We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (685)
Filter reviews
684 results
Traveller rating
520
132
17
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
520
132
17
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horse riding the river national park attention to detail wonderful experience private deck breathtaking views delicious food cake hiking trails wedding anniversary underfloor heating out of this world wonderful place village tour service was excellent mountain lodge
Filter
Updating list...
549 - 554 of 684 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2012

After driving from South Africa to Lesotho, we were delighted to be greeted with refreshing towels and a rock shandy drink. The view from the reception is spectacular with the Maliba mountains majestically standing before you. We were escourted to our room and everything was explained to us. The room was so beautiful, 4 post king size bed, gorgeous fire place and a heavenly bathtub. Every request of ours was met. Dinner was delivered to our rooms on both nights. The lodge arranged for us to go on a cultural tour to the Sotho villlage, at no extra cost to us. (ofcourse you can tip the guide) The guide Steven, was so knowledgeable and helpful and even took us to an are where we could get cellphone reception.
I would definitely recommend having a massage as it is in the privacy of your own room and you can just fall off to sleep afterwards. The food was great, even though there weren't many options for lunch and dinner, whatever we were served was really delicious and filling. This was a lovely experience and we will definitely be back for more!

Room Tip: Room 6 (the honeymoon suite) has the most beautiful views of the Maliba mountains.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Unfortunately, the only downside to our visit to Maliba Lodge was that we only stayed one night! The lodge is very easy to find, well sign posted and is situated in a beautiful national park. We arrived to a warm welcome, cold refreshing towels and a drink. The staff were very friendly and attentive. Making your stay special was their number one priority. The huge atrium style rondavel reception takes your breath away - you then walk out onto the terrace and the views are stunning! The beauty of the lodge doesn't stop there as our thatched luxury mountain chalet was just perfect! It was beautifully appointed with a luxurious en suite bathroom. Taking a bath while looking at the incredible view, sipping a glass of cold South African white wine - life doesn't get much better! Our food was delicious, again in a glorious setting. Maliba Lodge really is a gem, it is magical and one of the best places we have ever stayed.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter which mountain chalet you stay at, we didn't see the river lodges.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moggo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed here in May 2011; ended up booking the Honeymoon suite for 3 days as it was the only one available. Most memorable was the warm welcome we received having driven across Lesotho for 8 hours, covered, alike our 4x4, in dirt.

Perhaps spoilt by that as it had a wonderful view of the mountainous park from the balcony, and also a well used jacuzzi in a well kitted-out bathroom, fireplace (ready on arrival), heated bed (definitely worth it as it was freezing at night!). We were perhaps overfed with rich food, tea cakes and wine throughout our stay.

Well worth the price. Nice hikes available locally, but we only ended up going on one.
Only two criticisms; on the last morning there was no water as apparently the pipes had frozen and it took several hours to sort out, this was an unfortunate coincidence with the fact that one of us had developed gastroenteritis and we'd only eaten at the restaurant in that time. The manager implied it may have been as a result of possibly drinking the stream water (which we didn't, plus we've lived in SA for at least 6 months by then) but didn't seem to care much more than that.

All in all.. good trip and would recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormchild83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We had two lodges for 3 nights in January on our trip through Lesotho. We found Maliba to be a bit hit and miss with it's service and standards though.

The lodge istelf is fantastic, easy to find, well signed from the border posts, very scenic and pretty much new. The staff (Rose especially) were also very helpful (when you could find them during the day) and we had some great conversations with the bar staff in the evenings. The turndown service in the honeymoon suite was also a very nice unexpected surprise.

The restaurant offers you a choice of two dishes every night which was nice although none of us was particularly impressed with the catering standard, a fancy a la carte menu to choose from isn't much good if your dinner is over / under cooked when it arrives. We also had a problem with children running about, shouting and screeching in the dining room during dinner one night which didn't exactly gel with the lodge's general ambiance.

There are some walking trails from the lodge which took us to some great photo spots but apart from that you are a little limited in what to do with your time from Maliba, we were also a little concerned that there are things advertised in the lodge which were not actually available (fishing for example).

Lesotho was a spactacular country to see, we drove to the Dam and took some fantastic photos and everyone we spoke to was happy to see and talk to us.

Maliba was definitely a good stay, but could be better with a little more effort and training

Room Tip: ask for the honeymoon suite, it's the same price as the others!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantanHaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The other reviews are right - I can honestly say this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in anywhere in the world.

We had a two week trip to South Africa and I was hoping this would be as special as it looked on the website (plenty of other places we stayed in weren't). It was. Exclusive in the best sense of the word, this place is utterly luxurious without being in any way being OTT with wonderful staff who go out of their way to make your stay special. This is the perfect place to completely relax or go on a honeymoon (no need to book the honeymoon suite; the other five lodges are all lovely). And I was hugely impressed that unlike other five star places that seem out to rob you of every cent (rip off mini-bars charging you extra for 15 mins on the internet etc) this wasn't the case here.

Only very minor gripe is I share a previous reviewer's comments about the music in the restaurant - when everything else is so perfect and stylish it really is a shame to have such crass music (oddly the bar area had a better selection).

That aside, this is as close to perfection as you'll find.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank H_Alst0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews