We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
Booking.com
eDreams
$221
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/02/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
327
15
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
327
15
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews satpura national park buffer zone his team the cottages wildlife experience wonderful experience core area jeep safari tiger reserve each meal birds and animals support staff nature lovers full marks special mention in house his enthusiasm
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2016

I recently stayed at Forsyth Lodge for 3 nights. It was very clear from the moment I entered the lodge that this property is a cut above any other wildlife lodge I have stayed in throughout India. The understated luxury of the accommodation, the great variety of excellent food and the excellent service all took a back seat to the calibre of the management and guides who studiously looked after our group of 17 people during our stay. Their combined knowledge of the parks mammals, trees and abundant birdlife was impressive and the way in which they conveyed this knowledge to both adults and kids was excellent. Satpura is a lovely park and while it does have a small tiger population and a good leopard population, those are not regularly sighted. Satpura is for those who are not all about the frantic search for tigers, but who are instead interested in the variety of the park's flora and fauna - and Forsyth is the place to show it to you.

Room tip: Request a room with a rooftop sleepout.
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Iain777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi S, General Manager at Forsyth Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2016

Dear Iain,

Thank you for this lovely review. It was a pleasure to have you all here at the lodge. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that we will be seeing you again soon here at Satpura.

Regards,
Rishi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016

From the moment we arrived until we left we were treated like long lost friends. Forsyth is fortunate to have a team of naturalists and ‘backroom’ staff who cannot do enough to make your visit a success. Throughout we had our ‘own’ naturalist - Varun - who is clearly passionate about his work and gave us a valuable insight into the lives of the creatures within the reserve.

Our spacious and comfortable room was serviced several times a day and flasks topped up regularly with cooled purified drinking water. We had ample seating both indoors and out – our private terrace was comfortably furnished with a choice of sitting in sun or under cover. The staff (mostly drawn from local villages) are friendly and efficient. Food plentiful and delicious and meals were not confined to the dining room. A highlight was a brunch prepared by local ladies cooking traditional food over an open fire and one evening we dined beside the pool. Breakfasts were taken during our morning drive followed by a generous brunch on our return.

I do not know if this is the best place to stay for Satpura, indeed I have no wish to find out if there is anywhere better as, if we go back, we will certainly choose to stay at Forsyth Lodge again.

Room tip: Our room was perfect and I expect the others were just as good!
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Joyoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi S, General Manager at Forsyth Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2016

Dear Joy,

Thank you for this lovely review. It was a pleasure having you both at the lodge and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the experience we offer here at the lodge. We will look forward to having you here with us again in the future.

Regards,
Rishi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2016

My two day stay at Forsyth Lodge Satpura was amazing and I would love to visit again. Te staff is very knowledgable and show great hospitality. The passion for wildlife and forest shows, and the naturalists at the lodge are very knowledgeable and strive to strike a balance between tourism and the forest.

The Lodge is luxury personified and filled with all modern amenities even though it is situated in the middle of the jungle. Though there is no network connectivity bt it comes as a blessing in disguise, as one can truly connect with nature. The safaris they offer are amazing and bring you close to wildlife. The experience is jst wonderful.

The meals are included in the package and Forsyth lodge has a tradition that all guests and naturaists eat together, sharing stories of the forests. Food is really delicious and so is the welcome drink they offer when you check in or reach back after a safari.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AkankshaDureja
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi S, General Manager at Forsyth Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2016

Dear Akanksha,

Thank you for this lovely review. It was a pleasure having you all at the lodge and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the park as well as the lodge. We will look forward to having you here with us again in the future.

Regards,
Rishi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

if you are dreaming about Safari, jungle walk, seeing the dense Satpura National Park and getting close to the animals with the best stay "Forsyth Lodge" will be no doubt should be the first choice of yours.

Managed by great naturalist Varun, Surya, David, Rishi and their excellent support team, you won't be disappointed.The team will treat you as the family rather than the tourist.

The cottage provided to me was large, spacious with attached super clean bathroom. A sit out with every cottage was a bonus addition to enjoying the coffee/tea sip.

Enjoy the Satpura jungle in the best possible way!

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nilabh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi S, General Manager at Forsyth Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2016

Dear Nilabh,

Thank you for this lovely review. It was a pleasure having you at the lodge and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the experience we offer here at the lodge. We will look forward to having you here with us again in the future.

Regards,
Rishi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016

We stayed here for 2 nights, on a short break, to experience the Satpura National Park, and we could not have chosen a better property. The hospitality and warmth by Rishi and Manashi was beyond compare, along with the fabulous food and wonderful rooms. The open air roof top beds in some rooms were spectacular and a great place for our family of five to relax and take in the surrounding beauty. Nothing was too much of a trouble for our hosts, who went out of their way to ensure that we had a great vacation. Our naturalist Menaka was extremely knowledgeable about the flora and fauna of the region and accompanied us on every safari, telling us small details about the wildlife we saw. She paid special attention to the 12 year old in our group, making sure that the experience was interesting. The other naturalists (David, Varun, Surya) were also very good, with each of them specializing in either birds or amphibians or a particular group of animals.
This was my first wildlife lodge experience, and what a fantastic way to start!

Room tip: All rooms are great, but some have the open air machan style beds too
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank globetrotter2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishi S, General Manager at Forsyth Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this lovely review. It was a pleasure having you all at the lodge and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the experience we offer here at the lodge. We will look forward to having you here with us again in the future.

Regards,
Rishi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews