We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2010

We stayed at Maliba Mountain Lodge for 2 nights. The location in the mountains is absolutely spectacular and you could easily spend all day relaxing on the deck taking in the views. However there is also plenty to do including hiking and a local village tour. We did the latter and thoroughly enjoyed it, particularly a visit to the local school where we were greeted like rock stars and entertained by the children with songs. We handed over some pads and pens to the teachers which were greatly appreciated.

The food at the lodge is great and they were very accommodating for a vegetarian in our party. Two of us were celebrating birthdays while at Maliba and we really appreciated a visit from one of the waiters with a cake and song in recognition of this. The accommodation was lovely - very roomy, private and quiet with everything you could need.

The staff deserve special mention. They are just about all locals, many of whom were involved in the Lodge's construction who were then retrained to continue to work there. So they have a real commitment to the place and this shows in all they do. They are so welcoming and friendly and seem to always be available.

We had a fantastic stay at Maliba and would recommend it enthusiastically to anyone looking for a great break in the mountains. We only wished we had had more time to enjoy everything it had to offer.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussiecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 527 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2010

Words cannot describe the view of the Maluti Mountains (from your bath, your bed, the lounge, while having breakfast etc etc) and the tranquility it brings to all guests and staff. Rooms are extremely comfortable & romantic for that special occation. Staff are always at the background should you have special requests, never without a welcoming smile...until their final dance to say goodbuy! Andrew, the manager, was always prepared to go the extra mile to make an occation even more special, always friendly, enthusiastic about the Lodge & surroundings as well as very hands on with all the guests since arrival!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikitaCenturion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

This is an absolute gem of a place. The setting is amazing, in a bowl near a river and surrounded by 2500m green hills. The rooms are individual rondavels (chalets) with simply enormous - and very comfortable - beds, large bathrooms with proportionally large shower and separate bath (the latter with a view over said hills) and a verandah that leads down to your own little deck in the bushes. As the whole front of the room can open up, I confess I was bird spotting from the bed - to the amusement of my partner! As it is such a small hotel, service is very personal (thank you Andrew, Alice and everyone else) and the food is very well done. We did a wonderful and quite tough 13km circuit from the lodge which no guest had taken in the 2 months since the new manager joined but was still very well marked out. On our third morning we paid a visit to a local school - this is not something for which the hotel or the guide makes a charge, which I thought was sensitive/sensible in terms of not turning a village visit into a commercial operation from which someone ELSE profits, but we did choose to make a donation to the very nice headmistress as the school was sadly short of even the most basic facilities. We stayed in some amazing places in Lesotho but this was the best lodge by international standards.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FSHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Maliba Lodge is the epiphany of luxury and style in peaceful, beautiful, natural, surrounds. There is no way to describe luxury – therefore I will not try (but check out the photo’s on the web)!
If you need a break from the rat race, this is the place to go! If you need some quality time with someone special – again – this is the place for you. (Who would have thought there are still places you can go, to get away from the constant interference of cell phones.)
Maliba’s staff is friendly – as only the Basotho’s can be! I loved how gardens were designed to show off the best flora in Lesotho and how all plants were labelled (for us -- the uninformed). I would like to see though - more walking trails into the beautiful surrounds with a little more detail about the route and distances. However, if you are not scared to take the bull by the horns – the current walking trail will do you just fine (as it did us)!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuiltingWyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

We had an awesome stay for our anniversary.The decor and rooms are fabulous, the manager very friendly and helpful and food super. We were lucky enough to watch them releasing a lot of Eland into the reserve and also had a light snowfall on the tops of mountains. Great place. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deugliehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsehlanyane National Park
0 km away
Mohale Lodge
Mohale Lodge
#1 of 1 in Likalaneng
21 reviews
39.6 km away
Fouriesburg Country Inn
Fouriesburg Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fouriesburg
83 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Mount Maluti
Hotel Mount Maluti
#1 of 1 in Mohale's Hoek
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Maseru
2 reviews
0 km away
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
#1 of 1 in Thaba-Tseka
4 reviews
25 km away
Motlejoa Guest House
Motlejoa Guest House
#2 of 3 in Butha-Buthe
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maliba Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maliba Mountain Lodge

Address: Tsehlanyane National Park 400, Lesotho
Region: Lesotho > Butha-Buthe District > Tsehlanyane National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tsehlanyane National Park
Price Range: ₹ 3,611 - ₹ 15,733 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maliba Mountain Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests can relax in one of six spacious luxury chalets, enjoy scenic mountain landscapes from their own private balconies and enjoy the pampering attention of our friendly staff. The main lodge features a gourmet restaurant & bistro, two bars with quiet, discreet areas to relax in, with views of the surrounding mountains. Guests have a unique opportunity to explore the beauty of the landscape on horseback, go hiking along the various mountain trails, enjoy a visit to the cultural village or indulge in a massage on their private deck. Maliba Lodge also offers a kids club to keep your little ones entertained. Rates are room only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Maliba Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maliba Mountain Hotel Tsehlanyane National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing