We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Maliba River Lodge(Tsehlanyane National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Maliba Riverside Huts(Tsehlanyane National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (659)
Filter reviews
661 results
Traveller rating
506
126
15
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
506
126
15
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse ridingthe rivernational parkattention to detailfive starwonderful experienceevery mealbreathtaking viewsprivate deckdelicious foodcakelocal villagewedding anniversaryhiking trailsout of this worldwonderful placevillage tour
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 661 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Magical weekend in the mountains made special with the friendliest staff and beautiful hiking! We stayed in the mountain lodge and the service was incredible, we got spoilt with very special weather, scenic hiking trails, great food, special rock pools and even had a bit of rain!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank PeterPitt1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibaHeadOffice, Public Relations Manager at Maliba Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Peter

We trust you are well. Thank you for choosing Maliba Lodge to share in your special occasion. We hope to be part of many more milestones !

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Wonderful place indeed the staff are so good the welcomed me with a smile o their faces,so guys kepp up the good work you are doing there and please don't do it to me only but to all ur guest there at maliba

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mojalefam987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibaHeadOffice, Public Relations Manager at Maliba Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Good Day Mojale

We trust you are well. Thank you for visiting Maliba Lodge and for the review.
we hope you next stay with us will be even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

We stayed at Maliba Mountain Lodge 5 years ago before the big fire destroyed the main house. In the meantime it has been built up again and a lot changes and enhancements have been made. The mountain chalets are still the same with all the comfort you would expect but cannot be rated as 5 star. 4 star might even be a high rating for that. Due to the fact that the chalets are some years old they need a little more attention and minor things need to be fixed.
The major change you will recognize if you have stayed at Maliba Moutain Lodge some years ago is the restaurant, the service and the food. We have booked full board and the dinner was a total desaster. You will get much better food in every average restaurant in South Africa. This is for a place which is classified as 5 Star totally unexceptable und definitely totally overpriced. Also the breakfast was a desaster. Besides ourselves there had only been one other family and one other couple but it took ages to get the breakfast served. The breakfast consists of some crackers with some slices of cheese with a few grapes. The ordered omlett was prepared without tomatoes which have been mentioned on the menu. We were trying to talk to the manager to share our bad experience but he/she was not available and the staff was not able to get hold of him Probably he was not interested to get a feed back.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ulrich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibaHeadOffice, Public Relations Manager at Maliba Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Good Day Ulrich

We trust you are well. We are deeply saddened to hear that your time at Maliba Lodge was not up to our five star standard. We take all reviews in to deep consideration and this will be passed on to management for a full review. We are always looking to improve our standards and services.

Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

There was a small glitch when trying to check in at Maliba Lodge. Coming from the USA, I had done my booking online, and was told in an email that I could pay when I arrived. When we arrived, I was told my booking had been kicked out of the system because I didn’t pay in advance. They found us a room, but not in the same section of the lodge that we had requested. Other than that problem, the setting was great and the staff was excellent. We took several beautiful hikes, including one to a waterfall where we swam in the pool at the bottom. There was a performance by the staff on Saturday night that included singing and dancing. It was terrific. At the performance we met one of the co-owners. We mentioned our booking problem and he looked into it immediately. He checked back with us several times during our staff to make sure that all was well. Everyone was extremely nice!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibaHeadOffice, Public Relations Manager at Maliba Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Good Day Linda.

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you had a wonderful time and the problem was solved.

We look forward to hosting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

We where here two nights with two kids (8 and 10 years old) and can only recommend this place. Its so beautiful and with lots of possibilities for activities for kids and their parents. The food in the restaurants could be better but besides this we will say - just go!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank D888FGthomasr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibaHeadOffice, Public Relations Manager at Maliba Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank You for your review. We are so glad to hear you had a good vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews