We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Gainford, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Flyer5661...
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 13 June 2019 for a stay in May 2019

We are a family of four adults and all felt at home in this delightful apartment in the picturesque village of Gainford. The apartment is larger than we expected from the photos, with everything we needed for our two week stay, clean, comfortable and peaceful. Even a washing machine with a small clothes horse for drying. Joan was welcoming and accommodating but in no way intrusive (she lives next door). The village is quiet with lovely and interesting walks by the river and around the green and streets with their pretty English gardens, or beside neighbouring fields. It was an inviting place to come home to at the end of a day of sightseeing, or to spend a day roaming the village from and meeting the friendly neighbours. We recommend a visit to the local friendly general store and post office for just about anything you might need, and the excellent fish and chip shop "Debbie and Rachel's Plaice". Our son enjoyed meeting new friends at the local pub "The Cross Keys".

Date of stay: May 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matbek
1 review
“Barn House Mews”
Reviewed 21 May 2019 for a stay in May 2019

We booked the cottage to visit family in the area for the weekend it was amazing one of the best places we have stayed it had everything we needed it was lovely clean and comfortable. Joan the owner was very accommodating in helping me sort the dates out, the village is lovely and peaceful.
We would definitely stay here again and recommend it

Date of stay: May 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018

Date of stay: October 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
StellaWes...
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and great location”
Reviewed 14 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018
2
people found this review helpful

It was a pleasure to stay in such a pretty village
with its river walks close by and a delicious tearoom
just over the road.
Our thanks to Joan for her warm welcome and for supplying all our needs in the cottage. It was both spacious and comfortable.

Date of stay: October 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joz25
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location . Very quiet”
Reviewed 9 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for one night in this lovely location , beautiful cottage. The pillows are the best... So comfortable.
Joan is such a lovely lady and very welcoming. Our son is at Durham uni and this about 30 minutes drive away but worth the journey. We will definatly stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.