We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
8
8
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
8
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wooden bridge ancient city museum sites highway location war greece history ruins remains lion acropolis amphitheater
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

This museum and archeological sites were fantastic. The curator and manager was especially helpful and professional. The north wall and remnants of the wooden bridge were fascinating.

Not far from highway A2, and a real historically pivotal location. The entire staff were helpful answering questions and explaining events to put them into perspective.

Everyone was very engaging. Best museum staff we’ve encountered in all of Greece. And We’ve worked with over 10 so far.

Thank JT_Skyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Some of the reviews here are of Philippi and not Amphipolis. Philippi is quite a long distance away from Amphipolis.
I eventually found the museum on the edge of the village. The museum was very ordinary until something happened that is rare for me - i stumbled on to Brasidas’ ossuary ( his bones) kept in a silver casket - i had no idea they had been found. Amphipolis was once one of the pivot points of battles between the Athenians and the Spartans in the Peloponnesian war. In one battle the two generals Cleon of the Athenians and the redoubtable Brasidas of the Spartans died. Later it featured in the Roman civil war.
The Museum told me the acropolis and the wooden bridge remains were not open until summer season in June. What??? Summer season everywhere else starts in April. What a disappointment. Looking through the fence - I do not think I missed much.

1  Thank Archaeobuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

The place is amazing. It is huge and every part of it is simply beautiful.
It is worth seeing. The only issue was the service. Since we were only 7 people we could not get a guide and even if there was a larger number of people they said they could not provide English speaking guide unless we called at least few days earlier.

Thank noneofthisreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

You can look at all the pictures in all the books, but , until you’re there in person.....wow!! I strongly suggest a wide brim hat or an umbrella. The sun can be brutal. Well worth it, though.

Thank tpramis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Very interesting site to visit. The amphitheater is really impressive and also the museum shows alot about ancient Philippi and the history there. Huge area with lots of ancient stones - exactly what you expect from Greece

Thank leolas03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Amphipolis is quite an interesting archaeological site. The area is the site of an ancient city, famous for it contribution in ancient times. However what we see today, as in several other cases, are mostly ruins of the Roman period. Still, they are very worthwhile and not to be missed. This is the site of a famous battle between Athens and Sparta, in 422 BC, with the Spartans being victorious. Amphipolis was an Athenian colony which had surrendered to the Spartans a couple of years earlier. All of this took place during the famous and very long lasting Peloponnesian War, between the two ancient Greek superpowers. Nearby is the Lion of Amphipolis, also worth a look.

1  Thank Dimitris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

Incredible ruins- especially the lion. However, the museum attendant would not allow us in the museum despite the fact it was signed as being open- it was just 13.30. But maybe this is just out of peak tourist season.
Watch out for the signing as it can be quite confusing.

Thank amiragalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

It was past mid-September and unfortunately we did not have a lot of time and so decided to get a bird's eye view of these ruins which we had not expected to be so spread out.

We first ended up in the town and stopped at the museum and afterwards drove down the hill to see the fortifications and the bridge of Amphipolis. Following a brief stop here, we drove to the site of the Lion of Amphipolis is located, standing 8 meters tall and a popular destination for visitors. It is awesome!

We next drove Northeast to the Kasta Burial Mound located outside the small village of Mesolakia. The Kasta is an ancient macedonian tomb and the largest ever discovered in Greece (the perimeter is 500 meters long).The identity of the burial remains unknown and excavation is continuing and therefore the site is not open to the public.And so at the end of the dirt road leading to the entrance of excavation site, we made a U-turn at the barrier but were happy to have come so close to the Kasta Mound.

1  Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We weren't expecting anything as brilliant as this site. Fortunately we had a great guide, Angelika. She is an archaeologist and incredibly knowledgeable. She made the history come alive for the city in all its various stages beginning in the 7th century BCE. Also the nearby plains of Philippi is where the legions of Mark Anthony caught up with and defeated the army of Brutus and Cassius after the murder of Julius Caesar. The history is palpable.

1  Thank Hi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

So much history!! Make sure to hire a guide to take you here. My favorite things were the theater - standing in the middle and hearing my normal voice project up to the (modern day) sound booth; Paul's jail cell as church tradition has passed down; the ancient toilets you also see in Ephesus; and the mosaic tiles above the tomb that was recently excavated. Such a neat site!!!

1  Thank moosemanOU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews