We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Buena Vista
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
1915 Hotel(Alajuela)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mi Tierra(Alajuela)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Central(Alajuela)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (748)
Filter reviews
748 results
Traveller rating
409
245
66
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
409
245
66
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan josecentral valleycosta ricapoas volcanocoffee plantscoffee trailbalcony roomsmall poollast nightla paz waterfall gardenscity lightsbeautiful hotelfirst stophotel staffcomplimentary breakfastthe hotel offersclose to the airport
Filter
Updating list...
369 - 374 of 748 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Just got back from a great stay in Costa Rica! Stayed 3 nights at Hotel Buena Vista on the front end of our trip and 1 night at the end. it was super easy to get to BV from the airport, which was great. The complimentary shuttle was much appreciated! We stayed in a deluxe balcony room and it was great. Very clean and comfortable. The view was beautiful. We went zip lining at Colinas de Poas (only about 15 minutes away) and also visited Poas volcano.
Everyone we met at the Hotel Buena Vista was so nice and helpful. Harlen was amazing! Was great with his recommendations and made the kids amazing virgin pina coladas. They were thrilled!!
We would stay there again, for sure!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Very helpful and efficient. Beautiful place. Very helpful in getting to the airport !
Staff was friendly and helpful. Restaurant was enjoyable. We were able to take one last "bird-walk" on the nice "Coffee Trail before the sun went down.
Thanks to everyone there !

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank 545Dan_Martha545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

My girlfriend and I took a three week birdwatching trip to Costa Rica and this was our final stop ahead of our morning flight back to the U.S. Our stay at Buena Vista was colored by a traffic fatality that we witnessed earlier that day on the Interamericana Highway near Cartago--a pedestrian fell into the path of an oncoming semi-truck right in front of us. When we arrived at the hotel we were basically still in shock, but the staff was nothing but helpful and understanding of our emotional distress. In particular, Harlem, the evening desk clerk, made several phone calls on our behalf to the driver of the truck, with whom we'd left our information in case he needed our statement about the accident. In addition, Christian, the manager, was also very helpful throughout our stay, and was great company in driving us to the airport the next morning.

Though we were in no condition to enjoy the hotel, I was present enough to note that it was truly beautiful, with a well-tended garden, gorgeous decor and very stylish and comfortable rooms. The food in the restaurant was great, even if our appetites weren't, and Harlem, who changed hats to become our waiter at dinner time, was affable and friendly and went out of his way to help us feel welcome and safe after a truly tough day.

If you're in Alajuela to visit the Poas Volcano or other nearby sights, or are just looking for a convenient spot near the airport, I definitely recommend Buena Vista. (Gracias, Harlem y Christian!)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Well this was not our first visit nor will it be our last to Buena VIsta. It is a great simple hotel for a break/layover in your travels through Costa Rica or destination hotel for tours throughout the area. It is close to the airport with a free shuttle to and from the airport. The rooms are nice and very comfy beds. Ask for a newly remodeled room or stay in one of the new villas very private. Great for a family or a romantic stay. The grounds are maintained nicely with a nice small pool for relaxing. All are meals have always been good too. But the number one reason we continue to return to Buena Vista is the staff. They are wonderful. So freindly and helpful. They do everything with a smile on their faces. The owner is usually around and he is always very hospitable. We have had many visit to Costa RIca and stayed in many hotel but I have never experienced such a nice staff. Pura Vida.

Room Tip: villas or newly remodeled
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Costaricanfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed our first two nights in Costa Rica at the Buena Vista and had a great time. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished. The views from the balconies were beautiful. The grounds around the hotel were well maintained. The hotel staff was accommodating and helpful. We enjoyed the tours we took (to the nearby Paos Volcanoe and la Paz Waterfall Gardens) and our tour guides/drivers (staff from the hotel) were knowledgeable and friendly. Christian handled the arrangements for our stay and was very organized and responded to email questions promptly and efficiently. The hotel is conveniently located near the San Jose airport and the hotel provides pickup and delivery.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews