We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Indian meal”

Swagat Indian Cuisine
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 16 June 2018

We had a lovely 'spur of the moment' meal at Swagat last night. We noticed most tables were reserved but they managed to seat us by the window. The meal was absolutely delicious, (lamb and chicken korma ordered). The service is excellent and staff are very accomodating and friendly. The plates are heated (always a bonus) and the meal was hot. Atmosphere was lovely on a cold winters night. Thoroughly enjoyed dining out at Swagat and definitely recommend it.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank AdrianaK921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

We called the place on Tuesday evening at 8.45pm, asked if they would've open for dinner around 9.30pm the person on the phone said they would be open till 10pm and said that we need to order by phone so they would start prepare and need do be at the restaurant by 9.30 to finish at 10pm. We placed the orders and rushed to try to be as early as possible but we arrived at 9.45. When we got into the restaurant I apologise for getting late and said we would eat quick and go, but the lady behind the counter said they wouldn't serve us, because restaurant will be shut at 10pm on the dot. I was very disappointed with lack of hospitality and no effort to please, so we walked away to the that next door, and the food and service were amazing. Swagat lost potential clients. Never would recommend such bad service.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Vanessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

We often eat in the restaurants around Swagat and as our usual place was full we decided on a Indian meal for dinner, walking into the restaurant to find that the only other people seated were waiting to collect a takeaway was a little concerning

We sat and despite being the only people in the place dining it took 15 minutes to get a drink, the night pretty much continued in the same manner - it almost seemed that it was an annoyance that the four of us were there for dinner

Despite the service the food itself was pleasant, i'm no expert in Indian food (i'm your kiwi mild type of guy) but my butter chicken was as good as any of the other places we dine at on the shore, the garlic and cheese naan was rather lacking in the cheese side of things - but hey it was perfectly acceptable just not memorable

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TravellingGolferNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Our favourite local Indian takeaway restaurant - great tasting food, friendly staff and really good value. They also deliver locally when you spend over a certain value which is super convenient.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank EmilyW3833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

This place was doing $12 curries Mon - Wed
While restaurant was not in the nicest of surroundings the food was good and service excellent.

To eat for 2 under $50 with wine cannot be faulted

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swagat Indian Cuisine also viewed

 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Wairau Valley, North Shore
Wairau Valley, North Shore
 

Been to Swagat Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing