We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Super restaurant with rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lamb Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lamb Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Super restaurant with rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with a party of walkers. Really friendly staff, super food and good accommodation. We were in the Burford room in the front which is very spacious, other friends had smaller rooms - so worth checking in advance. Breakfast was amazing - all freshly cooked, local produce.
Location only 5 mins from Bourton.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carditraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    153
    53
    19
    12
See reviews for
69
464
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed for a special celebration for two nights in the two "garden suites". Both were spacious, although I was very disappointed with Jemima's and neither should be called a suite. One expects a "garden suite" both to be in (or have a view onto) a garden, and to be a suite. This was a room, nothing more (with ONE easy chair so to watch the telly we had to sit on the bed) with a view over a grotty patio with a mossy sunlounger and various bags of builders waste and fertiliser. The bathroom needs a good going over, with a leaky shower, wonky loo seat and grotty floor. Similar story in Millie's, the other garden "suite". For the price, frankly the garden suites are not acceptable.

Evening meals were very good indeed; breakfast however somewhat haphazard with errors in every serving (eight over the two days) bar one. Difficulties sorting out the agreed price for the stay put the icing on the cake. We definitely wouldn't return but as I say the front line staff were very nice indeed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeridianMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed for two nights at the hotel in the Rissington Suite which was extremely comfortable, relaxing, spotless and generally faultless. As soon as you walk through the door you are given a homely welcome. The breakfast was exceptional. However on one evening we dined in the restaurant and unfortunately the food was only average bearing in mind the cost. It was lacking in finesse and its presentation was not really unto standard.
Being a foodie myself it was obviously a big disappointment but, please do not be put off by this, as by all accounts, our experience was not the normal. After speaking to several other people it would appear that we were very unlucky as the food is normally beyond reproach.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nigeandruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and that you found us to be a "Charming Country Inn". I'm disappointed that you found one meal to be lacking in finesse and poor presentation this is the first comment of this kind since Matt my head chef joined our team last August and one I must apologise for. He is most upset by your comments and hopes you return so he can "set the record straight". I will also mention your review at our next team meeting as during your meal my waiting team should have asked if you were enjoying your meal presenting the opportunity to but right any concerns a guest may have, (I then do not have to read about them in a review!!) I do feel this was a one off as you mentioned by speaking to several of our other guests during you time with us and I'm very grateful you were still happy to rate your stay4/5.
Kind regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

My Husband and i stayed for three nights from 2/7/2012 and have to say it was a perfect place to stay,very friendly and run with lots of attention to all guests. The food was excellent the best piece of Haddock i have ever had would recommend it , meals were all Al A Carte great chef would
certainly stay there again. well done Paul and Jacqualine for running a perfect little haven for all your guests. Mr Mrs E King

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ernieking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for your review and I'm delighted you enjoyed our "perfect little haven for all our guests". To state you enjoyed the best piece of haddock you have ever had is a real compliment, the proof is in the pudding as they say as all our fish is delivered from Brixham harbour and guaranteed to us fresh from the ocean within 36 hours. Our guests can then enjoy fabulous lobster, mussells, clams, haddock, soles, plaice, cod any seasonal fish sustainably caught in our waters.
I look forward to welcoming you to our little haven once again hopefully sometime soon.
Kind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We just left Great Rissington for a couple of days and enjoyed our stay despite the liquid sunshine! This hotel is very nice. We stayed in Room1, which has only a view of the parking lot and still found it totally charming. Uneven floors and low doors add to the charm, but the beds are comfy and the bathrooms modern. Food in the restaurant was very good. I had duck with an amazing little side sauce made from pureed walnuts, blue cheese and a touch of garlic. Full English Breakfast, along with many other options. 3 miles from Bourton on the water - and a good central location to explore the Cotswalds - some of the prettiest parts of England

Room Tip: We probably had the smallest, but we loved it. I think you can't go wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Softsoutherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for your review and I'm delighted you enjoyed your time with us in a "Beautiful Place" despite the awful rain we seem to have had constantly for the last few months. The duck dish with chefs walnut puree has been a real hit, this evening he served it with a roasted beetroot puree, end of season asparagus & game jus.
I look forward to welcoming you back should you need to explore more of the delights the Cotswolds has to offer.
Kind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Rissington
7.2 km away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
6.2 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
7.1 km away
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's Restaurant
Number Four at Stow and Cutler's...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 km away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
7.3 km away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in The Slaughters
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
4.5 km away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Property: The Lamb Inn
Address: Great Rissington | Nr Bourton On The Water, Great Rissington GL54 2LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Great Rissington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Rissington
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,884 - ₹ 14,815
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lamb Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lamb Inn at Great Rissington is one of the Cotswolds' most welcoming country inns. Overlooking the Windrush Valley, The Lamb is surrounded by heritage sites and visitor attractions, antique shops and art galleries, cultural and sporting events.In May 2011, we are pleased to announce we received a Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Great Rissington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing