We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (675)
Filter reviews
675 results
Traveller rating
514
131
16
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
514
131
16
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse ridingthe rivernational parkattention to detailwonderful experienceprivate deckbreathtaking viewsdelicious foodcakehiking trailswedding anniversaryunderfloor heatingout of this worldwonderful placevillage tourservice was excellentmountain lodge
Filter
Updating list...
581 - 586 of 675 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2010

For the tired and stressed this place is the perfect medicine. Great food, the service was friendly. The location is mind blowing (if you like mountains). We were there just after the bush fire which meant the landscape was a bit damaged but that is the nature of nature.
Starry nights and bubbling river sounds sooth you to sleep.
Ill be back, when I can afford it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dtruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We booked a three night package intended to be the highlight of our honeymoon, spoilt luxurious pampering in style. The main lodge is incredible, as was our room which was well designed and beautifully furnished. We had a very nice evening meal, although it did seem veeeery quiet....
The hotel had contacted us to say there had been bush fires in the area the week before, and "some of the hiking trails aren't useable" so did we still want to come? Can't say we weren't warned but you'd reasonably expect all the fires to be out by the time we got there 5 days later.
Long story short, the next morning we went to see the local village and school - mainly as there was no point going for a walk in the charred remains of the local area - and noticed quite a lot of smoke in the bush 200m from the hotel. On return we could see this again from the reception car park, and saw the flames leap 20m high. "I think there's a problem" said me to the vastly experienced 22 year old manageress."No problem it's fine" she said. Then one of the guest lodges roof went up in flames. I would have expected madam to swing into action at this point - she went back to painting chairs whilst those that knew what they were doing tried to put the fire out. And while we went and packed. This is a really nice hotel just a shame it's been badly designed - no fire breaks, leaking fire hoses, one way in / out - and run by two clearly inexperienced managers.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimJackieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibaFox, Owner at Maliba Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2011

We are extremely sorry that you had to cut your honeymoon short on account of the fire. Maliba Lodge aims to always provide the highest level of service to our guests. Due to the remote location of the Lodge, midweek is generally quiet, even more so since we advised guests regarding the bush fires the previous week.

The fire that swept through the park only a week previously, was a major emergency situation that got quickly out of control. The Ts’ehlanyane National Park is the largest park in Lesotho and although the fire had run its course there was bound to be a few smouldering areas around.

Firebreaks are part of the Lesotho Parks yearly fire prevention duties. Unfortunately for all concerned, the breaks didn’t prove effective in controlling the spread of the fire. Our emergency management plan has been reformulated so that, should a similar situation occur in future, staff are better equipped to deal with the emergency.

The Lodge has a young and vibrant management team, as capable as they are, this was the first major emergency that they had to face and it tested all the staff to their limits. The fact that the Lodge escaped the fire bares testimony to their efforts.

The manager sought alternate accommodation on the guest’s behalf before they departed the Lodge in expectation that the remainder of their honeymoon remained one to remember.

Should you decide on a second honeymoon sometime in the future, we would whole heartedly love to welcome you back to Maliba, as Lesotho can be the highlight of any African holiday and ensure that it would indeed be a time to remember, for all the right reasons this time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Getting to Maliba was an absolute pleasure, the road has now been tarred making the drive to the lodge a pleasure. Service very personalised, extra effort to meet guests requirements

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thabo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We had a wonderful time during our stay. The hospitality was outstanding and our room was beautiful. We felt so comfortable. The landscape is beautiful and makes each room very private.

Absolutely amazing stay. Will definitely be back

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank releyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We spent a lovely quiet weekend tucked away in a green valley in the national park. Over the years we've experienced the American Motel to the opulence of the Pierre (NYC) and The Palace in Beijing, but we have to say that Maliba brought a peace not found elsewhere. The staff were very attentive, the food was outstanding, the room was huge with a lovely wood fire , heated towel rails, and a comfortable bed...the only thing missing was a spa.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sesotho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews