We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inside Rubber plantation, facing Kallar River, great facilities and beautiful location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ponmudi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duke`s Forest Lodge
Reviewed 22 January 2015

We were group of 30 people occupied this entire resort during December for two nights and three days. This resort is 60 kms or one hour drive from Trivandrum city. Ponmudi hills and few other attractions are closeby from this resort.(Read more from my blog: http://myjourneysinindia.blogspot.in/). They also help in arranging the trip to nearby places. There were close to 6 independent villas with private pools in each. Each villa has good privacy.

This is located inside a 100 acre rubber plantation and Kallar river is just right next to the resort. All villa balconies are facing the river and it is very pleasant to stay and relax. All the staff are very friendly, courteous and helpful and especially Wahid. We thank him for all the help he extended during the stay.

There is a badminton court, Near this court, they arrange the campfire in evenings on request.
There is also a big swimming pool with children's pool. Both well maintained. The lawn in front of the dining area also well maintained. In the dining area they have few books to read and few games for children to play with. One can also goto the Kallar river and take a dip. It is just ankle deep fresh flowing water. You have to decide if you want private pool, common pool or the river. One can visit the Rubber factory as well within the resort limits.

Facilities in each villa

A sofa in the front portion with two chairs, Closet and Centre table in the big bedroom. There were many plug points provided. There is a balcony overlooking the Kallar river on the back side with a centre table and chairs. From the balcony there is a spiral steps leading to private pool in downstairs. This private pool has two poolside bed and again facing the river enclosed with curtain on all sides. Small fridge filled with biscuits and soft drinks was

in the bedroom along with a TV. Kettle and Tea/coffee sachets were provided. A dressing table and a large bed with mosquito net was also provided. In the bathroom, shampoo, soap and towels were provided. There is a water heater and it takes about 10 to 15 minutes to get hot water and one need to switch it on and off. No AC, but a fan was there. Due to cold weather in evenings, the fan is fine. Each day they replaced the towels and cleaned the villa on request. No power backup for villas.

Food

All the kerala authentic food was very tasty and everyone enjoyed. Particularly the "Ada Pradhaman" (Payasam in tamil) you should try. They also provide Tea/Coffee with snacks(bajji) in evening.

Overall everyone really enjoyed the stay here,

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank kthanigai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariajacob_13, Owner at Duke`s Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2015

Greeings from Duke's Forest Lodge

Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor, and painting a beautiful picture of us ! Very guest review is important to us and guest satisfaction is our utmost priority and we feel extremely happy to know when our guests leave us satisfied !

We hope to see you again sometime, and thank you for choosing Duke's Forest Lodge as your holiday destination !

Cheers
Nikki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2014

The villas are lovely and look right into the National Park - you can sit back in the cool jacuzzi and watch monkeys playing in the trees. The service is excellent - food takes a little longer than normal to arrive, but it's all made fresh to worth the wait! The pool and grounds are wonderfully well kept and the rooms are very clean.
On the Sunday we went for a walk to the plantation and rubber factory with a member of staff who was very knowledgeable and friendly - we really enjoyed it.
This is a perfect retreat for a couple of small group of friends to enjoy.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LucheColeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariajacob_13, Owner at Duke`s Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2014

Greetings from Duke's Forest Lodge !

Thank you for your very kind remarks, and we are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay with us and next time we assure that your food will be served earlier ! :)

Thank you for choosing Duke's Forest Lodge as your holiday destination.Looking forward to seeing you again ! :)

Cheers
The team at Duke's Forest Lodge !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2014

We spent a day well indulged in this calm and cozy haven nestling on the brim of a tropical rainforest. The scenic beauty was captivating and so was the Kallar revelling in the power of kerala monsoon.
The cottages, rooms and dining area offer a great view as they face the meandering Kallar River in the backdrop of the lush wilderness. The entire facility is tastefully designed, furnished and decorated in an ethnic style that blends well with the serene forest ambience. The place offers plenty of outdoor space and privacy.Coming to essentials, the rooms are large, spacious and comfortably furnished. The washrooms are large, modern & hygienic. The place is systematically maintained, neat and very clean. With hammocks, pool and Jacuzzi, there are plenty of options to relax and unwind.
The food was superb as in fresh, homely, adequately spicy and tasty. A welcome relief from the clichéd greasy ‘death-by-spice’ style restaurant cuisine. The hearty meal surely felt good too, as none of us experienced the dreaded heaviness, bloat or belches that one gets after ‘eating out’.
The service was good; staff was friendly and attentive.
The expense was quite reasonable considering that a facility of this caliber is maintained at the edge of a forest, about 50kms away from the city. The remoteness being the reason why the water and air are so clean and nature is at her very best, it is quite justified. Appreciate the ecofriendly initiatives of the management in keeping this pristine environment free of plastics and pollutants. The idea of using reeds in the place of plastic straws is just brilliant!
The management has a pet-friendly policy and as I had my dog in tow, I could see it for myself. This is one place were pets are genuinely welcomed and not just grudgingly allowed. Further, they do not charge extra for accommodating pets. My doggie had a great time for sure, and had made a good deal of friends by the time we left.
The forest and the 100 acre plantation provided ample opportunities for trekking, bird watching, and exploring. Frolicking in the the clear cool waters of the Kallar was fun. Getting up close with the logistics of the plantation and farm was quite interesting. In a nutshell, the stay was a relaxing , enjoyable and unforgettable experience. I would surely visit again for family vacations or weekend getaways.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the river offer a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mohandas3747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariajacob_13, Owner at Duke`s Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Greetings from Duke's Forest Lodge !

Hope you're doing well :). We are extremely happy to know that you enjoyed your day with us. From the busy scheduled life, we at Duke's Forest Lodge think it is very necessary to provide our guests with a holiday away from all the traffic and pollution and to just indulge and relax in mother nature, and nothing makes us more happy than to know that this is exactly what you experienced with us. Not many know that we are a pet friendly resort and we would appreciate it if you could spread the word around.

Thank you once again for your very kind remarks and also thank you for choosing Duke's Forest Lodge as your holiday destination ! . We hope to see you again with your doggie.

Cheers
Team at Duke's Forest Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We opted this place for our one day team (around 20 members) outing and didnt had an overnight stay. The location is very nice and offers you real privacy. But as a team, there is nothing much you can do at Duke's since the open space is very less. The only saving grace was the river which was flowing near by, which you can reach in a 10 minutes trek. Though the service was good, the food they served was horrible. We had opted for a lunch buffet and for the amount they charged us per person we expected a decent spread. But it was very disappointing and the quality was pathetic. The evening snacks were also bad. Overall, an average property. Dont expect much other than some privacy. (not even food)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSV99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariajacob_13, Owner at Duke`s Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2014

Greetings from Duke's Forest Lodge

Thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination for your day out.

We are extremely surprised however that the food we prepared for you did not seem to appeal to your taste buds, as we recall getting extremely positive remarks about the buffet spread. Further our property is situated in about 100 acres of rubber plantation with just 5 rooms situated in a small section of the property, therefore we do not see how there is a lack of open space. With regards to the 10 trekk to the river, it is highly unlikely that you would have had to take a 10 minute trekk as the river flows right in front of our property, which are just a few steps away.

However we do apologize for the inconvenience caused during payment. There was fault on our part, as we did not specify the mode of payment during the confirmation of booking as our new assistant manager failed to do so. We do not accept cards as there always seems to some technical errors especially since we are located in a forest. Therefore we always feel it's safer to take all our payments down in cash. Again we sincerely apologize for not informing you before hand about our mode of payment. If this was the reason you were displeased with the service we provided you then we are sorry, but again as said before we remember getting positive feedback and we are genuinely confused and surprised about the complaints you have out forth.

Warm Regards,
Nikki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I had gone to Duke's Lodge twice, one from office(50 people) and with wife. Both the times, it has been an amazing experience. The place is neat with cleaning almost done 2-3 times a day. They have a beautiful swimming pool where we could just relax and play there as long as we want. While going with the office group, everyone got into the pool and within 30 min, the clear water turned to brown color. We were expecting additional charges for cleaning the pool, but they did not even mention about the condition of pool. The food was also quite good. We were offered Buffet. Made a mess at this time too. The staff and manager were quite understanding for the fact that we were there to have fun and they supported us at all times. They helped us organise different games also.

Situated next to the cottages is a small natural stream of crystal clear cool water. Spending time there was also quite relaxing. Although Ponmudi is open to Tourists throughout the year, its at its best when visited during November-January period.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roymj88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariajacob_13, Owner at Duke`s Forest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Greeting from Duke's Forest Lodge.

Thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination , and we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your day with us ! Hoping to see you again and provide you with an even better holiday.

Regards

The team at Dukes Forest Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponmudi
0 km away
KTDC Golden Peak
KTDC Golden Peak
#1 of 1 in Ponmudi
78 reviews
0 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
#5 of 99 in Trivandrum
972 reviews
0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Trivandrum
Hilton Garden Inn Trivandrum
#2 of 99 in Trivandrum
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke`s Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke`s Forest Lodge

Address: Anapara, Vithura | Nedumangadu, Ponmudi, India
Region: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Ponmudi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Ponmudi
Price Range: ₹ 5,296 - ₹ 6,717 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Duke`s Forest Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Duke`s Forest Lodge Ponmudi, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing