We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
109
13
5
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
13
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely pooltuscan landscapeperfect place to relaxevery requestvilla casanovaliving arearooms are beautifulfantastic hotelfantastic staystayed for nightspoolsideluccagiovannitownscenturypaths
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2017

The experience is always positive and relaxing. The rooms are always immaculate and provide a comfortable quiet stay. Great location for a stroll and also a perfect place for a good swim. I recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sketchy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

We received confirmation of our reservation on May24th. We had made our original booking last October and paid a deposit. On arrival at the Hotel on 15th June we discovered it was closed. Windows shuttered, gates padlocked and swimming pool green. It must have been closed for some time yet the owners did not have the courtesy to advise and any attempt to contact them in Italy or the UK has failed. We warned Tourist Information in Lucca where of course we had to find last minute accommodation.
Simply appalling way to treat guests.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank CB1720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaCasanova, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Villa Casanova Lucca, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

Dear guest,
The old management of the hotel is definitely closed.

Villa Casanova is now re-opened and our management awaits for you with pleasure.

Kindest Regards.

Sabrina Fabiano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

I am giving this two stars only because a rating was required in order to review. I didn't have the opportunity to experience the hotel because We were also canceled one day prior to our arrival due to a power outage caused by a change in the service provider. It was unfortunate timing wise, but clearly out of the hotel's control. The woman who contacted us was very professional . She gave us recommendations in the area and told us they would make it up by honoring our original reservation for free the next time we are back in Italy. We ended up going on to Portofino instead of staying in Lucca, but will hopefully be back soon to give it another review !

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jlori1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

They cancelled our reservation (booked through Exp..ia) two days before we were supposed to show up, when we were already in Italy. This was the second hotel booked for this trip through E..edia where we were cancelled. We made other arrangements, which turned out to be better. Needless to say, we will not be using the service again nor considering staying at this hotel

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel
Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
4  Thank LSG47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

The location is great. It's a big villa located on a beautiful spot on a short driving distance from Lucca, Pisa and the coast.
The room was great, spacious and clean.

The staff is friendly but the service is not the level you'd expect of a 5 star location. For example we didn't get any drinking water in the room, no turndown service, no hair conditioner, no new shampoo etc.
The atmosphere is more like a B&B. The welcome for example was not like you normally expect in a hotel. There was none, we were directly guided to our room, no explanation, no welcome drink.

During our last day there was suddenly an English couple (instead of the Italian couple which served us normally). They were using the bar and served us. The same night (until very late in the morning) the English couple (staff?) had a loud party with a few people on the terrace until very late in the morning. They ruined our night while they knew we had to get up early for our trip home. It felt strange, we had never experienced something like this before.

The food is by far not what you hope for. After two attempts we decided to eat in Lucca for the rest of our stay. For us the driving distance was OK.

It is potentially a very nice location and the people are friendly. It only needs a more professional approach.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank a3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews