We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal Luberon villa rental for an extended-family...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of St Roch Farmhouse

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Robion, Luberon, Vaucluse, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danish first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Woofy25
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ideal Luberon villa rental for an extended-family vacation”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

i can hardly say enough good things about La Ferme St. Roch.

We visited in early June (2nd and 3rd weeks) which was an excellent season to visit the Luberon, as the lavender was coming into bloom. Also in bloom were the very extensive jasmine vines lining the walls of the house, and the beauty and scent of the jasmine blossoms were a continual pleasure all throughout our stay.

The house has an ideal location for exploring the Luberon, as it is both within the Luberon region and also close enough to other tourist destinations (Avignon, Arles) to permit easy access. Be aware that you do need a car.

In addition to location, the house has an amazingly tranquil sense of peace about it. Although it's convenient to the village, being only a short block off the main street, the house's thick stone walls silence all noise. I never heard a traffic sound at any time during the nights during our two week stay, and sleep was very easy.

The rooms are (mostly) spacious and well appointed. Some smaller rooms are more suited to kids or single adults. The 5 BR home includes two very spacious master suites. One of the smaller BRs is off by itself near the pool and affords more privacy. The BRs do have air conditioning, and we did need to use it during our stay in June, but not all the time.

The photos available online only begin to touch on the visual appeal of the place. From any angle within the courtyard, it is a pleasure to view the house, pool, and environs. From several points in the courtyard, particularly poolside, there is a mountain view. Another thing the photos don't give you is a good idea of the layout, which is quirky - but that is to be expected from a very old stone house in France which apparently had more wings built onto it over time. The only room we didn't really use was the library, since we had great weather the entire two weeks and wanted to be outside. The outside is setup with multiple different sitting areas, many with tables, so it is easy to enjoy the outside while remaining in the shade all throughout the day.

The gravel driveway affords space for parking at least 4 cars, if you have the need. We parked 3 with room to spare. (You cannot park outside of the courtyard as you would block the neighbors.) Although we didn't try it, we think we could also have played boules (bocci) on the drive, but it would have taken some inventive parking arrangements to make enough room.

The house is very, very well set up for groups who want to cook. We cooked multiple meals on the outside (roof covered) barbecue, which required starting charcoal fires. The outdoor seating area was our preferred eating spot as our 8 adults were easily accommodated by the outdoor dining table. Living room and kitchen eating areas are also there, but as I said, we wanted to enjoy the outdoors as much as possible.

If you do cook, be sure to get groceries at the many local farmers' markets. There are farmers' markets every day of the week within about 10-15 minute drive, in different towns.

We were very pleased with the attentiveness and service of Sebastian, the owner/manager, who corresponded with us by email many times in advance of our trip. His English is perfect, BTW. Sebastian was onsite every single day very early to water the plants (and driveway, which kept things neat and kept the dust down, I guess). He never made a sound, so those of us who slept in were never bothered by this. Sebastian and his assistant also came in to houseclean and change the sheets and towels, as I recall, every 3 days.

The village of Robion, which La Ferme St Roch is in, has little in it. There is a charming old church up the hill a couple of blocks, and if you continue walking uphill you eventually reach some trails to climb that "mountain" (actually large hill) that is seen from the house courtyard. In the other direction, a block downhill to the main street and right for a block or so on that main street brings you to an excellent bakery, where daily we bought not only our croissants and baguettes but also desserts, and sometimes pizzas too.

If you plan to visit in peak season, you should plan to book more than a year in advance to get the choice of weeks that you prefer. This was our experience, and even booking a year and a half in advance, the weeks we got were not exactly what we would have preferred. Others have discovered this gem, so you must make your arrangements early.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2017
Dear Evelyne,

It was a real pleasure to welcome you and your kind family to St Roch's farmhouse and I am really happy to read that you enjoyed your holiday in Provence. I hope to welcome you again in the coming years and wish you all the best for for you in the US.

Kind regards,

Sebastian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idit A
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect house and host”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We just ended our week in the house which was perfect. Very spacious and air conditioned rooms, beautiful garden which includes a pool. The house is fully equipted so other than buying some groceries you don't need to bring with you anything.
And our host, Sebastian, was sooo nice and helpful. It was a real treat!! We highly recommend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2017
Dear Mariann,

Thank you for your nice review and I am happy to see that you had a great stay at St Roch's farmhouse. I hope to welcome you again someday to Provence. Kind regards to all your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaStCaJa
Midwest
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beyond fantastic!”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our group of seven, including family and good friends, just returned from a one-week stay at the St. Roch Farmhouse. I cannot say enough good things about both the property itself and the family who owns it, specifically Sebastian, who I had been communicating with for well over a year prior to our stay. The farmhouse is ideally located in the heart of the Luberon, an easy commute from towns like L'isle Sur La Sorgue, Gordes, Apt, Avignon, Saint Remy de Provence etc, but with the additional benefit of providing a more local and less touristy feel, being tucked away in a small village. We were instantly bowled over by our accommodations! The house is truly beautiful, with two gigantic master bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms, 2 medium sized bedrooms sharing a bathroom, and a delightful bedroom/bathroom unit bang next to the pool, feeling like a little cottage on its own. My son and his girlfriend were so happy to occupy that unit, especially since they got engaged during our week there. The house also boasts a lovely large living/dining area inside with an equally large family/game room on the upper level. Completed by a fully functional kitchen with everything one would need to cook elaborate meals in. The entire house is tastefully decorated with loving attention to detail, making you reluctant to leave the property for long periods of time. With the gorgeous pool beckoning and the table tennis/snooker/piano/library all at one's disposal, we could have just stayed put at the farmhouse the entire week! Robion is a friendly little commune, with the nicest people, and has a couple of great bakeries, a small but more than adequate grocery store, a fruit/veg market, a wine cave, hair salons, and restaurants. All of which are a short walk from the farmhouse. We wanted for nothing our entire week, it was a perfect stay at a perfect place, and we would never think of staying anywhere else in the Luberon. This review would not be complete without mentioning Sebastian again. Having worked several years in the travel industry in the past and being lucky enough to travel many times each year, I am truly astonished and wonderfully surprised to meet somebody like him. He is prompt with email communications, from the time of initial enquiry and booking, to answering innumerable questions and proffering advice until arrival. There is NOTHING he would not do to assist you, constantly going above and beyond to make your stay a wonderful one. To provide an example, when we had an issue with our rental car in Marseilles, he called the agency personally several times to sort out the matter, with no hesitation on his part, even though he did not have to. He has been a complete delight to get to know and work with on this special trip and I am afraid nobody is going to be able to match up to him in our future travels. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts, Sebastian, for everything. You are a true gem and we hope to return very soon and spend more time in your amazing home. For anybody reading this, I am more than happy to answer any questions you may have about the property, our stay, etc. Do not hesitate to stay here, as you will cherish the memories forever.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2017
Dear Anita,

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. As I said to you just before you left, it was a great to welcome you at the farmhouse and to get to know your nice group and I am really glad you enjoyed your stay in Provence. I look forward to welcoming you again someday, and who knows at the wedding in Jamaica maybe :-) My best wishes to all your kind family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Paradise in Provence”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Wow! What a property! We were very warmly welcomed by Sebastian and his father who took us on a tour of the house and garden. The wine and olive bread they provided was a lovely surprise. The house is even more impressive in person, combining luxury and elegance with homely, personal touches. The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable, the bathrooms modern and stylish. The kitchen facilities were excellent, and we had fun cooking on the barbecue. We spent many long lunches and candlelit evenings in the courtyard dining area. Everyone enjoyed playing in the pool, followed by sitting in the shade reading books. We also made full use of the entertainment provided including snooker, table tennis and a piano. The house is completely private, nestled within the village. We visited the local bakery most mornings for croissants, quiche and heavenly strawberry tarts. The fruit and veg shop opposite the bakery is very well stocked and includes a wine cave. We enjoyed a fabulous lunch of pizza and pasta at Il Momento just a short stroll away. My sister and her family arrived 2 days later than planned with only half their luggage due to the British Airways IT system failure. Sebastian immediately offered to help and spoke with the airport to assist in the safe delivery of their lost luggage, which arrived later that evening. He also very kindly brought them a bottle of wine. A big thank you to Sebastian from all of us! We made many happy memories at La Ferme St Roch and would love to return some day. One week just isn't long enough!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jun 2017
Dear Kathleen, Thank you for your kind words and amazing review. I am really glad you enjoyed your stay at St Roch's farmhouse and hope to welcome you back again someday. It was a pleasure to have you and your family and I am happy everything went smoothly after the British Airways delay. I look forward to seeing again in the next years. Kind regards, Sebastian Jary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catherine...
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family highlight”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Family from Australia and UK converged at St Roch Farmhouse for a getogether of a lifetime. Relaxed venue with room for everyone to gather together or find space on their own. Every room visually attractive and thoughtfully arranged. Support from Sebastian was great. Thanks for your care and attention. Loved local bars and restaurants too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Attractive space. Great pool.
Liked least: Slightly sharper knives in kitchen would have made it perfect.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 434
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing