We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Maliba River Lodge(Tsehlanyane National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Maliba Riverside Huts(Tsehlanyane National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (674)
Filter reviews
674 results
Traveller rating
513
131
16
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
513
131
16
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse ridingthe rivernational parkattention to detailwonderful experienceprivate deckevery mealbreathtaking viewsdelicious foodcakewedding anniversaryunderfloor heatingout of this worldwonderful placevillage tourservice was excellentget away
Filter
Updating list...
499 - 504 of 674 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Spent 4 nights in a stunningly beautiful place, that was made all the more special by the friendly staff who went out of their way to make our stay exceptional. The views are awesome, and the small touches are what justify the 5 star rating. The mountain lodge rooms are definitely worth the extra price. Put it on your list of must do's.

Room Tip: Room1 and 6 are secluded
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juan-Pierre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Lesotho is awesome and the lodge is fantastic! Great rooms, awesome service, nice horse ride around the mountains and amazing hikes. Very friendly staff and people. it's quite simply stunning!!! I'll recommend to anyone :-)

Room Tip: The swimming pool is a natural rock pool. It's awesome but the mountain water is cold. You need it after a walk in the hot sun.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicolasHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

A the end of a 38km road (with 27 road humps - took us an hour to go up) is the mountain lodge.

If you arrive on motorbike (as we did) be aware the entrance in is up a reasonably steep unmade road - fine in a car but could be tricky two up in wet conditions.

The lodges are gorgeous rondavels, large with four poster beds, a sunken bath and underfloor heating.

As it is so far away from anything else, most people opt for the dinner bed and breakfast option - dinner menu's are restricted to around three options for the main course - so it's worth letting them know well in advance of any dietary requirements. Having said that, the dining experience is very good, the choice of wine was also good - and we had the infinite luck when Andrea (who was ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS) organised dinner on the 'boma' under the stars - which was a real night to remember!

Horse riding, trekking and massages are available - just one suggestion would be create a rondavel for the massages as this would be more peaceful than the room above the lounge which they currently use.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roodeberglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

This place surprised us - huge and beautiful cabins with gorgeous views. Friendly staff who laid on dinner under the stars. We were only here for one night, but gutted to leave and would go back given half the chance.

Room Tip: Worth paying for the luxury huts. They are memorable.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigtrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We visited Maliba Lodge for 3 nights over the holiday season, the experience was simply great ! The lodge itself is wonderful, the views are absolutely stunning and the staff and food was fantastic. We travelled from Johannesburg and the drive was quiet easy, we approached the border posts and found this experience a bit chaotic (given that it was a busy time of the year) but once we passed through, we were simply amazed at the wonderful sights as we made our way to the lodge. The weather at he lodge is indeed bizarre, you certainly can have 4 seasons in a day, for mid summer there were days that it was actually quiet cold, where we had to light the fire in the room, so make sure you take warm clothing as well.

The welcome was great, however when we got there the lodge had no electricity, this was around 6pm. Unfortunately the power only came on early part of the next morning but this did not stop the staff from making our welcome even more special by setting up a romantic candle light dinner in our room. I would say the most special part of the holiday was that the staff were extra considerate when it came to eating times, if we did not pitch for a meal, they would go out of their way to call you and ask if you would like room service brought to your room … really sweet !

Really great place would definitely visit again.

Thanks to the Maliba staff and team for a fabulous time !

Room Tip: Ask if Chalet 5 is available, it's the closest to the main lodge.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kashmita d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews