We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Maafushivaru(Southern Ari Atoll)
US$ 1,665
US$ 777
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 1,337/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Vakarufalhi Island Resort(Vakarufalhi Island)
US$ 1,101
US$ 329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 56% below average rates

The price you found is 56% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 743/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$ 1,192
US$ 306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$ 442
US$ 372
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 51% below average rates

The price you found is 51% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 762/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 378
US$ 366
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 460/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lily Beach Resort & Spa(Huvahandhoo Island)
US$ 2,061
US$ 1,056
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
LUX* South Ari Atoll(Dhidhoofinolhu Island)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 1,573
US$ 781
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$ 1,630
US$ 565
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 944/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Island Resort & Spa(Maamingili Island)
US$ 288
US$ 176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 47% below average rates

The price you found is 47% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 332/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,421)
Filter reviews
1,421 results
Traveller rating
1,057
263
62
22
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,057
263
62
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsreef restaurantthai restaurantbeach suiteall inclusive packagedive centrefishour honeymoonwater villakids clubbanana boatsea planeset menuwave breakersaqua barsunset cruisereef sharkslunch and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 1,421 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2018 via mobile

Whilst the hotel is in a paradise setting and the facilities the execution does not match the price not the location. From the moment we arrived there were issues. The minibar was not filled properly unless requested, the door of the bathroom did not lock. The airconditioning leaked. Products were missing in the bathroom and arrive later. The bathroom was not cleaned properly. The jacuzzi was filled with dirt from previous occupants.
If this was not bad enough the hotel offered trips of snorkelling and sun setting cruises. The snorkelling was meant to last two hours we returned in 1.15 minutes. The sunset cruise as well was only 1hr 30 and was a waste of time. The boats were not provisioned for luxury guests with drinks, comfort. Unlike in India in Karala!
If this was not enough the food was ordinary often missing elements promised on the menu. The Thai and Japanese food were not authentic and were Vietnamese: Chinese derivatives. The products on the inclusive menu had a high proportion of pork. Strange for a Muslim country that does not accept alcohol except in the resorts. Clearly out of season mango was was not purchased. It seemed this is a money grabbing machine buying cheap produce but depending on making money by its location. The quality of meat and chicken was poor but if you wished quality food sea food and lobster this was not available for all inclusive as it is extra as were fresh juices etc etc. On speaking to the Swiss executive chef he simply said products were not available in the new year. Has the resort not heard of a cold store?
I met a couple on heir honey moon who complained they had ordered champagne and chocolates that were not delivered for 5 days! They were give. A room next to screaming children. Another couple that the boat trips were there to waste time with nothing to do no point in doing them. Frankly after two they were right.
Whilst the scenery is beautiful what a shame to give clients such a disappointment when they are coming to realise their dream holiday and travelling from so far.
We were also told this was an adult resort but there were several children and even a crèche.
Generally speaking the staff meant well. They were frightened to take any initiative without an approval of management. I do not know whether other resorts are better but this did not live up to our expectations. What a pity!

Stayed: January 2018
7  Thank robert a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machchafushi, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear robert a,

Thank you for taking the time out to inform us of the difficulties you have encountered during your recent stay with us.
Upon learning your concerns, Mr. Manop -our Hotel Manager personally met you and your family in the restaurant to offer the assistance in order to improve your experience with us. We have learned that you have specific likings to our Thai Restaurant menu, especially “chicken satay” whom our restaurant manager even ordered extra dish for you. Meanwhile, you have concerns about the following:
1. The ingredients in the Thai restaurant. One ingredient was in short supply which is Pomelo. Our Thai chef came to see you apologize and offered options, but you did not like to.
2. We are sure that our Thai food is original because all the kitchen team is Thai and we have many compliments, from different guests. We understand you may have different taste preference and in order to cater your need, our Thai chef came to meet you at your dining table to ensure that she will cook the taste you prefer.
We also knew that you went to our Thai Restaurant several times during your stay, and were quite surprised about your comments on the authenticity of our menu. With your concerns on the mini bar refilling; kindly be informed that we have our daily routine of refilling minibar, however, we regret that it reaches to you son’s villa late. On your next day, we found that your villa was on “Do not disturb sign”, the reason our staff did not bother and waited until your villa was accessible.
Further to your comment on air-conditioning, the reason water was dripping was due to condensation which our technician had explained that may happen when the AC is on while the balcony is open. And it did not happen afterward.
Another concern was that the Jacuzzi water was not clean. Again, our Hotel Manager and Housekeeping Manager went to check themselves to see by turning on the water and taking pictures but the water was not dirty. (If you want to get the picture, we can send to you). Moreover, we are still skeptical that you said: “The Jacuzzi was filled with dirt from previous occupants”. It must be very strange if the previous guests poured the dirt into the Jacuzzi. Inopportunely, you could have shown to us the dirty water that was coming from the Jacuzzi upon discovering it and notify us right ahead for immediate rectification. For the Sunset Cruise, we set out to watch the sunset at 17:30 and return to the resort when the sun was completely gone, spend an hour and a half about is the regular time.
Pork in a Muslim country that you are surprised. The fact is, we have our government license to import pork to non-Muslim guests which other resorts would have the same, too. You are the first person to pay attention to this. Should you have asked on that day, we will be able to present the copy of our license to import pork and alcohol to you.
Mr. Anthony, we are a family resort for nine years. (Awarded by MATATO as Leading Family Resort in 2013 & 2015). The information you received as an adult resort was inaccurate, you may need to check back to the source.
And on a day prior to On the day of your departure, once again our Hotel Manager went to meet you at breakfast to re-confirm that the water in the Jacuzzi was clean and to informed that all comments have been resolved. You requested us to cancel the spa expenses for you and your wife. In an effort to demonstrate that we care about your satisfaction, we agreed to withdraw the spa bill.
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your experience while your feedback is not accurate, yet we accept your comments.

Sincerely Yours,
Team Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

Hi All,

We visited Centara for 14 days over the Xmas period. Having stayed at several 5 star hotels in various countries I must say the service through to the accomodation/ food was brilliant (plenty to do, never got bored through the 14 days). We stayed at the overwater pool villa with club access which was great.

Many thanks to Senthil, Pragya, Shekhar and Voytek who made the trip extremely special. I would highly recommend this place if you would like a no hassle brilliant holiday AND do remember to get the club benefit because it’s more than worth it, Senthil and Pragya and their team in the club make that experience absolutely fantastic, it is because of them I will be recommending my parents to this hotel for a trip in 2018.

Long story short don’t be confused by all the options / hotels in Maldives, just book this one with the overwater pool villa and you will love it.

Only feedback I would have for the management is / take better photos for marketing material on instagram and Facebook!. The photos you guys put up don’t do it justice. I have attached some photos I took. Also the activities / if they can be clearly explained and maybe more options - so instead of a 4 hour boat ride to see whale shark / maybe we can pay extra and take speed boat / also have activities on an app including booking food. This will make it easier for customers and your staff, no paper etc required and customers know what their day looks like. You can also directly communicate to customers through that app. Easy!

Thanks again to Senthil and Pragya / I hope going forward you get more responsibility within the hotel - perhaps leading more people etc.

Cheers

Anirudh Bansal

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
7  Thank RudiEmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machchafushi, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear RudiEmz,

It was indeed a fantastic comment about your holiday at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa, Maldives. We have already passed your feedback to all staff at our resort and they are so delighted to hear about your awesome post. For us it is always a pride to see a happy guest and this is exactly what we strive for, that is, to create an experience that will be memorable to you. With much pleasure that our Ultimate All-Inclusive package was the perfect choice for your Maldives holidays. Moreover, thank you for your suggestions and it very much valued.
Once again many thanks for this awesome feedback and we look forward to welcome you back at Centara Grand Island Resort and Spa again for another unforgettable experience with us.

Sincerely,
Team Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

It’s a very beautiful island with very rich choice of fish just meters from your villa wich is very appreciate that you don’t need to take a boat. With a lot of white non offensive sharks wich is spectacular to see. The New Year Party was really great with a very simple friendly atmosphere wich is rare as well with a real creativity effort made by the hole team with the spa girls dancing Thai and Bally. The spa actually is just fantastic included in the all inclusive package. The food is very good as well. The only comment I would have, that if you are looking for the “Mauritius “ type of standing it’s not the place because it’s really a preserved wild atmosphere and not a stylish designed place. We had a very great profound rest at this island.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Centara Hotels & Resorts
Thank Tmpgauvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machchafushi, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Dear Tmpgauvin,

Thank you for choosing Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa, Maldives the destination of your honeymoon. We are so happy to hear that you loved almost everything with us, restaurants, our spa, our natural coral reef. We appreciate your trust in us and there is nothing more rewarding than to see a happy guest and that having the Ultimate All- Inclusive package was a perfect choice for holiday.
Once again many thanks for this awesome feedback and we look forward to welcome you back at Centara Grand Island Resort and Spa again for another unforgettable experience with us.

Sincerely,
Team Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

We weren't sure about the size of this island having visited smaller ones in the past. Although it was full for Christmas none of the shared areas were over crowded at all, many times we wondered where everyone was. The restaurants are excellent but do need to be booked but the buffet one was always available. We added the "Club" membership and enjoyed the daily complimentary 1/2 hour spa treatments. Breakfast in the Club was good too. They cater for children well with a kids club etc. We have grown up children and enjoy "our time" now but were still able to have our quiet, peaceful holiday. All facilities and rooms excellent. we go to a different island every time we visit but I would perhaps be tempted back to this one - Enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Centara Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank P1995RMalanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machchafushi, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Dear P1995RMalanl,

Indeed! Thank you for taking to write a wonderful review about our property. There is no better feeling than to be rewarded with such beautiful words and we are so happy to hear that we were able to make your holiday a remarkable one. This is exactly what we strive to achieve, that is, to create memorable experiences that are beyond your expectation.
Thanks for appreciating us and we are looking forward to serve you with a more remarkable experience on your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Team Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

My family and I had a great trip over Christmas. The island makes for a fantastic getaway - the staff are warm and friendly, the facilities (eg spa and water sports) are good and the food is outstanding. I was slightly concerned as food is a big deal for me on holiday - and my only other experience of all-inclusive was dreadful - but it was superb. Thank goodness for the gym so I could make a little bit of effort to lose some of the calories!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Centara Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank jeremyealing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machchafushi, General Manager at Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Dear jeremyealing,

We really appreciate your wonderful feedback about your overall experience in the resort especially to service and staff. “We are here for you”, it will be our joy and delight to have you a wonderful holiday with memorable experiences from the resort. This is exactly what we strive to achieve, that is, to create memorable experiences that are beyond your expectation.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcome your family again with us for another brilliant holiday in "paradise".

Sincerely,
Team Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa, Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews