 and have to say it was a perfect place to stay,very friendly and run with lots of attention to all guests. The food was excellent the best piece of Haddock i have ever had would recommend it , meals were all Al A Carte great chef would
certainly stay there again. well done Paul and Jacqualine for running a perfect little haven for all your guests. Mr Mrs E King

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ernieking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Thank you for your review and I'm delighted you enjoyed our "perfect little haven for all our guests". To state you enjoyed the best piece of haddock you have ever had is a real compliment, the proof is in the pudding as they say as all our fish is delivered from Brixham harbour and guaranteed to us fresh from the ocean within 36 hours. Our guests can then enjoy fabulous lobster, mussells, clams, haddock, soles, plaice, cod any seasonal fish sustainably caught in our waters.
I look forward to welcoming you to our little haven once again hopefully sometime soon.
Kind regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Rissington
4.6 km away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
548 reviews
7.2 km away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
751 reviews
6.2 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
374 reviews
7.1 km away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
986 reviews
10.7 km away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Address: Great Rissington | Nr Bourton On The Water, Great Rissington GL54 2LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Great Rissington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Rissington
Price Range: ₹ 7,164 - ₹ 16,055 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lamb Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lamb Inn at Great Rissington is one of the Cotswolds' most welcoming country inns. Overlooking the Windrush Valley, The Lamb is surrounded by heritage sites and visitor attractions, antique shops and art galleries, cultural and sporting events.In May 2011, we are pleased to announce we received a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Great Rissington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing